We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acheron River

Acheron River
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Parga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Tranquillant spot if there are not too many tourists.
At some places you need to swim, so not only accessible on foot.
Extremely cold water, after 1 hour my big toes nearly feel off ;)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ozmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    207
    47
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A magical journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We visited the Springs of Acheron and thought it was a beautiful place. The river was so clear and the trail through the forest was quiet. We also went to the nearby port and took a boat trip which went along the coast before returning to the river mouth and then travelling up the river Acheron. The boat trip was really interesting and we saw everything promised - nightingales' nests, kingfishers and dragonflies. The guide was informative and very enthusiastic about the river. It was a magical journey!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful, awesome and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a beautiful place! Went on a trip with Cosmos taking us on a walk up the River and back and then lunch at the little restaurant situated next to the crystal clear flowing waters. (Approx 6 hours total). Did wonder what we had got ourselves into after listening to other hotel guests with tales of freezing water and how dangerous it was. Cosmos wouldn't be that stupid would they? No! Granted, you need to be fairly fit to cope with the river walk itself (2.5Km upstream). Ankle deep one minute, swimming the next, always being aware of the fact that the next stone in the water may be a knee-high one that you cant see. You just have to take it careful and use your common sense. There is always someone around to help you or warn you of any sudden changes to the riverbed depth or water flow speed. Twice I found myself swimming across a short section, only to find I wasnt moving forwards! Just as I was thinking "how do I do this then?" an arm grabbed my wrist and pulled me through! There is a bit of squeezing through areas, a fair amount of rock climbing (low level) and yes, that water is enough to freeze your socks off (if you wore any) but SOO exhilarating and refreshing! You find yourself in a deep canyon, shading you from the fierce Greek sun. Absolutely amazing! If you find it too much, you just turn around and go back the way you came - it's no big deal. There are horses and kayaks further down the river if you prefer that. Either way you feel you have earned that well-deserved Mythos and Greek salad you can purchase at the end. I just wish I had photos to prove we actually did it! Dont be put off by the words "River walk" - it's a beautiful area to just sit or wander for a few hours if your body is not as agile as it used to be. You'll love it I'm certain!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eggshell666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

A peaceful place to visit, walk up the river - need shoes that will stay on in water. Good food at the restaurants. Rafting is good fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanetRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a wet day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great and unusual day out (probably 6 hours). Need to swim in 3/4 locations as water too deep to wade and you are swimming against the current. The water is cold !!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank StuartH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acheron River also viewed

 
Parga, Preveza Region
Parga, Preveza Region
 

Been to Acheron River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing