We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Perfect Experience"”
Review of The Old Markets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Markets
Ranked #3 of 18 Symi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Well what can I say!! I had never been to Symi before, but from the moment you get off the ferry the feel of this wonderful place hit's you.

We were fortunate enough to book a week at the Old Markets. Andrew & Carlo were waiting at the port side to carry our luggage to the hotel, and then offer us a welcome drink of champagne on the roof terrace, good start.

We stayed in the Ottoman room, which was exquisite with a bathroom that goes down a few stairs to this beautiful circular wet room, which is wonderfully lit.

You can not say enough about Andrew & Carlo they are just fantastic hosts, nothing is to much trouble for them, they really do make you feel at home and relaxed. We were also lucky enough to have one of Carlo's meals, please do not miss this experience, of dining on the roof terrace with a beautiful evening view of the port, the food & service 10/10.

They have built this place from old ruins and turned it into a masterpiece, the whole experience will be unforgettable. If your going to Symi and are lucky enough to get a booking at The Old Markets you will not be disappointed.

Fantastic.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Capelfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The Old Markets
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent four very comfortable nights at The Old Markets as part of our honeymoon. The hotel has been meticulously designed from the shell of an old market by Andy and Carlo and they have done an excellent job. We stayed in the Arabian Room which was small but perfectly styled. The bed was super comfortable with high thread count Egyptian cotton, the air conditioning was robust (once we figured out how to work it!) and the bathroom lovely. We did struggle a little with the toilet as it is not private however there are reasons for the design being the way it is as the hotel is a historical monument. One thing we would have liked is branded toiletries in the rooms. Not a big deal though in the scheme of things.

The roof top terrace at The Old Markets is stunning. Breakfast is served there and there is an Honesty Bar also which is great for pre dinner drinks or in our case, a few drunken G&Ts before bed time! The view out over the harbour is stunning and a lot of thought has been put into the furniture which is perfect for lounging around.

Andy and Carlo also make excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and they gave us some great tips on restaurants as well as guidance on beaches to visit etc. They also cook a mean breakfast and whilst we didnt take them up on the offer, we heard that Carlo does great dinners for guests on the terrace.

We'll definitely be back soon!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were lucky enough to have dinner (by arrangement only ) at The Old Markets Hotel. Lovingly restored with such attention to detail this hotel offers from its terrace the best view of Symi harbour. It is an oasis of calm with wide reclining areas, luxurious canopied sofas and a beautifully laid table with the music tailored to your own preferences. The service is attentive and personal without being intrusive and Andy and Carlos (the owners) make you very special for the evening. The food was exquisite, calmly served, and delicious. We were not staying but were given a tour of the five bedrooms......beautiful, tasteful.....everything so well thought out. Do ask to see the before and after pictures of the restoration....truly a labour of love!

Room Tip: Any.....they are all beautifu!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are fortunate enough to visit the alluring and colourful island of Symi make your visit even more memorable by staying at the unique and exquisite Old Markets. This luxurious, stylish and resplendent boutique hotel is perched on a hill that overlooks the magnificent town of Symi. We were overwhelmed with the attention to detail and perfect touches, following a painstaking restoration project of a derelict market house that was once the centre of life in this Greek town. The hotel has just 5 bedrooms, each one elegantly and sleekly themed (from Venice to Arabia) and with the staff looking after your every need and the other guests hardly in sight it feels like you are in a private villa with a household of staff! Carlo could not have been more hospitable and the whole team made an incredible effort for a special surprise treat - when my husband proposed to me on the terrace overlooking beautiful Symi! However, even if this magical moment had not happened we would still have fallen in love with this charming hotel. The breakfast was one of the highlights, it is served on the terrace overlooking the deep blue Agean sea and the colourful harbour with it’s pretty houses perched like dolls houses overlooking the hustle and bustle of the boats coming in and out. The delectable breakfast dishes are served with champagne and as you sit in your robe taking it all in you can not be anything but satisfied and content in this magical place. To add to the pleasure is the scent of lavendar. This sweet-smelling flower is dotted all around the Old Markets and the alluring scent only adds to the fairytale that is the Old Markets. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Venetian room which was so charming, next time we want to stay in the Symi suite wh...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBellaBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I'd not been to Symi before, but it is a fabulous place to completely relax and get away from it all.

The Old Markets have been restored with the same high level of detail that you receive from the hosts, Andy & Carlos

Wonderful hotel, accommodation and hospitality... can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked the old markets for a special celebration. the hotel was truly amazing from start to finish and this does not do any justice to how wonderful Andy and Karlos made the weekend. The hotel lends itself well for small groups which we had the place for exclusive hire. Andy helped arrange the add ons to the weekend such as a memorable boat tour around the island as soon as we arrived which instantly relaxed everyone and we felt like we had been away for days. first evening they did a delicious 3 course meal with maze and different wines to accompany each course. the food made by Karlos was excellent as was his breakfasts each morning. Andy hosted like you would at a friends house, nothing is to much trouble. Claire the housekeeper was great especially as she sorted my shirts out (you star). we had a challenge to get off the island as the boats that were leaving were the same time as our plane. this was no problem for the Old Markets as they arranged a speed boat for us very rock and roll and the perfect way to end a perfect weekend at the old markets. rooms immaculately clean and designed, food perfect and service 100% I would recommend it to anyone and certainly find a reason to go back.

Room Tip: if you can the Symi suite
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikeAwilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a review I am reluctant to write as I don't want The Old Markets on Symi to be booked up forever. Nonetheless, I have to give credit to owners Andy and Carlo. They have created a truly remarkable hotel in this stunning spot overlooking the harbour, having refurbished the historic building to an incredibly high standard. Photographs truly can't do the place justice. The decor and furnishings are of an extremely high standard. The exquisite ceiling in the Symi Suite (where we stayed) was painted by a Professor of Greek ceiling art. The sheets are pure cotton of the highest quality. The view from our room was spectacular. The breakfasts are delicious - we had an omelette that was so good we ordered it again the next day. The offer of champagne or Buck's Fizz at breakfast is a lovely touch. Everything about The Old Markets is luxurious in a wonderfully understated way. Andy and Carlo are great cooks and couldn't be more helpful. Symi itself is a very charming place, with plenty of fabulous restaurants to eat in if you fancy getting out and about. If the Old Markets hasn't already been visited by Sawdays and Conde Naste Traveller etc, it won't be long before it is listed alongside the best places to stay in the world.

Room Tip: The Symi Suite is absolutely stunning.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank accidentaltoorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Symi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nireus
Hotel Nireus
#2 of 11 in Symi
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#6 of 11 in Symi
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Opera House Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Odyssia Apartments
Odyssia Apartments
#1 of 11 in Symi
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#7 of 11 in Symi
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Markets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Markets

Address: Kali Strata, 856 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Symi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Symi
Price Range: $202 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A listed monument sensitively converted to provide exclusive accommodation as a Boutique Hotel which has recently been expanded into a neighbouring Mansion House. Just ten charming rooms and suites. Daily champagne breakfast, air-conditioning, power showers, luxury bed linen, honesty bar and stunning harbour views from a private terrace. Dinner available to guests utilising fresh local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Markets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing