We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely to retunr”
Review of Parga Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parga Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Parga
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely to retunr”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Returned from our second visit to the Parga Beach Hotel on Sunday 21st July. Once again we were delighted with this hotel it really is lovely and will keep returning.

Nothing to have a moan about everything staff, location, grounds and rooms were the best.

Thank you to Valentina for her help, what a lovely girl.

Room 151 is really nice.

Room Tip: 151 and 147 good location in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    116
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
110
157
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel isn't in Parga but around the bay in Valtos Beach. This in itself isn't a real problem as if you want to go into town at night there are water taxis at 2 Euro per person or a traditional taxi for 5 Euro. I personally would prefer to stay at Valtos as the beach is far larger and more sandy than in Parga town. With regard to the hotel there are some real positives: the hotel is a collection of low rise bungalows which are kept spotlessly clean, the gardens are magnificent, the hotel is only a few yards from the beach, the room is equipped to a high standard (air-conditioning as standard) and the front of house staff, the maids and the gardener are all so friendly. The downsides for me were that there are only two very small pools that seem to be exclusively inhabited by small children, some of the breakfast waiting staff have mastered the art of wandering around with coffee pots whilst ignoring guests attempts to attract their attention to get a coffee, the bar prices are ridiculously expensive (5.50 Euros for a pint on the beach!), the hot food at breakfast was invariably overcooked (sausages and eggs) or nearly raw (the bacon), the one meal we ate (other than breakfast) was missing some of the advertised ingredients (funnily enough the more expensive ones) and, as non-smokers, we found it impossible to enjoy the beautiful lobby because of an overpowering smell of state tobacco smoke. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would not wish to put other people off from going but with some relatively minor changes our rating would have been 'excellent' rather than 'very good'.

Room Tip: Book direct rather than through a travel agent and insist on one of the bungalows near the beach (bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

While we have made several trips to Greece over the years, this was the first time that didn't revolve around island hopping on a sail boat or visiting my sister in the Athens area. Following a short (2 hr) flight from Innsbruck, we landed in Preveza. The agent we used to book the trip provided a coach transfer to Parga (approx. 65 km), but in hindsight we should have leased a car from the airport instead of hiring one in Parga. This is because you are going to want a car in order to fully enjoy the attractions of the area and if you take the bus you're going to spend at least an extra hour (going and coming) from Preveza while the vacationers are delivered and collected from their respective accommodations. What a relief it was to finally arrive at the hotel and from the moment we checked-in to check-out a week later, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay!

Our bungalow was well appointed and spacious. All of the amenities you would expect from a 4 star hotel were provided. Wifi, safe, flat screen TVs, coffee machine, frig, etc.. There is even a scale in the bathroom so that you can monitor how much weight you gain from the ridiculously large portions of food that are served everywhere you eat. The beach is wonderful with clear blue water and comfortable lounging and the staff are extremely courteous. While the town of Parga is only a short 15 minute walk down the beach from the hotel, there's also a water taxi that you can take from the hotel to the harbor for only 2 Euros. A conventional taxi is only 5 Euros. Once you're in town, you will find a traditional Greek environment literally hundreds of shops, restaurants, boutiques and bars. Prices were excellent - compared to western Europe.

I'm sure you could be happy if you never left the premises of the hotel, but it would be a shame to miss all of the sight seeing opportunities the area offers. Our favorite was the day spent on the Acheron River (mythical River Styx). It is truly one of the most naturally beautiful places we've ever been. I highly recommend the Parga Beach Resort Hotel to couples and families alike!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a suite - large bedroom, lounge area with fridge and kettle! Scales in the bathroom!
The grounds are beautiful with colourful flowers everywhere interspersed with tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and orange trees.
The swimming pools are small. There is one next to the beach which is more suitable for children. The inland one is quieter but could do with more comfortable sunbeds.
Breakfast is good, plenty of choice although sometimes they offered red kidney beans instead of baked beans!
Drinks are expensive in the bar but everyone seems to drink in town anyway. It's €2 pp by water taxi ir €5 bt car taxi, 20 mins uphill to walk.
Good choice of lunch options with Greek salad about €8.
They organised a Greek night, unfortunately the meat was inadvertently cold.
If you do an early morning boat trip and so will miss breakfast then give them 24 hours notice and they will provide a wonderful packed lunch.
Friendly staff.
Taxi to Preveza airport is a set €80.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGW140165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was a real surprise! The general standard of Greek accommodation is fairly basic but this one felt like we were in one of the good Far East hotels. The place is spread over a number of separate buildings set in a really lush garden spreading from the road right down to the beach. The only real downside to the accommodation is the beds. We don`t like them quite so hard! - but they did appear new and that might be the problem? It wasn`t 100% with a double bed being two singles together without a mattress topper bridging the gap either as the stitched mattress ridges left quite an impression if we got too close to the middle - if you see what I mean!!
Other than this - it was a great hotel. In somewhere this good you would expect to pay a bit over the norm for food and drink - but with a supermarket outside the main entrance and lots of good Tavernas within a 15 minute walk into Parga centre it wasn`t a problem.
It did take a day or so to get the staff to realise we had spotted they were not happy with the Greek economic situation and from that point on they were delightful to us and we chatted in pigin Greek and English to all of them. The Restaurant staff were all good friends by the time we left.
A beach umbrella and 2 sunbeds at 7 euros a day on the beach in front of the hotel did cause a bit of a hole in the budget so be prepared and the walk uphill into and out of town isn`t for the faint-hearted in the heat of the day but getting to the crest does give a sense of achievement. Take a 2 euro per person water taxi - much more civilised. It was a bit of an eye-opener to see how Greece has slumped since the Euro-crisis and ordinary people are certainly feeling it and it can show - but then it also shows quite often at home and our situation has not been as bad as in Greece. The Parga Beach does deserve it`s 4* rating and the perfect hotel is getting harder to find wherever you go.

Room Tip: There are some rooms adjacent to the main reception area where the domestic staff gather at 7-30am t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A little different from the norm, and as we had booked a "bungalow", we were a little surpised to be climbing stairs to our room (but apparently their term bungalow just means a small building with a number of rooms in it... however, the room itself was very well appointed with a nice sea view. From arrival, the friendlyness and helpfullness of the staff was the thing that stood out - yes, there were on or two of the waiting staff serving coffee at breakfast that looked like a smile would kill them - but the rest of the staff were exceptional throughout our stay. Breakfast itself, served in the very nice restaurant/bar area on the beach was really pretty good, with plenty of choice (although sometimes not quite keeping up with demand). The area is also good for drinks and snacks during the day. For dinner, the menu looked really promising, but after eating there for the first two nights it was the clear the cooking could not quite live up to the promise, and we tended to wander to the restaurants at the top of the hill, by the castle, or just jump on the boat from the beach (cheap, safe and very regular) around the the old town, which was great (last boat back is 11 p.m. after which more conventional taxis are easy to find). Overall, an easy hotel ('resort') to recommend... if you're looking for a beach holiday it is literally on your doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

5 euros for a beer, 12 euros for a chefs salad and all the old pleasant staff in the restaurant are gone?? Sorry... I've had my last lunch here when I'm at the beach. Ridiculous overpricing and new unpleasant bar and restaurant staff have definitely killed the pleasant atmosphere this place used to have. We used to visit the beach restaurant on a daily basis for the 4 weeks we are in Parga... I'll start using Tango Club. Still expensive but they at least have the same prices as last year and what beach resort used to have. 4 euros for a beer and 7,50 euros for a chefs salad is more up my alley... And course the same good old pleasant staff as always! Beach Resort, get a grip of yourselves!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikParga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parga hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parga Princess
Hotel Parga Princess
#1 of 33 in Parga
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lichnos Beach Hotel and Suites
1.9 mi away
Salvator Hotel Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valtos Beach & Gogozotos Residence
0.7 mi away
Acrothea Hotel
Acrothea Hotel
#2 of 33 in Parga
311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dracos Apartotel
Dracos Apartotel
#11 of 33 in Parga
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parga Beach Resort

Property: Parga Beach Resort
Address: | Chissogiali Valtos, Parga 480 60, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Parga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parga Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parga Beach Resort is a beachfront resort in Parga, consisting of neoclassical Venetian style bungalows, surrounded by 350 year old olive trees and a fabulous garden with over 500 plants and flowers. In a relaxing and stylish setting by the sea that offers a view of one of best beaches in Greece, of the Venetian castle and the city of Parga, you can taste our Mediterranean fusion cuisine that includes traditional dishes, fresh fish and oysters. You can also enjoy coffee, refreshments, snacks and cocktails at the bar right next to the restaurant, which has the same spectacular view and decor. The experience is completed by music that carries you away and by our friendly and experienced staff. The décor of the rooms matches perfectly with the beautiful neoclassical façade of the bangalows. The bedroom’s decoration speaks for itself; it is the embodiment of style and quality. But Parga Beach Resort’s experience is not only about what you see. The Coco Mat orthopedic and ecological mattress and pillow of your choice selected from our pillow menu will give you an excellent sleep experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing