We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place”
Review of Ancient Kamiros

Ancient Kamiros
Ranked #19 of 249 things to do in Rhodes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built around the 7th century B.C., this ancient city of Rhodes contains the remains of an advanced civilization that is dated nearly 3,000 years old.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I loved this site - it is a wonderful place where it is possible to imagine what it must have been like to live in an ancient city. The walk around the ruined town is easy but it can be very hot in the summer as there is little shade and no real 'facilities' as such, just a drinks vending machine.
An absolute must for anyone interested in the past.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank grace297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    241
    57
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best ancient site in Greece”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I can't believe this place doesn't come higher on the ratings for Rhodes. It is way better than Knossos on Crete (which has been spoilt by silly reconstructions) - here you have a whole valley laid out with houses and doric temples, the agora, the bath houses, shops, the water tank - you get a feel for the whole community. The place wasn't flooded by tourists, the views are spectacular and you get a feel for what life might have been like, which is very rare indeed in these places. Really the best thing on the island - though you have to see the old town of Rhodes of course. Do not miss this one, but take some time here and let your imagination do the rest. Brilliant!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Like being back in Ancient times”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a must do in Rhodes. You get to experience a little of what it's like to be living in an Ancient Greek city and there's amazing photos and views here. Walking around the city. A wonderful idylic place to be.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HellasHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

you can touch old history and imagine how people lived there
but toooo hot, not enough toilets and water, no shadow - not for small kids and elderly people

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank masha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stumbled upon the site by accident as we were touring around Rhodes island, and we were so pleased that we did!

So atmospheric, we were in awe of the architecture of it's time - dating back to when the city was re-built after an eartquake in 3 c. BC. The site is beautifully preserved and has some breathtaking views from the Temple of the Gods over the Aegean Sea. We snapped loads of photographs and would have loved to have stayed longer, but for the burning sun and the lack of hats we had taken.

For us, the site was better than the Acropolis in Lindos. It is certainly a must-see for anyone visiting the island who has an interest in ancient and classical civilisations.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank emmylooweez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Kamiros also viewed

 

Been to Ancient Kamiros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing