We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hazard be aware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Serai Congress & Spa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Ioannina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hazard be aware”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Visited after x-mas. There was no SECURITY!! Almost anyone could get in. You do not pass through reception so as to go to your room.The hotel was packed. No staff was available to really take some time and help you. A lot of kids where running around the halls. The noise was exhausting. Marriage receptions are being held there too. Not again. Ever. No.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    133
    45
    9
    5
See reviews for
116
139
11
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ioannina, Greece
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Hotel's best advantage is its location. It's 5 minutes away from the heart of the city. You can go everywhere by walking. If you are trying to decide how you should stay, HB or BB; I will definitely say that the dinner is more than great ! Do not hesitate to stay HB. On the other hand the breakfast is average. The rooms are quiet and clean. Housekeeping visits your room two times a day. But it's one of the most expensive hotels in the city. It should be this god...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovesick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked a triple room in Nov 2013, for 2/1-5/1/2014 for 140 euro per night, with half board. Just before New Year's Eve, the hotel made an offer of 50% discount, in ekdromi.gr site, with extra bonus a Welcome wine bottle and free use of internal pool and hamam in Spa.
When we arrived in the hotel, we asked for a discount or the benefit of free use of the pool and hamam (according their offer). They did not ever reply to us (and of course they did not give us any discount)!!!
Although we are clients to Mitsis Hotel Group, we are not going to stay at any of their hotels.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DespinaGoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel in situated a 10-15 minutes walk to the lake. It is a wonderful building, with nice rooms, although a little bit "wintery" which for our summer visit was a little off setting. Breakfast is exquisite, as the gratis dinner on arrival. Parking although limited is available. Unfortunately, apart from the restaurant staff, a snobbish behaviour from the rest of the staff was more than apparent at times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel eventhough on its name says that is a spa, it's not all year round. According to the internet site of the hotel the spa should have started from November. We booked this hotel with my friend, mainly having the "spa" idea in our minds, we were informed from the reception that the spa this year will start on 1st of December. The answer to the question why you don't update your site then, was "sorry"....

Other than that, the hotel is well situated in the city of Ioannina 10 min walk from the lake. No views from the lake though. THe parking space extremely small and the valet rude.

The room spacious and luxurious as the inside of the hotel. The covers of the beds and sofas dirty but the room as a whole clean.The night that we booked though, a wedding party was on and we couldn't sleep from the music and the shouts of the people. I put my earplugs on 01:30 after midnight and the music still went on, I don't know for how long... The reception's answer: "sorry". I understand that some people are having the best time of their lives, but I wanted to sleep and is sleep is disturbed like this in a 5 star hotel then the 5 stars don't mean anything anymore...

The breakfast is poor for a 5star hotel but fresh. The service late and not professional.

After having these complaints and since I was not satisfied with the dry "sorry" of the reception clerk, I sent an e-mail to the hotel which is still unanswered for more than a week.

I will never stay there again after this behavior.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geogreek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel ,a bit kitschy lobby, nice spacious rooms, comfortable beds and bathroom.Good breakfast and rich buffet dinner. ideal location in the center of the city. It could have been a great experience but for inexplicable stinginess and antipathic behaviour of some of the staff. .Free wifi only in the lobby and the bar,no glasses in the bathroom and the minibar.,poor minibar,for a bottle of water served at dinner we had to pay 5 euros while in all restaurants in Greece ,including hotel restaurants water was always served free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliezer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I booked this hotel to have a luxurious spa holiday in Ioannina.

Before we even parked our car on the parking area we were insulted by the valet. He refused to take my word staying in the hotel but insisted to see my reservation with his own eyes before parking.

Next we walked to the reception to find out that our online reservation was lost. They did the only right professional choice and upgraded our executive room to a junior suite. It was a very pleasant gesture but at the same time we lost the balcony that I wanted to have. The room was luxurious, well designed and spacious as we expected.

We went to sleep after travelling 2 000 kilometers to our destination. In the meanwhile the hotel had a wedding reception downstairs meaning we could hear drunk people smoking and yelling under our window, not even mentioning the loud music until at least 2.00 a.m.

The breakfast was quite ordinary but not up to the level of five stars.

But wait, you thought this was all? Wrong. The biggest disappointment was to find out the five star Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa doesn´t offer any of the spa treatments it advertised on its very own web page! The management decided to open spa this year 1st of December as told by the receptionist. Was it up to a customer to call and make sure before booking that spa hotel has an open spa? I don´t think so. It is the responsibility of marketing personnel and management. If not, what are they there for?

We´re not at all impressed with this hotel. Even it might have luxurious decoration it is not properly managed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ioannina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Lac Congress Center & Spa
0.7 mi away
Heritage Hotels Kalari
Heritage Hotels Kalari
#1 of 28 in Ioannina
137 reviews
5.0 mi away
Epirus Palace Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#6 of 28 in Ioannina
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kastro
Hotel Kastro
#5 of 28 in Ioannina
194 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aar Hotel & Spa
Aar Hotel & Spa
#9 of 28 in Ioannina
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Serai Congress & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Serai Congress & Spa

Property: Grand Serai Congress & Spa
Address: 33 Leoforos Dodonis, Ioannina 45221, Greece (Formerly Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina)
Location: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Ioannina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ioannina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ioannina
#4 Business Hotel in Ioannina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ioannina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Serai Congress & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Grand Serai Congress & Spa" comes to offer a brand new perception of hospitality. This is a genuine palace, which combines the traditional style of Ioannina with elements of the Middle East. The incomparable luxury and the unique facilities guarantee a starling 5* stay. Grand Serai Congress & Spa, with attention to the details of the care and well being of our guests, invites you all year round to come and satisfy your need to "escape" from the daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Serai Congress & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina Hotel Ioannina
Mitsis Grand Serai Congress And Spa Ioannina
Grand Serai Congress Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing