We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great studio, best we`ve found in Parga”
Review of Aleca's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aleca's House
Ranked #18 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Parga
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Location - On road to Anthoussa just up from the cemetary. It`s a quieter part of town and although set up from the road the traffic is minimal and extremely quiet day and night. Walking down is 5-6 minutes and back up from the taxi rank in the centre of town takes 10 minutes at snail pace. If you complain about the slight gradient then it`s time you went to the doctors ! There are 2 alternative paths, one oppsite and one by the gravestones, both a slight bit quicker and an alternative in daylight hours. Although people seem to ask for top floor studios ( including us ) for the view, I gather it isn`t all that exciting and the ground floor ones have bigger terraces and are sheltered from what little traffic noise there is. The studios are massive and modern by Greek standards with comfy king size beds, good kitchen facilities. lots of storage/wardrobe space and 10 out 0f 10 from my wife for having dressing table with mirror, light and electric sockets all close at hand. French doors to balcony/patio and rear entrance doors are upvc and therefor soundproof and bugproof. Aircon and deposit box came to 50 euro for the week ( a must for me who gets eaten alive by the mosies ). Aleka lives in, and don`t worry about the piano playing, you should be awake by 8.00 am anyway and you can hardly hear it. Aleka herself is very pleasant and very forthcoming ( we actually very rarely saw her ). My one complaint, although it isn`t one really, is on arrival we did not have a TV as she explained it had broken down and a new one would be there in a couple of days.....it never arrived ( room105 ). It would never have been switched on anyway ! I say do away with T.V`s and lets have the safety deposit box free. Unless I find something exceptional we will return. P.S. booked with monarch holidays, very good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donkey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Aleca's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 44 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2010

This is a mixed bag.. on one hand it's the best standard of room we're seen in Greece, large double bed spacious room, lovely accomodation, spacious, clean, modern and stylish, but unfortunately the owner lives with her kids in actual rooms in the building, and they have a piano! if this doesn't bother you this will be a fabulous holiday, but perhaps you may want to sleep after 8 a.m. or nap on a hot afternoon, without repetitive piano practice, the odd banging of a drum, loud T.V. and/or radio and gereral noise. Also when will it become acceptable internationally to have Do Not Disturb signs, so you don't have to call to someone after they open your door despite your sleepy protestations, and also, sleeping with a fridge in a room will never be easy... unless you do in general.
It really is a terrible shame, because, the noise and that alone is really it's pitfall, otherwise it'd be almost perfect.... oh the hill would be a bit difficult in hot weather, it's not that long, but with mobility problems, i wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Aleca's was a delight - set back away from the town centre, but only a short walk (uphill on the way back but not strenuous). Great views overlooking the sea and the town. Some parking at the back. Rooms are very good for Greece - large studio. King size bed and nice pillows make a difference, as does the cubicled shower.

Aleca herself was very friendly and approachable, we were welcomed with a bottle of wine.

This was an ideal base for Parga, amongst the olives groves, peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigblackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We chose the Aleca for the views and booked through Direct line Holidays. We were not to worried about the lack of a pool as we were told we would be able to use the pools in the local hotels.
Upon booking we requested a 3rd floor apartment as they were the ones with a harbour view. However when we arrived we has a ground floor apartment with a view of a lemon tree. Direct line did not pass on our request to Aleca. This really upset me and the Lovely Aleca the owner said that she could move us to the 2nd floor in a few days. We decided to stay put as we soon discovered that there is a large communal balcony with sating and views in the 2nd floor.. The apartments were the biggest and the most well equipped we had stayed in . The owner is lovely and the Maid service is fantastic.
Don't be put off by the mention in other reviews of the long steep hill to the apartments from he town. I really is not that bad. I am a slow walker and managed the hill with no problem.
The best Bakers in town is by far the local traditional bakers down the hill turn right at the 1st supermarket and it is n the left just past the hotel. Bread @ 80cents a loaf.
Take plenty of tea bags and coffee as these were so expensive @£4.50 FOR 40 .
We were upset that the resort was closing down. the pools were all empty, the water taxis had stopped running and there were no tours ruining. but holiday companies are still booking till the end of October. We had 4 days of really bad weather.
Parga in itself has so much to offer . Would we go back? yes we would. Would we choose to stay in the Aleca? YES

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianpaulandcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Lovely studios, spacious and very clean. Situated above a main road, although the double glazing keeps out the traffic noise.
I was surprised to see reviews recommend the accomodation for young singles and families with small children. It is much better suited to people over thirty and families with teenagers due to the distance from the beach and harbour front, a long, steep walk with a pushchair or a hangover. The owner is very friendly and will go out of her way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HectorKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Our fourth time to Parga but first time staying at Aleca Studios. Excellent studios/apartments - they really are lovely! Booked with Thomas Cook and unfortunately, as in previous years Thomas Cook hadn't passed on our special request to the apartment owners! We requested a high floor and ended up with a ground floor room! However, Aleka (the lady who owns the studios) moved us for our second week. Having said that, dont' worry - the ground floor rooms are just as lovely - it's just you get a much better view of Parga Town and the bay/coastline from the higher floor. The studios are quite luxurious for Greece with a mini oven/grill, extractor fan and hood, coffee maker and plenty of cooking utensils and crockery. Air conditioning (which we dindnt need!!), TV and King Size Bed. The shower actually has a cubicle and a curtain and is well laid out with good fittings. These studios are very spacious and are kept beautifully clean. Much closer to the centre of Parga than I expected - around a 5 minute walk down the main road/slope will bring you the back of the main town/taxi rank. It will take you a few minutes longer on the way back up as the road does climb gradually - but it is a fairly easy walk. There is a 'short cut' straight opposite down a gravel track but I wouldnt recommend as a bit steep and doesnt save much time - the weather was also very wet our second week and therefore this track was slippy. There is another track down into the centre which is better - it takes you along side the cemetery - you can't miss the turn off just look for the sign for Mini Golf at Parga Springs. If I had to find something to grumble about - as the apartments are on the main road into Anthoussa - you will experience some traffic noise if you have doors/windows open. I dont need to prattle on about Parga because chances are you have visited before! For anyone who wishes to stay at Aleca Studios next year, Aleka informed us that next year her accommodation will be available via Cosmos. Hope this helps. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbparga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

this is the second time we have stayed at aleca,s and both time,s were brilliant. We took an old friend with us this time,who thoroughly enjoyed the apartment and parga.the owner is such a lovely lady and everything was great

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandchris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parga hotels
0.2 mi away
Nikas Villa Orange Apartments
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Dreams Studios Parga
#68 of 119 in Parga
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canary Studios
Canary Studios
#80 of 119 in Parga
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Epavli Veneti
Epavli Veneti
#54 of 119 in Parga
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#40 of 119 in Parga
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Antonis
Villa Antonis
#17 of 119 in Parga
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aleca's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleca's House

Address: 11 Agiou Athanassiou, Parga 480 60, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Parga
Price Range: $34 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Aleca's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing