We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Symposium

Symposium
Ranked #89 of 125 Restaurants in Parga
Price range: $7 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Symposium Restaurant is located right on the sea front of Parga's promenade. Opened it's doors in May 2009. Authentic greek cuisine, with local and fresh goods cooked to original recipes. Specialities are Sea food selection, Poseidon Platter, Lobster spaghetti as well as our home made original recipes as kleftiko, stifado and mousaka.
Krommenie, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had dinner twice at Symposium. Both times the food was very enjoyable, good quality, local ingredients. Loved the Greek salad. Friendly waiters, nice view and good food, what more could you hope for in Greece? Free cinnamon liqueur as a thank you topped the evening nicely off.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THFCWoutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    36
    18
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never fails to deliver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is my wife and I's 5th time in Parga and we always make a point of going to Symposium at least twice in holiday. All the staff know the menu and can tell you what's what and are extremely friendly, especially Helen who always finds time to have a chat and ask about your holiday. I suppose having been going there for a good few years now it never ceases to amaze us that the Symposium staff recognise us the next time we visit considering the hundreds of customers they must have through the doors over the year to the point where even before we had looked at the menu they had bought our favourite wine out, yes we are creatures of habit.
You don't get the largest of portions but what you do get everytime is good tasting and well cooked food. All being well we will see you next year and get the wine on ice now.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing doesn't cover it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We chose this restaurant because of its location and to be honest that was its only redeeming feature. We were shown to a table by a totally uninterested waiter and left for ages before anyone came to take our order or offer drinks. When the waitress eventually arrived, both being fish/seafood lovers we chose mussels and sea bass and hoped that the food would improve what was rapidly becoming a totally underwhelming experience. Sadly that was not the case, the mussels were ok but the sea bass was minute and served with rock hard veg and potatoes(we like veg with a liitle bite but these were teeth breakers) covered in a very nasty tasting lemon "dressing". When the waitress came she asked if everything had been ok,strange question when three quarters of the meal was still on the plate.We told her about the veg and dressing and she just said she found that the greeks tended to over season things and made no attempt to placate us. To add insult to injury she said if we had room for a desert there was tiramisu. Room for a desert,we could have eaten her and the chef! Needless to say we just paid the bill,the most expensive bill for the worst and least amount of food we had while in Parga. We did eat some fantastic food in Parga,amazing sea bass at 5 Senses but the only good thing about Symposium was it gave us a good laugh the rest of the holiday at how awful it was. Maybe we caught them on a particularly bad night but i think they try to be something there not! Not real greek to me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The real greek on the harbour front”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This with it's sister restaurant Castello are without doubt the finest eating places in Parga...Vasilis and his staff make you very welcome...Just use the menu as a guide and let them know what you prefer, nothing is too much trouble for them and their understanding of how food should be prepared and served is excellent..just sit back and enjoy.....that special night out..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlearches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The real Greek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We found this taverna on our recent holiday in Parga, it is situated right on the edge of the harbour with really good views. The quality, freshness, size and range of dishes was outstanding . A fair few of the dishes are unique to Symposium. We cannot give a high enough recommendation to this taverna. All of this at a very competitive price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidcuprover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Symposium also viewed

 
Parga, Preveza Region
Parga, Preveza Region
 

Been to Symposium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing