We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agios Pandeleimonas

Agios Pandeleimonas
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Tilos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 15th-century monastery was built in honor of the patron saint of Tilos.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Must see !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Beautiful little monistary up in the mountains. If you're in Tilos you should spend two hours and check it out. Very calming to sit in the shades of the big trees watching the view.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bodil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A quiet retreat in the mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We hired a scooter for a couple of days and as we'd visited Tilos a few times wanted to explore somewhere new. We decided to visit the monastery and then have a dip at Plaka beach. My husband usually drives & I pillion. Unfortunately I'm not brilliant with heights - I cope with most of the high mountainous roads but the road up to the monastery was quite steep. We ended up walking the last 30 mins or so. Its quite a small place shaded by trees with a fresh spring running into a cistern. You can buy drinks and sit at a table. Its all very pretty. toilets are basic but adequate. There is a CD playing with recorded music which is very atmospheric as you go into the small Church. Well worth a visit. I think you can stay there if you book - rooms are vv basic though!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sooty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent landscape, excellent view and very welocoming monastery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

While the whole island is a wasteland, this exact place has thick vegetation and a natural fountain. The monastery is about 500 years old and it has its own history, that the abbot will gladly tell you. You will have a panoramic view to the sea and the opportunity to spend a night to the dormitory, if you want to. Beautiful place.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

i liked it a lot because of its originallity! the view was fantastic!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank FILIPPOS96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice monastery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

One of the most attractive religious sights that someone can encounter. The way there is a bit steep but its worth it.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy50940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agios Pandeleimonas also viewed

 
Kastro, Elis Region
 

Been to Agios Pandeleimonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing