We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
245
20
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
20
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slipper bath the owner impeccable service average size room was beautifully decorated nice shower beautiful boutique hotel business trip free parking excellent location yogurt short stroll minutes walking clean rooms within walking distance i highly recommend this hotel a wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 266 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Great design, with simple clean lines and fresh colours! The room was superb. Great size bathroom. Excellent location right in the middle of everything one needs to do in Ioannina, including car parking (a rare commodity in the historical centre of the city).

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relax775626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

It was a pleasure reading your nice words. It makes us happy, when our clients have a comfortable stay. Hope to see you again in our Hotel.

Efthymios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

A lovely hotel, ideally located to explore Ioannina. The design and decor was really well considered and the staff were very friendly and couldn’t be more helpful. The local take on breakfast was fantastic, worth the stay in itself

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank stephenat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

It was a great pleasure that we manage to make you feel cosy and comfortable in our hotel.
We apreciate your kind words and we really hope to see you as soon as possible!

Until then take care!
Regards,
Efthymios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

Stayed there for four days last February
From the moment you enter it is clear that the owner (family business) has made a big investment during the renovation of the building
The rooms are cozy and big ...
The beds are amazingly comfortable ( cocomat if not mistaken) ...
The hotel is overall very very clean
The breakfast is really much and the coffee is really tasty
The position of the hotel is really good because it is centrally located ,just behind the walls of the old Othoman palace and at the same time close to the magnificent lake of the city...plus in the middle of all the local nightlife but still very quiet...
Highly recommended...

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank aryah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Metropolis for your stay in Ioannina, and for for nice comments. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards.
Efthymios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

We had to drive around the block twice, despite satnav but it was worth it! Very nice setup with good and clean rooms, with all the amenities you need. Walking distance to any place in Ioannina (both center and lakeside) and free parking! It is a small hotel so breakfast is not buffet style but everything is served fresh with a good choice. Very helpful staff, definitely worth every single star!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank YoupOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words!!! We are so happy that we managed to make your stay comfortable!!!!!
Hope to see you again sometime....
Until then.... take care....
Best regards,
Efthymios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Built in 1934, this corner positioned hotel close to the town centre has a charming stone facade with wrought iron railings. The building is in very good condition, inside and out and decorated in good taste.

The owner is very charming and helpful and showed us all of the facilities in the hotel. There is a breakfast room and bar downstairs and a lift and stairs to the upper floors.

We were shown to a corner deluxe room on the second floor. The bed is positioned at an angle to the walls and although had thick pillows, no headboard! Room of average size but clean. Windows had blackout blinds. Wifi in hotel very good and electronic safe. Bed was very comfortable.

Bathroom modern with large shower, huge sink and quality shower gels and conditioners. Fluffy towels, bathrobes and slippers provided.

Just a couple of slight concerns however.

There is no parking at the hotel. A parking lot is a couple of minutes walk away that the hotel owner has an arrangement with. The cars are packed in and I was not sure about security but it turned out okay with no bumps or scratches on the hire car upon retrieval the next day.
The other concern is the nearby building work. This is an expansion of the hotel being built across the road. Building work starts at 7.30-8.30 am and finishes about 7.30 pm. Obviously you would not be in the hotel during this period but if it is raining........?
Some rooms face the main road into town so could be a bit noisy for light sleepers.

The breakfast was very good indeed. Fresh fruit juice, croissants with a chocolate dip, freshly baked bread, quality ham, cheese, yogurt, honey, pastries................fantastic!
Nothing was too much trouble and this hotel delights.

The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to the town centre and lake Pamvotis. There is an old castle with the high walls dominating the town. Inside the castle walls is a village of houses, remnants of Ottoman rule and a silversmithing museum. There is an island in the lake and to the north, Vikos gorge, deepest canyon in the world, not to be missed.

Would I recommend staying here? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Top floor for quieter rooms
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our rooms, breakfast and services. Regarding the parking, we have managed to acquire an open lot 20 meters away from the hotel's entance and have it as our private parking for the hotel's guests. We aslo apologise for the noise from the building works across the street, but they will be finished in a few days.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ioannina!
Best Regards,
Efthymios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews