We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Symi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Last minute booking for 1 night. We booked one of the maisonette-style rooms (very spacious) where the double bed is upstairs and two sofa beds are downstairs in the living area. Impeccably clean throughout and rooms set in lovely gardens. Breakfast is served on a beautiful balcony overlooking Pedi Beach and the view is stunning. While breakfast is not buffet style, I thought that it was excellent - fresh bread, tomatoes, ham & cheese, boiled eggs, yoghurt with honey, tea and coffee. I actually preferred this as it meant that refrigerated foods were really cold when served and likewise eggs were boiled to order. Lovely well-maintained family property - would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Macfleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Taxiarchis in August and travelled with Olympic holidays. I have to say that we booked late and therefore did not pay the full package price so please bear that in mind when you read the review. The apartments are located in Chorio on the side of the town which overlooks Pedi Bay. To reach the harbour you have to walk to the other side of Chorio which looks over the harbour. Symi is very hilly with slopes or many steps. If you stay at the Taxiarchis you will have to walk up or down the a small slope to get to the bus stop. There are beautiful views over to Pedi but not all the rooms have views. The apartments are on the top floor and studios below and some of the studios look out onto trees and hillside. We had a studio which did not have a view other than trees. The studio itself was of a good size with a double bed, small table, dressing table and a sofa. The bathroom was quite small with a hand held shower. There was a small patio in front of the room with table and 2 chairs. The rooms are kept immaculately clean with the bedding and towels changed every day (except Sunday) and the linen was pristine. The small kitchen area (just a sink and draining board with cupboards underneath and a 2 ring cooker) does not have a lot of cooking equipment. I would think a frying pan would have been useful but there were only 2 saucepans. There is an electric kettle and a decent sized fridge. The apartments have a small terrace with a fantastic view over Pedi Bay where you can get a breakfast or a drink. The rooms have air con but you have to pay locally to use it.
You can walk down to Pedi bay from the Taxiarchis in about 30 minutes, it's a bit of a drag back up hill but you can catch the bus which runs frequently until 11.00 p.m. and costs E1.50. There are 3 supermarkets close to the apartments and 2 bakers and a butcher in Chorio if you are self catering.
There are 5 restaurants in Chorio: Windmill, Zoe's, George and Marias, Sylligos and Olive Tree (which only opens during the day). There is a small Giros/Grill shop. There are a number of bars in Chorio. For a bigger selection you need to go down to the Harbour where you will be spoilt for choice. Half way between the two there is a restaurant called Herotomeni with fabulous views over the whole area and good food (ask for directions).
All in all the accommodation is very good - but not so good that I would have been prepared to pay the full rate for it.

Room Tip: Most rooms do not have natural shade (22 and 23 do) the others have umberellas. But rooms with shad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jongleurgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lovely place, far enough away from the crowds (!) of Symi to be peaceful and an easy walk down to the port, with an quick bus ride back up. Frank has GREAT restaurant recommendations in Chorio (do NOT miss these) and at the port, speaks flawless English and was incredibly helpful. Our apartment was clean, linens fresh, and perfectly set up for two moms and two daughters.

Would love to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PanamaSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nestles on the side of the hill that makes up the village of Chorio, all these rooms & apartments have spectacular views of the mountains and valley leading down to Pedi Bay.
The rooms were cleaned every day (except Sunday’s) and bedding / towels changed every other day.
It is family run & Frank, the owner, takes obvious pride in it & can’t do enough for you.
It’s a gentle uphill stroll to the quiet & charming bars & tavernas of Chorio. Or you can catch the bus into Symi Town – a flat rate of Euro 1.50 – it leaves Symi harbour on the hour & then returns from Pedi on the half hour.[The bus runs from Symi harbour, up to Chorio & then down to Pedi, & then does the journey back in reverse – its reliable & convenient & we recommend it – we used it all the time]
Or you can take the breath taking walk down the Kalistrata with its 19th century neo classical buildings & views over the harbour – there are 313 steps down from the apartments – so think twice before attempting to walk back up: its breath taking in another sense of the world!

Room Tip: try and get a room high up with a view over Pedi - some of the lower rooms have views a bit restrict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisnSue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Franco the owner & his family have a lovely small hotel & apartments. With his wife & daughter they make you most welcome. Our room with an upstairs bedroom was spotless, excellent bathroom & kitchen facilities. The view from the terrace was spectacular. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JambroLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Standard spacious studios made special by views down to Pedi Bay, WI FI, but particularly by attention of Frank and his family. Anything wrong Frank will fix it immediately and wife/daughters keep the studios immaculately clean and tidy - the best we have ever known. We'll be back!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bob3747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoyed very much our stay at Taxiarchis at the end of March 2013.
Very nice and clean apartment. Towels changed every day. Breathtaking view from the veranda and the porch. But most of all very friendly and warm people taking care of us and our needs.
Anne and Bo, Denmark

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AE-BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Symi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nireus
Hotel Nireus
#1 of 11 in Symi
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokona
Kokona
#1 of 2 in Gialos
54 reviews
0 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#7 of 11 in Symi
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiona
Hotel Fiona
#8 of 11 in Symi
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Odyssia Apartments
Odyssia Apartments
#2 of 11 in Symi
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opera House Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments

Address: 856 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Symi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Symi
Price Range: $71 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taxiarchis Hotel Symi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing