We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aleca's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aleca's House
Ranked #30 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Parga
Notts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Having just returned from our fourth stay at Aleca's we can report yet again to be very satisfied
with the accommodation.The Studios are very spacious and clean and well located being only
a short 10 minute stroll to the waterfront of Parga where there are a good choice of Bars and Tavernas,also Water Taxis to the lovely Beaches.Aleca is very warm and welcoming and if you have any problems she will always try and resolve them quickly.In the late afternoon for a short period you may here her eldest son Spiros practicing on the Piano (he is improving) which we think is quite fun. Although there is some traffic noise,the property stands above the road and has never been an issue for us.We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We booked this a week before leaving and chose it partly because of the lack of negative reviews on Trip Advisor.
The Studios are just above the main road into Parga and the traffic noise is easy to hear but not a problem because the traffic levels are so low. Being raised above the road we couldn't see it either. We had e-mailed to ask whether there would be any chance of an upper floor in order to get the good views over Parga, but never received a reply (Aleca said she would have moved us if a room had been available). From the ground floor you can glimpse the castle and have the grass and hedge in front of you but can't see much. Just before we left someone deposited a child's slide and a couple of other items there for some reason, but they were not used. Each patio has a small hedge in front of it so you can't walk onto the garden and there are screens to either side separating the neighbours.
The standard rooms are about the most spacious we've had. They are starting to show a little age but they are well maintained, well stocked with cuttlery and crockery if you want to eat in and everything worked. On arrival we had a brief visit from a lady who said she was Aleca and to her credit suggested that we didn't pay for the air conditioning as the ground floor apartments tended to be cooler. Only on one night would we have liked it so this was good of her. The only slight negative while there was that she was hard to get hold of. On arrival she took my passport saying she would bring it back, 2 days later I spotted her with the man who had mowed the garden and asked for it. She seemed more interested in the hedge and just said she would bring it. The following evening, as I needed it for a trip to Albania, I mentioned it to the travel agent who spent 24 hours leaving messages all over the place for her. She took it into their office in time for my trip and I picked it up but it caused some concern and inconvenience for me and several other people and 'Aleca' didn't pop by at least to say sorry. Ups and downs but perhaps a contact number for her in emergencies would be a good idea.
The walk to town if quick and easy unless you have mobility problems. Directly opposite on the main road is the start of a rough track that takes you straight into town in about 5-10 minutes, though it would take care in the dark and a good torch. If you go down it, it forks at the end and you need to go right as taking the left fork towards the paved section is private. Alternatively, when we went, if you walk down the main road towards town there is was a crude sign to the 'mini-golf' on the right that leads down a track apparently destined to become a narrow road. This leads past the cemetery and into town. It's only slighly longer than the track and though a torch is still a good idea in the dark, it's easier. Walking up via the main road took us about 15 minutes at a steady stroll. To find these coming back, when you get to the taxi rank by the bank walk straight ahead for the track or cemetery route, or turn right to stay on the main road, turning left when you get to the Ginis 'supermarket'.
There's no pool at Aleca's and we understoof we could use a neighbouring one but didn't bother, spending our time on the beach in preference or going on one of the locally available excursions. We did the Meteora monastery tour (very enjoyable and astounding scenery), the Necromantia (small site but good if you like history/archaeology)/Acheron River tour (wade/swim up the river if you can - the scenery is stunning. There is a 15 meter stretch that has to be swum, but you can still wade for about 1km before reaching it) and Albania (very good historical site at Butrint and an hour following a lovely lunch in Sarander - it's trying to become a tourist spot but 100m from the seafront and what gloss it has disappears - worth the long drive for the difference and it'd outside the EU of you want dury free).
Suggestions - try lunch at the Castle, it's not got much Greek atmosphere but the views are good. The Golfo Beach restaurant at the far end on the left as you get to the sea front has good Greek music nights 3 times a week and is reasonably priced. Some good ones along the front so pick and choose and have a look up behind the Castle overlooking Valtos if you want a good view while you eat. As the Sun goes down behind the hills here you can see Ali Pasha's Castle atop one of them.
One of the useful things at Aleca's would be an information point with some news of local attractions. We liked it, but sort of had the feeling of being on our own once we were in our apartment as there is no reception or obvious point of contact.
Rooms were well cleaned every day but Thursday. I'd emphasize the well because the lady who was doing it didn't skip on any of the small points. If you want to see the views mentioned aim for the highest floor you can get or the top studios.
Some reviewers mentioned Piano playing - we heard it in the afternoon on two occasions. It wasn't loud, it didn't last very long, it wasn't unpleasant and whoever is playing isn't knocking out a bunch of dicordant notes, he or she is playing the piano. I wouldn't let that put you off based on our experience and more than the walk to town described by some.
We enjoyed our time in Parga.

Room Tip: Aim for the highest floor you can get if you want views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geobar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Just returned from a lovely 2 weeks at Aleka's in Parga. After reading some of the previous reviews about the location of these apartments I was a bit worried, however I can honestly say I needn't have had any concerns at all. We were greeted by Aleka who was very welcoming she showed us round the apartment, which was spacious, spotless and very well equiped. The maid came in 6 out of 7 days sheets and towels changed regularly. The apartments are set just above the main road but the road noise just isn't a problem it's not exactly a busy road. As for the "hill" again we didn't find this a problem and if anything the location was perfect close enough to the centre but far enough away not to get disturbed and was particularly nice in the evenings catching the last of the days sunshine whilst sipping on a cold glass of wine. Parga is great it's not a huge resort but seems to have so much variety, the Harbour is alive at night, perfect for people watching whilst enjoying the Greek food and wine but explore because you can find some lovely taverna's down the narrow streets. There are also tavernas above Valtos beach which are some of the best we have eaten at in Greece, you may have to wait for you food but at least you know it's been cooked well, and after all you are in Greece relax, sit back and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Booked through Monarch Holidays (Cosmos).
Plane like a cattle truck but when we arrived at Preveza Airport the journey faded away.
Great panoramic views on the coach transfers to Parga with a very good rep highlighting the history of the area.
Aleka Studios very clean and the views are second to none from the first floor balcony.
Good maid service and place kept spotless.
Greeted by the owner who made us feel welcome but disappointingly did not see her for the rest of the week. Would recommend air from June onwards as the temperatures really rise - we tried to but could not get hold of the owner.
The piano practice each morning gets a bit monotonous from below.
The worst part of the Aleka is the location at the top of a hill which after either a warm day or good meal with a few drinks is the last thing you want to climb back up.
We ended up using taxi most evenings at 4euros plus the expected tip and only one young driver will deliver you right to the door - none of the older ones attempt the last past of the slope!
All in all you get what you pay for and this was good value for the cost of the holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Location - On road to Anthoussa just up from the cemetary. It`s a quieter part of town and although set up from the road the traffic is minimal and extremely quiet day and night. Walking down is 5-6 minutes and back up from the taxi rank in the centre of town takes 10 minutes at snail pace. If you complain about the slight gradient then it`s time you went to the doctors ! There are 2 alternative paths, one oppsite and one by the gravestones, both a slight bit quicker and an alternative in daylight hours. Although people seem to ask for top floor studios ( including us ) for the view, I gather it isn`t all that exciting and the ground floor ones have bigger terraces and are sheltered from what little traffic noise there is. The studios are massive and modern by Greek standards with comfy king size beds, good kitchen facilities. lots of storage/wardrobe space and 10 out 0f 10 from my wife for having dressing table with mirror, light and electric sockets all close at hand. French doors to balcony/patio and rear entrance doors are upvc and therefor soundproof and bugproof. Aircon and deposit box came to 50 euro for the week ( a must for me who gets eaten alive by the mosies ). Aleka lives in, and don`t worry about the piano playing, you should be awake by 8.00 am anyway and you can hardly hear it. Aleka herself is very pleasant and very forthcoming ( we actually very rarely saw her ). My one complaint, although it isn`t one really, is on arrival we did not have a TV as she explained it had broken down and a new one would be there in a couple of days.....it never arrived ( room105 ). It would never have been switched on anyway ! I say do away with T.V`s and lets have the safety deposit box free. Unless I find something exceptional we will return. P.S. booked with monarch holidays, very good deal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donkey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

This is a mixed bag.. on one hand it's the best standard of room we're seen in Greece, large double bed spacious room, lovely accomodation, spacious, clean, modern and stylish, but unfortunately the owner lives with her kids in actual rooms in the building, and they have a piano! if this doesn't bother you this will be a fabulous holiday, but perhaps you may want to sleep after 8 a.m. or nap on a hot afternoon, without repetitive piano practice, the odd banging of a drum, loud T.V. and/or radio and gereral noise. Also when will it become acceptable internationally to have Do Not Disturb signs, so you don't have to call to someone after they open your door despite your sleepy protestations, and also, sleeping with a fridge in a room will never be easy... unless you do in general.
It really is a terrible shame, because, the noise and that alone is really it's pitfall, otherwise it'd be almost perfect.... oh the hill would be a bit difficult in hot weather, it's not that long, but with mobility problems, i wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaries, preferably
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Aleca's was a delight - set back away from the town centre, but only a short walk (uphill on the way back but not strenuous). Great views overlooking the sea and the town. Some parking at the back. Rooms are very good for Greece - large studio. King size bed and nice pillows make a difference, as does the cubicled shower.

Aleca herself was very friendly and approachable, we were welcomed with a bottle of wine.

This was an ideal base for Parga, amongst the olives groves, peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigblackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parga hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Coralli Hotel
Villa Coralli Hotel
#13 of 33 in Parga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Rossa
Villa Rossa
#15 of 33 in Parga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis
Oasis
#15 of 50 in Parga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dokos Studios
Dokos Studios
#7 of 114 in Parga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maistrali Hotel
Maistrali Hotel
#9 of 50 in Parga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina's House
Marina's House
#13 of 50 in Parga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aleca's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleca's House

Property: Aleca's House
Address: 11 Agiou Athanassiou | Krioneri, Parga 480 60, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Parga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aleca's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing