We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - highly recommend”
Review of Marilen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marilen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Leros
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome - highly recommend”
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Just returned from 3 week trip to Greece and spent 3 nights in Leros at Hotel Marilen. Fabulous hotel - spacious, spotless, great pool area too. Demetri and Nancy (owners) as well as other hotel staff treated us like family. They secured a rental car for us that was brought directly to the hotel. The suite had 4 rooms - 2 sleeping rooms, one bathroom, and separate small kitchen and was very affordable. Included breakfast. Our teenagers, 16 & 15, loved it too. Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleniZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
38
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I stayed more than three weeks in a studio apartment at Marilen in May-June 2008 and enjoyed it very much. It is a nice hotel on a peaceful location, but close to taverns and cafés and the beach of lively Alinda village.
Everything worked well and clean rooms vere spacious and comfortable with mosquito nets on windows and balcony doors (no bugs!). I loved the shady wide balcony with a beautiful view over the pool area and fruit and olive gardens to the Gourna bay, which is not far either. (I recommend a sunset dinner in the cosy Greek fish tavern in Gourna!)
The nearest beach is in Alinda (I could see the Alinda bay from my bathroom window), but I preferred the sandy beach of Gourna. Also the pool area surrounded by the blooming garden was a good option (free sunbeds and a bar!).
It was comfortable to walk anywhere also in the evenings, because all the bigger streets had street lights. Because of Marilen's central location, I made many walking tours to other villages (lovely views from the nearby hills).
I would not hesitate to come back to Marilen!

  • Liked — location, view, spacious room and balcony
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We have just returned from 2 weeks on the island of Leros.

This is not the first nor the last time we will visit the island and hotel Marilen.

From the moment you book into reception you are greeted with a friendly and professional service. The studios and apartments are of a high standard set in pleasant gardens around a good sized pool with bar.

Marilen is a family run hotel, where the family take a pride in providing an excellent service. They really are interested in where you are going for the day/evening and are more than willing to arrange taxis, give suggestions of what to see and where to eat.

The location of the hotel is excellent, being on a slight ridge between the bays/beaches of Alinda and Gurna. Alinda is 5-10 min walk with Gurna only taking 15-20min.

Just around the corner from the hotel you will find a local mini-market as well as a bakery. Fresh honey soaked sweet pastries and chilled retsina looking out over Gurna bay !

Enjoy !

  • Liked — Professional friendly service
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We chose this hotel based on the reviews it had received on Trip Advisor - it was a great choice. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 weeks in May - the rooms were really spacious, with a good sized bathroom and kitchen. The balcony was a great size for 4 people with handy washing line (invaluable when you have two kids!). Our children (aged 7 and 8) loved the swimming pool and surroundings, and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were cleaned every day (except Sunday) and we were given ample clean towels, more than we could use! We decided to have breakfast included so that we had one less meal to worry about - there was more than enough to keep the hungar pangs away until well into the afternoon, and it was always fresh and well presented.

I would thoroughly recommend the Marilen, the views from our balcony were lovely, we looked out onto green trees and Gourna bay in the distance. If you like to get away from all things British then this is definitely the Greek Island for you. The local people were really friendly and they were very kind to the children. We stayed one day in Kos on the way back and it was only then that we realised just how unspoilt Leros is, I just hope it stays that way.

  • Liked — The spacious rooms and balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

My wife and I spent a week late in July on this wonderful property. Our room was a corner suite with plenty of light and a nice breeze that made use of ac unnecessary even during hot summer days (although the suite is equipped with two large ac units). The suite was one of the largest we've ever experienced in greek islands and very reasonably priced. It had nice views toward the sea and a home-grown olive grove. The fully equipped kitchen comes in handy. The location of the hotel is also a plus. While not directly on the beach, it's a short walk from two major beaches on the island and a nice 20-30 minute walk to Agia Marina. The hotel owners, a nice Greek-American couple (both engineers), are exceptionally kind and helpful. This is a hotel well above its official class (with the exception of breakfast) and highly recommended for a week of peaceful holidays on the beautiful island of Leros.

  • Liked — Excellent location/accomodation
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Fly, rather than take the boat, from Leros to Athens
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Psipsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanmore,Middlesex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2006

Whilst out walking on our first trip to Leros we passed the Marilen and were immediately taken by this lovely place. A beautiful pool in colourful well tended gardens and with lovely views over lemon groves to the bay,we thought how nice it would be to stay there. A couple of years later we did stay there and have returned every year,sometimes twice a year for the last ten years and we have not been disappointed.
The owners Nancy and Dimitrios and their family are the nicest people that one could wish to meet and do their utmost to ensure that your holiday is relaxed and enjoyable. Whilst leaving one to enjoy oneself,they are always on hand should anything crop up no matter what time of the day or night.
The studios and appartments are light, airy, tastefully furnished and are kept spotlessly clean.
There is a nice pool bar where many a friendship has been forged whilst enjoying a sundowner.
Tavernas and supermarkets are a five minute stroll away.
It is an ideal place for couples,singles and families alike and we would not hesitate to recommend it,a perfect place to recharge ones batteries.

Helpful?
4 Thank 128heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 1, 2006

My wife and I found this piece of heaven a few years ago. We have revisited it annually for the past 5 years. Having travelled to many Greek islands and enjoyed every one we were delighted to come across this absolute jewel of a place. The owner Demetrios, his wonderful wife Nancy and their beautiful daughters are the perfect hosts to stay with. People visiting are made to feel more like friends of the family than paying guests.
Situated in the narowest part of the island about 400 metres from Alinda bay which has enough local taverns to eat in a different one each night. The food is excellent and very cheap. Gournas bay is about a mile away on the other side of the island. This beach is quieter and has only a couple of eating places.
The accommadation is of an excellent standard and mostly air conditioned. Daily cleaning of the rooms by friendly local ladies and towel changes occur. Linen changes are about three times per week.
The centrepiece of the complex has a pool and childs pool, bar and patio area with sun loungers and parasols. Between the pool and the apartments are lovely garden areas with lawns, roses and lots of other blooms giving it a colourful look. The pool is spotless and is cleaned daily.
On our visits we have always met friendly guests which obviosly adds to the enjoyment. Anyone looking for a quiet relaxing holiday on a beautiful greek island with a friendly atmosphere and lots of sun should give this a try, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leros hotels
0.7 mi away
Crithoni's Paradise Hotel
0.5 mi away
Alinda Hotel
Alinda Hotel
#3 of 13 in Leros
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alea Mare Hotel
Alea Mare Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alinda
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tony's Beach Studios
Tony's Beach Studios
#1 of 13 in Leros
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irene
Hotel Irene
#12 of 13 in Leros
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Efstathia Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marilen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marilen Hotel

Property: Marilen Hotel
Address: Alinda, 854 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Leros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Leros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marilen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marilen is located a short distance from one of the largest and most frequented beaches on Leros. Here you can enjoy unforgettable holidays, with lovely views, in a friendly environment with people ready and available to be of service. Enjoy the sun with refreshing drinks from our pool snack bar while enjoying the lovely garden by the stone terraced swimming pool! While we offer the full services of a hotel including reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com and Hotwire so you can book your Marilen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marilen Hotel léros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing