We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable romantic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Ioannina
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable romantic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This splendid boutique hotel dating back to the 1930s combines beautiful, stylish interiors, impeccable service, and delicious Greek breakfast while being conveniently located in the bustling centre of Ioannina and a 5-min walk from the magnificent lake. It proved ideal for a romantic Easter break. We loved the bed and mattress and the room -to our surprise- proved to be very quiet despite being next to the city's the bar scene. Service was friendly and discreet and Dora -one of the owners- was just adorable making us feel at home and helping us discover the city's hotspots. We also tried the delicious Easter menu (Greek cuisine revisited) which came as a consolation to us missing out on the traditional easter family meal. If in Ioannina Metropolis is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EffieLazKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
It was a great pleasure to meet you, and to make you feel cosy and comfortable in our hotel.
We apreciate your kind words and we really hope to see you as soon as possible!

Until then take care!
Regards,
Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
84
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Metropolis hotel is situated right in the center of Ioannina city, having everything close by. Perfect location.
It has a parking.
Its employees (especially Dora) are very kind and eager to service with the most polite and discrete way. They make you feel pampered.
The hotel itself is perfectly designed, thoroughly rennovated, it has the most modern facilities, combined with the allure of the past (it used to be a hotel even from the early 20th century, back when Ioannina used to be a metropolis).
We had the executive room, and it was absolutely perfect-I couldn't stop admiring it! The beds have the most comfortable matresses and pilows (both by Coco-mat), and they even place a little cushion of lavender under your pillow to help you sleep better (those little details that add extra value). The bathroom is spotlessly clean and very funcional. You will love the bathtub!
The sheets are crisp and the towels are fluffly and luxurious. Bath robes and slippers are also provided (all by Coco-mat).
The breakfast was served at the main serving area (where the bar and restaurant are situated), and it was complete with both savory and sweet food.
All in all, a perfect place to be, with very good price for value ratio. I would definately go to Ioannina again just for the experience of being there once more. I loved the city even more just because of this little gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are so happy that we managed to make you feel cosy and comfortable in our hotel!
Hope to see you soon...
Wish you all the best for easter!
Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We arrived to Ioannina Thursday night and stayed at metropolis hotel. It has recently been renovated and everything was top notch! It had a great, stylish café at the entrance and we were greeted by very accommodating owners! Parking was available for us. Our hosts set us up in the top floor room that had a loft as well. Everything was very clean! Our 8 month old had his own crib that was also new. We had a wonderful experience and I enjoyed the breakfast as well! I put this hotel up there with other boutique hotels that I've stayed at in Montreal, Paris and NYC..... yes.. in Ioannina! I've stayed at other hotels in Ioannina and this one by far is the most modern (obviously was just renovated!)... one thing that I really liked was there was no carpet.. I appreciate no carpet in my room. And everyone was very very friendly! Location was excellent... Right in the heart of the city.. where you want to be when you want to discover Ioannina. Way to go guys.. Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Access to the parking lot is a little tricky... Try calling ahead so they can help guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngeloTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It was such a pleasure for us reading that you compared our hotel with other 5 stars hotels all over the world! Thank you for your extremely flattering review...
We wish you all the best!
Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu Town, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a room to rest from a really tired trip with a lot of problems the best choise was Metropolis Hotel in Ioannina. The reasons are 1 is in the center of Ioannina 2 private parking 3 best bed ever for relax coco mat 4 new nice decoration in rooms 5 everything shining 6 really helpful persons with passion.

Also we ate in the restaurant and was really good the food.

Thank you for all

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. You encourage us to continue...
Hope to see you soon! Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is an excellent choice for a hotel in Ioannina. The hotel has been very tastefully renovated, it is clean and the staff very friendly. It is located midway between the Castle/Lake and the town center in the middle of the shopping district. The hotel offered a standard type of breakfast (no buffet) that was very good but one could order alternative things. We also tried the restaurant and the bar offerings that seemed to be quite popular with the locals as well and we were very pleased. We stayed on room 8 on the 3rd floor a cleverly arranged room with two double beds on two levels like a maisonette. Our only remark about the room is that if you wanted to do some bedtime reading you could not do that on the lower level bed because the bedside lamp was too low while the bed on the upper level did not have a bedside table.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Many many thanks!!!!
Hope to see you again...
With regards,
Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The lavender sachet under my Cocomat pillow was a really special touch after a heavy business day. Metropolis is a strictly non-smoking design gem downtown in Ioannina. A totally renovated early 20th century building, housing the latest technology and design trends in harmony with full respect to the human needs. Having planned attentively for everything, from sleeping accessories to design lamps and from bathroom amenities to comfort, the owners have created an ideal atmosphere for either business or leisure stay. The breakfast following the hotel's lines includes handmade bites and all types of coffee or tea in the cute and luminous bistrot! Congratulations for one of the best boutique hotels in Greece

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Despina_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROPOLISHOTEL, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Can't find words to thank you enough for your review!!! I really hope to see you again...
Until then...Take good care!!!!
Best regards,
Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ioannina hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotels Kalari
Heritage Hotels Kalari
#1 of 28 in Ioannina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Serai Congress & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Du Lac Congress Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antique
Hotel Antique
#4 of 28 in Ioannina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kastro
Hotel Kastro
#5 of 28 in Ioannina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Frontzou Politia
Frontzou Politia
#9 of 28 in Ioannina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Property: Hotel Metropolis
Address: 33 Averof, Ioannina 454 44, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Ioannina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Ioannina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropolis 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neoclassical building, having retained every detail of the exterior architecture, holds an unexpected surprise for the guest with its unique interior design as it was constructed entirely from scratch in the interest of discreet luxury of modern boutique hotels. The sixteen guestrooms of 1934 have given way to nine luxurious rooms, each one with its own unique and distinct design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing