We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Paso

El Paso
Ranked #468 of 523 Restaurants in Kos
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: Mexican, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Paso is a truly original and unique Mexican restaurant and Steak House. Siuated just behind the park at the harbour, this true Mexican style restaurant has much more to offer than just the best tequila, steaks and Mexican food in town. This year celebrating 23 years in the business, it goes without saying that the ambiance and quality of food has been trusted by loyal customers for many years! Serving an extensive range of Mexican food such as Quessadillas, Nachos, Fajitas, Tacos, Chilli Con Carne and of course Burritos, you'll not know what to order first! Choose from mild to spicy dishes or go for a giant steak prepared to your taste. With plenty of exciting starters, main courses and desserts to choose from, one thing for sure is that you'll definitely leave feeling satisfied. In true Mexcian style, El Paso also serves specially selected tequilas to wash your meal down with including the infamous Mezcal tequila with the worm! Being the only place on the island with this speciality tequila, it is well worth trying it or getting a bottle just for the fun of it. If tequila doesn't do it for you then there are also plenty of speciality and signatures cocktails, wines and other drinks to choose from such as Mojitos. So, head down to El Paso to dress up like a Mexican and enjoy the food, entertainment, music, cocktails and overall ambiance for a once in a lifetime Mexican experience.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great food, fantastic atmosphere and friendly, efficient staff. What more could you want? Catered very well for our large family group.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    24
    12
    17
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fabulous night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from an excellent holiday on the island. We had an excellent trip and found the el paso on a recommendation of a friend. The atmosphere was wonderful and the service second to none. My steak was also very well cooked indeed. Looking forward to our next trip and we will definatley visit again

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drjohn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and à wonderfull location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had burritos and à Caesar salad.
And it tasted delicious!
The waiters where very friendly and funny.
And the location of the restaurant is very nice!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Estherc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Give this a pass”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Out of a group of eight people there was only one happy with his meal (sirloin, I think). The appetisers were nothing special, the main courses ended up being mostly chewy or in my case extremely bland and tasteless. I tried the ribs and how they managed to do this to ribs is beyond me. The staff was difficult to communicate with in any language and rather annoying at times with the whole "Mexican atmosphere" they were trying to create. Would have been forgiven if the food hadn't been so bad and the one waitress was actually totally adorable but overall I would not recommend this place at all. There are many excellent options for dining in Kos town if you want to eat something other than typical Greek taverna food. Give this one a pass.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank p_yanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George F, Public Relations Manager at El Paso, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.

We are very sorry for the wait you experienced. As I said to others the high season was really hard on us.
We take reviews very seriously aiming to be better at both customer service and quality of food.We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
If you come back to our restaurant I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worse place in kos town”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Havibg tried many restaurants in kos town we decided to try the Mexican El-Paso set back off the main strip, food was awful, ribs had no meat on them and were €16 my wife had fajita wraps €19 disgusted she got two and it was all onions service was rubbish coca cola €3 for a little glass bottle avoid at all cost.

Helpful?
1 Thank para4892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George F, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at El Paso, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property/business. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
If you come back to our restaurant I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing