We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but that's it.”
Review of Kosta Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kosta Palace
Ranked #62 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Says that it's a 4 star hotel but more like 2 star. Our room had paint peeling off the walls, tiles missing in the bathroom, the toilet didn't flush properly and it stank of fish!
The breakfast was terrible - no hot items left at 9am despite the fact breakfast is on until 9.30.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fskelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 611 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed at Kosta Palace Hotel in Kos for last week in September and thought it was great. Room was very clean, nice hot shower, balcony with harbour view, pool area was clean and quiet, breakfasts nice and friendly staff. Great value (we paid £170 B&B for an apartment for a week) and we had a great time. Couldn't get more central, we watched the boats come into the harbour from the pool, and only a few minutes walk from beaches, bars, restaurants etc. Would really recommend for a slightly off season break!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBplusPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We have been to Kos many times and got married there in Sept 2000 so went back for our anniversary. We were put in dark dank room which was unaccepatable then moved. The room we were then given was ok but I lived out of a suitcase as ther was no drawer space only a hanging wardrobe.In a hotel of this calibre I would have expected tea/coffee making facilities in the room especially as the water in the dining room was cold (if you could get a cup) The bathroom was not much better mould all around the bath and again no shelf to put anything on only the brackets and a shower curtain would have stopped everywhere getting so wet! We had booked bed and breakfast but it was like a scrum one poor girl was trying to fill the buffet and clear tables. There was never a glass, cup or bowl to be had without a long wait. We went down at different times and it was always the same.The way it was layed out left a lot to be desired. The swimming pool was filthy, they started to drain it and we thought it would be cleaned but no, the water was clearer but the scum and green slime was still there. The pool area and snack bar was lovely overlooking the harbour but because of staff shortages this was closed half way through our holiday.For a hotel in such a prestige position it was very disappointing. For very little effort and cost it could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrsl428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The hotel has an excellent location in Kos Town, just next to the harbor, which makes easy the daily trips to islands or to Bodrum (Turkey) and a few meters to the beach (as you get out from the hotel just turn to the left) where you can find some original Greek tavernas at two-three meters away from the sea water.

The room (at least mine - # 54) was actually a small apartment consisting of two very spacious rooms, a common large balcony, a small American style kitchen and a bathroom. Although I didn’t ask/pay for an apartment, it seems the hotels has rooms of this size.

Room was quite decent, quite clean, but the bathroom does need certain improvements. The floor is paved with the sand stone – I believe this is the reason for a smooth cleaning process, as being very closed to the beach you can bring some sand inside – I recommend warring slippers.

The breakfast is of Swedish type, same food every morning but you can combine it somehow, so that not to complain yourself of gastronomical monotony – there’s a small military building next to the hotel, so every morning you can enjoy your breakfast on the terrace watching the ceremony of raising the flag.

The reception guys were quite ok, very polite, trying to help you with any advice you’d need, but in the local way of trying to convince you – i.e. when asked to rent a car I was told that will have a special price and on top of that I’ll get the car even from that evening for free until next morning when the time was supposing to start to be counted – in fact, the final price was the price list and the timing elapsed from the moment I got it (in the evening) and not from the next morning – so do not let yourself too much impressed by these types of kindnesses, but… that’s marketing! :O)

All in all, I do recommend this hotel mainly for its excellent location, as Kos Town is the main island’s place where the tone in giving from for all activities (lots of restaurants and bars, night life, daily trips, archeological sites, etc).

Enjoy Kos! And do rent a car to explore this magnificent island!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristi_Ionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Stayed at the Kosta Palace for a couple of nights en route back to the UK after visiting several other islands, booking through Expedia. The hotel is in a really great location overlooking the bustling harbour and walking distance from most of what Kos Town has to offer which is a lot - extremely photogenic, plenty of shops and bars and knee deep in history. We had one of the rooms with side views of the harbour looking towards the Army building, not a problem and all rather interesting! The room we had was nicely appointed and clean. The buffet breakfasts are perfectly adequate. There is a swimming pool and roof garden if you like that sort of thing but we didn't use the pool and only ventured onto the roof for the view which is great. For what we paid we found this hotel very good value for money compared to anything in the UK with even a hint of a watery view for which hoteliers usually charge supplements. If you want a nice comfortable place to stay in a great location in Kos Town then you could do a lot worse. Just remember that 4* Greek is not the same as 4* UK, more like 3*

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehippohaslanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed in Kosta for ten days and I can say that this hotel is absolutely adorable. Staff is great, location is perfect - near the beach and in the same time near the historyc centre of Kos, rooms very spacious and clean. And the view from the terrace - stunning. I will certainly go back this year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojanajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I stayed here with a friend - we're both in our twenties - just before the start of the main tourist season and we were quite happy. Most people staying here seemed to be on a package holiday (we did a DIY hol) and are a lot older or families.

The hotel is the usual standard for Greek hotels, they upgraded us a to a self-catering apartment for free because it wasn't busy which was nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was nice and if you're early you can get an outdoor table and eat overlooking the harbour.

There's free Wifi in the reception. This was a great location for being able to walk into town for a night out and walk home safely afterwards in the early hours of the morning. Alternatively, turn left for a nice beach and some beachside restaurants.

Upside:
- The stunning view of the harbour
- Fantastic location.
- Quiet so you'll sleep peacefully

Downsides:
- The pool is on the roof and has great views but the pool itself is very small and a little scuzzy. We went to the beach instead and swam in the clear sea.
- Our balcony overlooked an army building. We enjoyed the view of the soldiers, but not the 8am bugle every morning! And on Sunday they had an 8am marching band to wake us up!
- The hairdryer in the bathroom had loose wires which were taped up, which was obviously dangerous.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos hotels
0.1 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#19 of 48 in Kos Town
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#89 of 219 in Kos
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#31 of 48 in Kos Town
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kos Junior Suites
Kos Junior Suites
#21 of 48 in Kos Town
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosta Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosta Palace

Address: A Kountourioti & Averof Sts, 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kos
Price Range: $33 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kosta Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kosta Palace is built in 2001, in the center of Kos Town, overlooking the breathtaking harbour with its 13th century medieval castle & the unique view of the traditional wooden ships anchoring there. It consists of 165 Rooms, which are equipped with A/C, Kitchenette, TV, coffee machine and music. Its ideal position and luxurious construction make it one the best Hotels for businessmen and holidaymakers of the island, since its open 12 months a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kosta Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosta Palace kós
Kosta Palace Hotel kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing