We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dracos - Very Good!”
Review of Dracos Apartotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dracos Apartotel
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Parga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 2-week stay at the Dracos Aparthotel and thoroughly enjoyed our 1st holiday in Parga.

The hotel is immaculately kept by the hard working management and staff. Rooms are well proportioned - recommend 1st/2nd floor pool view for fantastic view across the valley. Beds are a little on the hard side but did sleep well throughout stay (even through the earthquake tremor one morning!!!)
Nice pool with padded comfy sunbeds (7.00am towell reservations do become an issue in high season!). Great sheltered sofa area for reading.

Nice pool bar that was often under utilised - probably due to the expensive price of drinks and food (4 Euro for a large beer was the most we payed in resort during our stay).

The hotel is a good 10 minute walk downhill into the town but beware there is a steep track upto the hotel on the way back up for the less mobile.

Mozzies - first mosquito bites for 10 years so beware.

Wifi - poor with intermittent connection which became quite frustrating.

All in all very good!

RJ

Room Tip: 1st/2nd floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RockingJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 304 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in PARGA, staying at the Dracos, and would definitely come back here again should we return to this resort.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation very modern (we stayed in 309 in the 'new' block below near the pool) and very clean. The bar serves a good range of drinks and the bar snacks are really very good - so good in fact that we had our evening meals there twice during our stay (so much more reasonably priced than much of the food you pay for in the resort tavernas).
Regarding the resort - an interesting harbour front with the usual array of tavernas with the same menus! We tried the Shanghai (expensive but OK) and the 5 Senses (again, quite expensive but the quality of food and service is really good). We visited Johnny's Bar which we thought was a restaurant given the reviews/info on Trip Advisor, but it isn't! Just a bar with a cockney speaking Greek owner who is very friendly and still worth a visit!
We advise a walk up to the castle, great views over the bays either side once you get to the top. And we also did the walk through the olive groves to Lichnos (?) beach, where you can also take the boat taxi back to Parga if you don't want to trek back. The boat ride itself is well worth the 4 Euros! A taxi from Parga to Dracos is 4 Euros.
Just a note of caution - we found on our first day that we had to wait until 4.00 p.m. to get a couple of sun loungers by the pool. The practice of getting up early in the morning and putting your towels on the sun loungers and then going back to bed for a couple of hours is rife here! So, if you want to guarantee yourself some sun loungers, get up at 7.30, put out your towels, and then go back to bed for a couple of hours! (We actually observed several fellow holiday makers leaving their towels on sun longers for several hours while they went sight-seeing or back to their rooms for a siesta - tut tut! But if you can't beat them, join them!

Room Tip: We really liked 309 in the new block, but we also heard the other rooms in the main hotel were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarlosWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Myself, my wife and children 5 & 2 stayed at Dracos for 2 weeks this July and from start to finish it was a brilliant place to spend a holiday. We glanced at some of the hotels & apartments currently ranking above it and were gobsmacked how Dracos is not number 1 - it has the looks, the location, the wonderful pool area and inside the rooms are spacious & clean.
We had a room in the main block as have a family (newer block has smaller rooms for couples) and on the 1st floor so had a terrific view over the pool and to the olive groves around. Although not very modern, our room was big with plenty of room for our daughter's cot, good storage space and a big bathroom. The cleaners did an excellent job in keeping it clean.
The grounds are also kept well maintained - a perfect environment for the resident adult & baby tortoises and pool area well looked after, pool itself very clean and baby pool a good size, with poolside loungers the comfiest ever! If there was a criticism of Dracos it was the snack bar - quite limited options and alcohol expensive. But the staff, led by Dimitris, did a great job and breakfast proved good value too.
The location is fine - with a buggy 15 mins to the harbour and a slow 20-25 mins back up hill, especially in mid-afternoon heat! But it was nice to be away from the liveliness & mass of mopeds nearer the centre and on the way into town (via the road to the beaches) you had 3 of the finest tavernas in Parga (Perivoli, Yannis and best of all 5 Senses). Speaking of tavernas we also recommend Maistros & Stefanos up by the Castle and the lovely beach setting of Golfo. Also Motley cake & ice cream at the end of Krioneri Beach is brilliant!
Activities for kids are quite limited in the area so we didn't hire a car, but thankfully our pair just love the pool and our few water taxi trips to Valtos Beach. The land train to Ali Pasha's Castle was great (10am best time to avoid peak heat/sun) and the Panagea Olive Oil Museum proved more interesting than we expected with some lovely tasting & gift buying at the end.
Phew - I could waffle on for ages about how good Parga and, more specifically, Dracos is. Better still, ignore me and go and try it for yourself!

Room Tip: Main block best for families. Our room, 103, lovely on the end of the row, good balcony view and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheDoctorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The winner for the best apart/hotel in the whole world ever goes to …….. the Dracos Apart/Hotel, Parga Greece 
Once again we spent 2 weeks at our favourite place June 2013. I have been visiting Greece and Parga for many years and have honestly say The Dracos is the best place to stay by a million miles.
The rooms are spacious, immaculately clean (the ladies who clean the rooms are amazing – I wish I could take them home with me), clean towels are provided every day, bedding every other day. Bed is huge and comfortable.
The pool and bar area is also amazing, so relaxing. There is a wide selection on the menu, salads, sandwiches, omelettes, fries etc. everything you need. Not forgetting to mention the best milkshake you will ever taste in your lifetime made by Vicky. You can then go and relax by the pool and drift into a coma as I normally do…….. There are plenty of beds, with wait for it…………….. a mattress – oh yeah.
The staff and owners of the Dracos are all lovely, genuine people. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them. They are good company and good fun. One drink in the bar often turned into more than one – hmmmmm.
There are many repeat customers at the Dracos so I guess this speaks for itself.
I have booked for next year and plan to keep going until I am old and grey - at which point I will request a ground floor as I do not plan on staying anywhere else. Sorry all you guys at the Dracos but you are stuck with me!!!!!
And now for the downside of Dracos…… there isn’t one, except leaving.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we have just returned from 2 weeks at the Dracos in Parga We were pleased with the hotel, very clean, good sized room & bathroom. The cooking facilities were enough for us to prepare a light breakfast which was all we wanted as we prefer to eat out on holiday, The staff were all lovely & cheerful, although food & drink was a bit more expensive than in Parga town they were not too bad & the lovely barman ( Vasilias - hope thats right!) made a great G & T.
The pool area is good with a good amount of beds. The hotel is family friendly & couples seeking relaxation may prefer to stay there out of school holiday times but the kids were not a major problem for us.
We were expecting it to be more isolated & further out of Parga as other reviews indicated it was a fair walk into the resort but we found it just 10 to 15 mins walk so its in a good position really , handy for the mini markets etc & plenty of tavernas near at hand, Dokos is only five mins walk & served lovely food at reasonable prices, there are several decent tavernas in the centre we also tried Yannis -good greek food & lovely house wine. The Island ( Thai & Mexican) Perivolos again good greek food & house wine, Captains bar on the habour was good for drinks & coffees but there are loads we did not get to try so you are spolit for choice really
We hired a beach buggy from a place near the taxi stand & Jonny's bar in town, not cheap but great fun
We also went on a great cruise to Paxos on the Marco Polo from the harbour in Parga, only 15 euros each & well worth it
All in all we found it hard to fault & would recommend the Dracos & Parga as a great holiday destination

Room Tip: we did not stay in the penthouse room but friends did & it was really nice, the rooms in the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Dracos following recommendation from family members who have stayed the previous 3 years. We can only confirm their recommendation as we will return in the future to this hotel and to the gem of a resort namely Parga. Have previously stayed on most of the Greek islands but this place tops the lot for its beauty, hospitality and history. We hired a jeep for 5 days as transport is a must if you want to get around the local area to see and take in the scenery and mountains and coves and beaches, Springs of Acheron are a must. Breakfast and bar food in the Dracos left a bit to be desired but that is not the reason we stayed their as we intended to eat out for every meal and were never left disappointed anywhere we selected. All in a all a very very good and exceptional value for money holiday.

Room Tip: Pool view second floor room is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This would be our 2nd time staying at the Dracos hotel and it just gets better! We arrived around 9pm on Sunday evening had a very friendly welcome back from Dimitris and team and was shown to a very nice room in the new block. The room was very clean, modern and very spacious. The cost of the aircon was 40 euros per week and the safety deposit box was 10 euros per week. We certainly needed the aircon!! The room has all of the basics in the kitchen unit and there was a lovely welcome pack which included a bottle of wine, water, bread roll, butter, marmalade, teabags, coffee, cheese etc I think this is just if you go with Thomsons though. The bathroom is one of the best I've seen in Greece, lovely big walk in shower, plenty of room at the basin and also a hairdryer. The location of the Dracos is perfect for us, it is about a 10 min walk down to the harbour so it's nice and peaceful, but not to far away from the buzz of the harbour when you want it. As for the staff at the Dracos, we found all of them to be very friendly, always a smile and a greeting. We often had a night cap before bed and mixed with other guests in the bar sharing stories of what or where we had discovered that day, it was a lovely. Vassillis seemed to look after the bar in the evening and was rather lovely!

Parga itself is the only place that I've been to more than twice, we've now booked to go back next year so that will be our 4th time. It really does have something for everyone (unless you want 18 -30's type of hol), There are numerous tavernas all offering fantastic food, a few of our favourites this year was 5 senses, Perivoli, Trattoria, Tzima, Anthoussa taverna (in Anthoussa) Tou christo at Sarakiniko. All very reasonable in price with delicious local wine. We never spent more than 35 euros for a meal for two these all included bread, often free starters like bruschetta, other places gave free desserts, and others free shots! Really good value for money. Our fave cocktail bar was Spice bar, just on the front looking out to sea, great choice of delicious cocktails 5 euros in happy hour! We also loved the cafe bar up at the castle, so chilled and lovely views, the Meeting place was a great place, very cheap and lovely meze with every drink. Janni is a lovely bloke, very friendly. Loads of places to try but we just ran out of time!

We paid 120 euros for a little scooter for the 2 weeks which was excellent for us, we went all over! Mainly Sarakiniko, lovely beach. Also went to Gliki where the river acheron is, so good we went again the following week. Walking up the icy cold river sometimes swimming it was so much fun. Also went to Sivota, very pretty, stopped at a few beaches on the way! Alonaki beach is lovely, no sunbeds or parasols to hire, I think its one the locals tend to use. There was a snack van there where we borrowed a couple of parasols from, free of charge! very nice people. In fact all of the greek people we met from shop owners to waiters and even ladies sitting outside their homes all were extremely friendly and genuine.

I could go on and on about the Dracos and Parga, but why not go and see for yourself, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sadjeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parga hotels
1.2 mi away
Parga Beach Resort
Parga Beach Resort
#6 of 34 in Parga
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salvator Hotel Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Parga Princess
Hotel Parga Princess
#1 of 34 in Parga
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adam's Hotel
Adam's Hotel
#2 of 34 in Parga
218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lichnos Beach Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
Valtos Beach & Gogozotos Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dracos Apartotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dracos Apartotel

Address: Parga, Parga, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Parga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Parga
Price Range: $94 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dracos Apartotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dracos Apartotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dracos Apartotel Parga
Dracos Apartotel Hotel Parga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing