We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accidental find..”
Review of Arte Povera

Arte Povera
Ranked #33 of 277 Restaurants in Ioannina
Price range: $5 - $8
Description: Coffee, fresh juices, drinks and beers accompanied by varieties of handmade dishes, salads, pastries and confectioneries made in-house from natural organic products.
Restaurant details
Description: Coffee, fresh juices, drinks and beers accompanied by varieties of handmade dishes, salads, pastries and confectioneries made in-house from natural organic products.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

We accidentally stumbled across this quaint little coffee shop and so glad we did. We had coffee and toasted sandwiches and the owners Constantinos, Paris and their good friend Giorgos were so welcoming that nothing was too much trouble, we had a great conversation practicing our Greek and they practicing their English. A great little find and well worth a visit.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank marc r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 40 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

We loved! Cute and calm restaurant, owners are very kind! They made us a breakfast with what we wanted. Best coffee !

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank chloedewailly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

During our four day trip in Ioannina we happened to stay beside this wonderfull Arte Povera ,coffee and more ... place . The guys that own it are trully very kind ,friendly and willing to help you....! My first encounter with them was in their kitchen , trying to find for my " i can't decide what i want to eat , and extremely tired after a very long day " toddler .
They were patient enough to make him what he wanted and very delicious.
The place is decorated with various ,personal , things of their childhood. Reminded me of my childhood with those dial up old phones and vinyl records.
It is just great to sit for coffee , breakfast ,lunch ...whatever in a homely ,very friendly, quiet enviroment near the castle.....

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stratos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

Literally stumbled upon this cafe and am so glad we did. The friendly staff made us feel welcome from the moment we entered the door and it is such a cozy place. A wonderful find.

Best of all, the apple pie totally blew us away. The grated apple, currants and walnuts nestled between layers of oil, orange juice & zest crust made for perfection. As an American I would describe it as cake, but it doesn't matter what it is called, it is truly delectable! So much so that I had to take an extra piece to go.

The pie & coffee cake that were on display were lovingly prepared by the delightful baker, who we met. When we asked about ingredients he immediately told us the recipe. The espresso and mountain tea were good too.

Go to this cafe that also serves breakfast and lunch, which we have no doubt would also be good. You can't go wrong, really!

This picture is of the take home piece of pie we heated in the oven and, again, words can't fully describe how good it is!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank margoreiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019

We stumbled upon Arte Povera when visiting Ioannina and searching for a cafe. What a tremendous discovery! The coffee and tea were perfect, but the homemade apple pie/cake totally wowed us. We devoured the delectable and generously sized piece we were served and had to get a second piece to go. The owner and baker for the cafe were truly delightful to interact with. When we asked about what was in the apple pie/cake, they immediately told us the totally vegan recipe made of simple ingredients, that when lovingly combined produced a tremendously light and delicious cake-like dessert! In addition to purveying drinks, desserts and food, they had a great selection of hand carved tops for sale. They also had a traditional Greek game of chance played with a multi-sided top of sorts that they showed us how to play. We took delight in trying our hand at the tops and game and couldn't resist buying some. Great gifts for our friends back home in NYC!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arte Povera also viewed

Ioannina, Ioannina Region
Ioannina, Ioannina Region
 
Ioannina, Ioannina Region
Ioannina, Ioannina Region
 
Ioannina, Ioannina Region
Ioannina, Ioannina Region
 

Been to Arte Povera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing