We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, excellent location”
Review of Gonatas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ionian Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gonatas Hotel
Ranked #298 of 915 Hotels in Ionian Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Arrived at the hotel to a greating that can only be compared to that of a long lost family member(not been before), Sonia and Nicky were great as they welcomes us took us to our room and made us feel at home straight away. The room as with many in greece was basic, but that was not an issue to us, it was always cleaned and very tidy as was this small hotel in all areas. The location was just what we were looking for. Its always nice to wake up and see beautiful views across the sea with mountains in the distance

There is a small swiming pool and an areas whwre you can get some simple snacks, buit it was always nice to eat breakfast looking over the island with the blue skys sea and mountains in the distance

The hotel is just on the edge of the village.The village was a short and very enjoyable 10 min walk(that was a slow walk) where there was a number of good places to eat and relax as you watched the people and yatchs across the small village harbour.


The village does not have a bus service, it does have a few taxis though. so it depends on how you like to spend your holiday but we decided to rent a car for a few days this gave us the combination of a relaxing hassle free break and the chance to see some other parts of the island.

In the and around the harbour there are a number of tavernas that you can get good food at resonable prices we tried most of them at one time or another and found spiros to be a good choice for variety and service. Another was on on the road as you leave the village towards Sami it was called "the local" at first we were not sure if we would try it, but in the end we gave it a go and found the meal to be good and the menu slightly varied those in the main square.

Whilst in the main square it is also good fun to watch the local dogs there is one in particular that comes complete with a bell and a neckchief a small thing that likes to chase cars asa hobby (not sure what made him choose the car as some did not get the treatement) it was strange to see this small thing trying bark and nibble the tyres

All in all the island is great and relaxing the resort is just the place and the hotel was fantastic

Room Tip: try for the first floor you will get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BeenThereWillYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 116 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Recently stopped at the Gonatas, really clean and tidy, friendly owners and staff. It's rated as a 2 star but deserves 3 or more. Having looked around the island Agia Effimias seems the best area, couple of nice beaches/coves on the doorstep and a short drive to some must see places. Hired a car from a small place in the village and got a much better deal than through the tour company. Onl;y niggle {and you need to keep this in perspective} no kettle in the room and the breakfast is a bit basic, but I would recommend the place above most other places we've stopped.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Anya66Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Overheard on a boat trip – “The Gonatas is absolutely awful” – this by someone who definitely wasn’t staying there! Like most family-run hotels in the Greek Islands it is basic, but extremely clean. Bedrooms were cleaned every day of our 14-day holiday and bedding and towels were changed every other day. A full-size fridge in the room is really useful. The family who own it are really friendly and yes, the breakfast can be a little boring but Nicky bakes fresh cakes every day which is a nice touch. There is plenty of room around the pool although the sun-beds could do with mattresses but it is a 2-star hotel and a very good one at that.
The resort is laid-back and relaxing and the centre is a 10-minute ‘holiday stroll’ away. We paid between €28 and €35 for a two-course dinner which included a litre of the house wine. Have to say we weren’t disappointed with any of the restaurants we ate in and especially liked Finikas (which has a nice bar upstairs overlooking the harbour), Spiros and Carena which had a smaller and slightly different menu from the others and was excellent. All the restaurants were giving complimentary puddings, either pastries, fruit or ice-cream and Carena a half-litre of wine per couple.
We hired a car through Star Villas who were very helpful and a little boat from Boulevard Boats for the day - a cool box and parasol is also included. We also took a boat trip to Ithaca which is a really lovely island – reminded us of Paxos.
Assos is definitely worth a visit as is Anti-Samos Beach which has a fab beach taverna and free parking. Just remember to take beach shoes as the beaches in the north are pebbles and the Gonatas doesn’t have hairdryers! Would certainly return to the Gonatas.

Room Tip: Ask for a first-floor room with great views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WiltshireCruella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Have just come back from a very relaxing 10 days and would return, staff v friendly and helpful especially Nicki who is lovely. Breakfast is basic but with good bread and cakes she makes herself. Nice pool with plenty of sunbeds. Rooms clean and adequate, plenty of hot water and a fridge in room. Agia Efimia is a quiet relaxed resort with plenty of good tavernas, our favourite being the Pergola, just up from the diving centre on the Myrtos Beach road

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeffcullip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

A perfect location in one of the most attractive parts of the island. Ideal for couples. Would also suit families with children/teenagers who do not want kids clubs, night life, loads of activities but who enjoy walking, swimming in the sea/pool, cycling, boat trips, reading etc. Great food to be found in many of the local (and further afield) tavernas and restaurants. A car is recommended because the island is so beautiful it would be a shame to spend all your time by the pool.
As for the hotel - Very friendly staff, well maintained, clean and comfortable. A truly relaxing place to stay and one that many people return to year after year. I would love to go back. It is in a perfect position opposite the sea with a little beach just outside of the hotel and one of the best restaurants 50m up the road. Why didn't I give it 5 stars? This is because the breakfasts were dull and boring. With a little extra effort (like some greek yogurt, fresh fruit, real fruit juice, cheese, meat) the breakfast could have been transformed - although I am led to believe that this can be an issue in many of the hotels on Kefalonia. You will not go hungry but a bit of variety would be appreciated.
I would highly recommend this place especially for couples who want peace and quiet, beautiful views, the opportunity to explore the island and have a great base to return to; deciding which lovely restaurant to eat in either at lunch time or in the evening will be your only worry.

Room Tip: Sea facing, first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This hotel is very good for a 2 star establishment. The rooms are clean, fairly big, plenty of room to move about. The beds were comfortable, and there were blankets in the wardrobe for chilly nights. There was air conditioning and a fridge you could keep drinks etc in should the weather be hot, as it would be in high season. We had a sea view, with a balcony, overlooking the bay and towards the mountains, and the resort of Sami,which was very nice.The family and staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was more than adequate, with various breads, boiled eggs, cereals, jams ets, (no cheese or meats) yoghurt and fruit on occassion, tea, coffee or fruit juices, and fresh home made cake. Breakfast could be taken on the terrace or inside. There is a small pool which we braved one day ( there had been a cold wind) which was very nice, 3mtrs deep at one end. The Gonatus is in a quiet position, up a little from the road, about 5 minutes walk from the harbour, where there are many restaurants to tempt you in. We ate at three of them, Spiros, Captain Correllis and Fior de Amore, of the three we liked Spiros best. We hired a car from Nikos (Star Villas web site) for 5 days at a cost of 125Euros, which we thought a good price. The roads were quiet, but they would probably be busier in the high season. Ag. Efvimia is quite central for touring round the island.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jethornber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

If you want a relaxing holiday (and your not taking the kids) this is the place for you.
The Gonatas is a fab hotel with lovely family owners that always go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
The rooms were spotless, location fantastic, breakfast good and a lot of it (I had so many eggs that it was like having your own outboard motor in the sea!)
Infact the whole experience was so good we have already booked for May 2011.
If you read this Nicky see you soon and THANK YOU!
Tony & Julia

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marnoville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ionian Islands hotels
0.6 mi away
Greka Ionian Suites
Greka Ionian Suites
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olive Bay Hotel
Olive Bay Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Efimia
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterside Apartments
Waterside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Agia Efimia
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Seasons of Nickolas
The Seasons of Nickolas
#5 of 6 in Agia Efimia
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gonatas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gonatas Hotel

Address: Agia Effimias, 28081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 915 Hotels in Ionian Islands
Hotel Class:2 star — Gonatas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Gonatas Hotel Ionian Islands
Gonatas Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing