We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
69
27
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
27
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgyrostoastiesthe ownerfantastic stayagia marinaorange treespoolside barswimming poola family run hotelhotel stafffew minutes walkon arrivalrooms are spaciousrecommend this hotelnancybakerysupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 99 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Charming hotel, friendly helpful staff (& owners), ideal for relaxing holiday on one of the less touristy Greek islands. Reasonable walks, close to various beaches & a choice of restaurants nearby. Hotel has own beautiful gardens, a large swimming pool with sunbeds, parasols & a bar (with no thumping music) which also serves tasty snacks. Good breakfast on a shady terrace

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NerjaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Just returned from 3 week trip to Greece and spent 3 nights in Leros at Hotel Marilen. Fabulous hotel - spacious, spotless, great pool area too. Demetri and Nancy (owners) as well as other hotel staff treated us like family. They secured a rental car for us that was brought directly to the hotel. The suite had 4 rooms - 2 sleeping rooms, one bathroom, and separate small kitchen and was very affordable. Included breakfast. Our teenagers, 16 & 15, loved it too. Would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleniZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I stayed more than three weeks in a studio apartment at Marilen in May-June 2008 and enjoyed it very much. It is a nice hotel on a peaceful location, but close to taverns and cafés and the beach of lively Alinda village.
Everything worked well and clean rooms vere spacious and comfortable with mosquito nets on windows and balcony doors (no bugs!). I loved the shady wide balcony with a beautiful view over the pool area and fruit and olive gardens to the Gourna bay, which is not far either. (I recommend a sunset dinner in the cosy Greek fish tavern in Gourna!)
The nearest beach is in Alinda (I could see the Alinda bay from my bathroom window), but I preferred the sandy beach of Gourna. Also the pool area surrounded by the blooming garden was a good option (free sunbeds and a bar!).
It was comfortable to walk anywhere also in the evenings, because all the bigger streets had street lights. Because of Marilen's central location, I made many walking tours to other villages (lovely views from the nearby hills).
I would not hesitate to come back to Marilen!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simpukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We have just returned from 2 weeks on the island of Leros.

This is not the first nor the last time we will visit the island and hotel Marilen.

From the moment you book into reception you are greeted with a friendly and professional service. The studios and apartments are of a high standard set in pleasant gardens around a good sized pool with bar.

Marilen is a family run hotel, where the family take a pride in providing an excellent service. They really are interested in where you are going for the day/evening and are more than willing to arrange taxis, give suggestions of what to see and where to eat.

The location of the hotel is excellent, being on a slight ridge between the bays/beaches of Alinda and Gurna. Alinda is 5-10 min walk with Gurna only taking 15-20min.

Just around the corner from the hotel you will find a local mini-market as well as a bakery. Fresh honey soaked sweet pastries and chilled retsina looking out over Gurna bay !

Enjoy !

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Snoopy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We chose this hotel based on the reviews it had received on Trip Advisor - it was a great choice. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 weeks in May - the rooms were really spacious, with a good sized bathroom and kitchen. The balcony was a great size for 4 people with handy washing line (invaluable when you have two kids!). Our children (aged 7 and 8) loved the swimming pool and surroundings, and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were cleaned every day (except Sunday) and we were given ample clean towels, more than we could use! We decided to have breakfast included so that we had one less meal to worry about - there was more than enough to keep the hungar pangs away until well into the afternoon, and it was always fresh and well presented.

I would thoroughly recommend the Marilen, the views from our balcony were lovely, we looked out onto green trees and Gourna bay in the distance. If you like to get away from all things British then this is definitely the Greek Island for you. The local people were really friendly and they were very kind to the children. We stayed one day in Kos on the way back and it was only then that we realised just how unspoilt Leros is, I just hope it stays that way.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews