We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Functional”

Alexis House Studios
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexis House Studios
Ranked #107 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Parga
Reviewed September 26, 2009

As per the title of this review we found the Alexis House appartments to be clean and functional. Considering the amount of time you actually spend in your room what more do you want?

A number of things worth commenting on however;

* The air conditioning will cost you €80 for 2 weeks, well worth it though especially if you want to sleep at night.
* There is a safe in the room and this will cost you €10 per week.
* Late checkout is available (4:00pm) and this will cost €15.

The kitchen area was fine with a sink, fridge, kettle and a 2 ring electric cooker for want of a better description. We never used the cooker but the fridge was a must. All very clean.

Location was fine, just 5 mins from Valtos Beach and 15 mins into town of a n evening. Yes there are hills but you get used to them and in anycase they help you work up an appetite.

I could go on and on about all the Tavernas we frequented suffice to say that if you opt for one on the harbour front you will pay more. Typically dinner for 2 including wine would average €35, Greece isnt cheap anymore.

If its authenticity your looking for then theres only one place to go and thats Sakis. Run by the family who opened it in 1954 it is a traditional Greek taverna and doesnt pretend to be something it isnt. If you go around 7-8pm be prepared to wait but then that is a recommendation in itself. You will be served complimentary Ouzo whilst you read the menu and wait for a table but the wait will bw worth it. We ate there 3 times and every single time the bill was €25. Why? Because its not on the harbour or advertises spectacular views. We would thoroghly recommend it.

Also worthy of consideration is Golfo Beach Taverna if only for the setting, the food and the owner who is a real character. Again, it doesnt try and pretend, its just a good, traditional family run Taverna situated on Golfo Beach itself.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeuceCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 20 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

When looking at the reviews before we came to Parga, I noted that many people mentioned the hills. I ignored this thinking my boyfriend and I are both in our early 20s and so wouldnt have a problem. Don't be fooled! The hills (or mountains as we referred to them) were very wearing especially in the midday sun. On the other hand, it certainly didn't ruin the holiday - it just gave me an excuse to eat more! Also, its a downwards walk to the main town, so if you drink enough while you're there the upwards walk shouldn't be too troublesome.

There were a few things to do such as visit the castles and boat trips. However once the week was over we felt like we had done it all so I am going to go against the trend of the other reviews and say we would not go again. Thats not to say that we didn't enjoy it - the weather was excellent, the accommodation was what we expected considering what we paid, and we used the Valtos hotel's swimming pool so didnt feel like we missed out not having one at the studios. Also I agree with a previous review recommending the Tango club - I felt like I was sitting in the Carribean when I was there!

Finally, take insect repellent!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank janet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed 2 weeks in May and had perfect weather. Alexis House is well positioned - 10 minutes down to Valtos beach and 15 minutes into Parga centre.However if you're not fit you may find some of the hills challenging.The studio was basic but very clean and there is a view of the sea (and you can hear it too). It was the first time we had been to Parga and will definitely be going back and would book Alexis House again for it's great location. We used a book of walks by Lance Chilton which were excellent - well described and easy to follow, with an accurate map. Recommend the trip to Paxos & Anti Paxos, don't forget your bathers! We booked the Marco Polo at ITS travel and it was wonderful ( & quiet) just like having your own charter!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PixieMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

studios very clean friendly owners. Parga is lovely.But to stay at these studios you have to be fit. We are both in our 60,s, quite fit , so it was not a problem, but by the end of our 2wks we felt we could tackel everest. The problem was the hill on either side of the property. When you arrive not knowing how far away the shops are is a problem, although we don,t cook water is our first priorty,and to carry water up the hill was a pain. My advise is to have a bottle of water with you when you arrive. Some of the younger couples hired scoters just for shopping and going up and down the hill. Nightime we would walk down into the town and get a taxi back.
We are going back to parga in june 2009 but staying inthe town.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pingpong4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

The rooms are small and basic but extremely clean and how long do you spend in your room anyway? The owners are very friendly and helpful and the outside seating area is open and sociable. You simply turn right out of the hotel and go down the hill for the gorgeous beach and cafes (sample a cocktail at the huge pool bar cafe called the Tango Club which is for all ages with a very fun atmosphere), or you turn left out of the hotel, go up the hill and veer right for the most AMAZING view that could ever have been seen (and you can sip their home-made wine as you watch the sunset), along with a rustic, genuinely Greek strip of locals and their curios little houses and restaurants, one for every night of your stay with mouthwatering fresh foods. This hidden village has authentic windy little streets that are like a maze you should explore if you've got enough energy and mineral water haha, and they basically go down to the more busy and cosmopolitan town of Parga with lots of tiny shops and more restaurants or they take you upwards to an amazing old castle ruin and restaurant that is so much fun to walk around! We called it 'Scaramanga's' if anyone remembers that Bond film, thats just what it looks like. And go the whole way round, not just the castle but the town of Parga in full, else you'll miss something superb! Cant wait for summer jollys next year!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen03Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My sister and I have just returned from stopping at the Alexis House Studios. The accomodation was basis but clean and tidy. Location was good as it was equal distance between the Valtos beach and the town of Parga. It was on a slight hill but we saw it as good exercise to burn off the calories we consumed during the week!!

We used the pool at the nearby Valtos Beach hotel which was good and nice to be away from it, in a quieter location. We had a fab holiday, really relaxing and couldn't really fault it.

We only booked 6 days before and were really lucky to find such a gem of a location and accomodation. We only paid £330 with First Choice so couldn't complain. Rep was very nice, helpful and not pushy!! We are 26 & 28 years old and we found it had the right balance of tavernas and things to do without bring too commercial.

It was nice to go on holiday and not seeing one English bar, really Greek which was fab.
We would really recommend this place as long as the walk isn't a problem (only 10 mins downhill each way, but 20 mins back uphill on the way back!)

Many people return to this resort year after year and it is not hard to see why. Basically it was a great untapped part of Greece which we recommend you discover....

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rubylou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

These studio flats were great. They were excellent value for money(we did book on a late deal admittedly)and were of a really high standard. The Greek housekeeper was an absolute sweetie as was her husband even though they did not speak any English. The studios are situated on a piece of road that runs between Valtos Beach and Parga itself - a fairly steep hill on either side. We had a balcony view towards the sea although we could only see trees across the road, the area was quiet with a Greek bar next door - we booked through First Choice which gave us use of the pool/restaurant at the Valtos Beach Hotel - I don't know know if this is available if you booked the studios through anyone else but likewise I don't know if the apartments are First Choice only. The 'maid' service was regular and the rooms were of a really high standard regarding cleanliness.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey_miranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parga hotels
0.0 mi away
Parga Beach Resort
Parga Beach Resort
#6 of 34 in Parga
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Stamatia Rooms
#30 of 50 in Parga
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Apartments
Golden Sun Apartments
#41 of 119 in Parga
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunrise House
Sunrise House
#24 of 50 in Parga
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parga Princess
Hotel Parga Princess
#1 of 34 in Parga
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salvator Hotel Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis House Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis House Studios

Address: Parga, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Parga
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Alexis House Studios Hotel Parga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing