We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian dinner, and that includes Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vaporetta

La Vaporetta
Ranked #32 of 60 Restaurants in Symi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Falmouth, Cape Cod
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Italian dinner, and that includes Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The food, the service, the place. We let Giorgio decide what we were going to have, and that was a wise decision!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karl_from_Flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    8
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We visited this restaurant while on a day trip to Symi. Our table was next to the harbour where little fishing boats were berthed we were looking for a light lunch so we had salads which came with fresh bread washed down with ice cold mythos, the appeal of this restaurant is its location with stunning views and in a quieter part of the harbour.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“reasonably good quality food but at a premium price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Italian food of reasonable good quality in a good location. I had pasta with a sauce and although the pasta was good i was hard pressed to find the sundried tomatoes and other things that were meant to be the sauce . There are much better value options in Symi, but ok if you have a hankering for Italian food

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiealison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The bst restaurant in Symi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Vaporetta restaurant is located in the most beautyfull part of Symi harbour, toward the see and fishing boats. Silence and sweat music create a good atmosphere together to an excellent food coocked according to an Italian influence because the restaurant is run by a Greek- Italian family. Starters, pasta, main, homemade desserts are high level food offered with an informal friendly service. Impossible to forget carpaccio of swordfish, spaghetti with lobster or with tomato fillet, “semifreddo” with pistachio and nougat. We have to remember also together with an important choice of Italian wines. The “limoncello” made by Carla the owner of the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overpriced cuisine in a very nice setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Dined once at Vaporetta during a week's holiday in Symi.
The restaurant's location is possibly the best on the island, right on the water's edge in the quieter part of Symi harbour, with beautiful views over the bay and the village. The place is run by an italian family and service is as you would expect very cordial and informal, even if they look a bit over stressed and not well organized: plates do not arrive at the same time, cutlery and dishes are not changed promptly, etc.
We had 2 different pastas, both very bland and inconsistent, and a nice dessert. With only water to drink, the end bill was 74€ for 2 ppl.
Not exactly cheap, which we of course knew before going: however for such prices we expected definitely a better experience and, especially, better food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bersaglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vaporetta also viewed

 
Symi, Dodecanese
 

Been to La Vaporetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing