We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
328
219
88
38
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
219
88
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagic lifeentertainment teammain poolmain restaurantpool bartapas styleaqua fitnessgreek tavernaa la carte restaurantsexercise classessporting activitiesenglish kidskos towngerman guestsfree safeteens clubevening shows
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 694 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Don’t get me wrong, we were looking for a total-relax vacation for the two of us and our 1 year old girl, and we found it: pools and gardens are really amazing and the weather helps a lot. But when it comes to service level, this hotel simply does not deserve 5 stars, but two or barely three. Details follow.
Room and bathroom: dust everywhere, and ants invaded our clothes. Service lady entered twice without knocking (once from the balcony door!) both times getting us naked while having a nap! Bed sheets are too short for the bed size, so you always end up sleeping directly on the mattress. And about room facilities: there is no coffee machine, no pay tv (and the tv itself is some 10 years old), no internet…
Public areas: cleanness is ok in the lobby but not by the pool. We had to ask to have somebody cleaning from the leaves and olives that dropped from trees and even after asking they cleaned only 2 days out of 7 that we stayed. Nobody ever cleaned the floor between the room balcony and the pool, and we even saw a nice family of 6 mice in the bush by the poolside (which was 3 meters from our room).
Bar and restaurant: “all inclusive” can easily be read “nothing inclusive”. Only local drinks are included (to be clear, you cannot get a “Fanta” or “Sprite” but only the local version), tap water (if you want a bottle you pay), and American coffee (if you want espresso you pay). Snacks are bottom quality and served only from 4 to 5 pm (unless you pay). Food in the main restaurant is always the same, often recycled from lunch to dinner and even from day to day. Really, this is barely a canteen, nothing close to what you would expect from a buffet restaurant of a 5 stars hotel. Staff is slow also because they cannot bring a bottle of water to the table (unless you pay), so they bring you a glass at a time… you better ask for the second glass before starting drinking the first if you want a chance to have it when you need it!
Reception (and staff in general): they are usually friendly but can easily be very rude. A couple of real answers we heard from mrs Ang*** at the reception: “I already told you to ask me again tomorrow, there is no point asking today” (while asking for availability for room extension), “don’t ask me, if the fax arrive I will tell you” (while waiting for a fax at the reception). The last day we overpaid to keep the room up to 6 p.m. At 6 we were ready to leave but as our kid was sleeping we decided to wait until the cleaning staff would have arrived to prepare the room for the next guest. At 7 p.m. we got a telephone call from mrs Eug**** from the reception that told us: “why are you in the room?” (without even introducing herself or saying hello); my wife explained “The girl was sleeping so we stayed here waiting for the cleaning staff to arrive” and got the following answer: “but you were supposed to leave at 6, you cannot stay in the room anymore so please leave” and hanged up before any answer. I’ll let you judge if this is a 5 star service…

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

very nice staff, nice building and fine sand on the beach

Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank MN303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We spent our holiday from 07th till 18th August in “Marmari Palace”.

First of all, this is not bad hotel at all but it is not 5 star hotels in expected way. It’s nice 4 * hotel, very good for Greece standards, probably.
First, the good things:
1. Great food, really good and very tasty.
2. Pools- big, clean and lot of them for all swim levels and preferences.
3. Garden- perfect for the climate of the Kos island, very well maintained, I enjoy every look at it.
4. Stuff- boys and girls from Eastern Europe working in dinning room, bars and hotel tavern. Well, maybe their English is not perfect but they are always kind enough and working reeaaaallllyyy hard whole day in this big and top full hotel. Thumbs up for them, I didn’t remember all the names, but Martin, Tudor, Norbert, Julia….
5. Hotel is on the beach
6. Bus station is in the front of hotel
7. Whole concept of the hotel is nicely planed. Main building, then pools with lazy rivers in center with small room blocks by the side of it and exit to the beach and the see at the end.
“Bad” things are not bad really, but they are that something that is missing.
It is my personal opinion but I don’t like design of the room. It’s like office furniture in kind of, grey and blue painted room. Our room had strange discoloration and mould smell and we finally find out that there was some wet part of the wall behind my bed.
Reception stuff-they were kind and polite enough, but finally not very efficient.
Example 1
We were HB. Most of the other guests are AI. Ok, no problem, that was our choice. We decide to visit Nisiros, volcano island. Bus had to come and pick up us at 6:40 in the morning. Breakfast starts at the 7:00. Day before (like it was written in the list of the rules that we got on our arrival to the hotel) we went to the reception and asked for “breakfast basket” for 2 persons. Answer was that we can’t get “meal basket” because we are not AI?!? We start to explained to the receptionist (David, I believe was his name) that we don’t ask for whole day meal, just our breakfast that we have paid for anyway. The answer was no.
We decide to talk with other receptionist in the afternoon shift. Girls find out “Solomon solution”: we can’t get our meal basket but at 6:10 coffee and some cookies will be waiting for us at the reception desk?!? We don’t have our breakfast at 6 o ‘clock, I don’t drink coffee early in the morning and we certainly don’t eat cookies at this time of day! This is completely lack of 5* behavior, cos in 5* hotel you don’t have to ask for something you have paid anyway, but you have to get that and even be asked is there anything more they can do for you! And a couple of sandwiches & 2 apples were all we were expecting.
Example 2
We arranged late check out for our last day. 30 Euros more, but 4 hours of swimming more! We returned to our room at 14:00 and find out we can’t get in . All wet, in swimming shorts , my husband went to reception. He found out that they forget to prolong our ID card/key! On the day before, when we talked with receptionist about this ,we were only one with her , so she had plenty of time to deal with it, but obviously ….
Finally, my husband’s towel was stolen at the beach by the elderly Italian guy! To be honest , this is not hotel responsibility, cos they charge sun beads from 9:00 till 19:00 and I put our towels around 8:30 like many others, after morning walk by the see, and yes, unfortunately the towel is same color like hotel towels, and neither one of us can’t be 100% sure was it our towel or not, at that moment. We were 99% sure but because of 1 % and the age of that Italian guy…He claimed it was his. But finally, when we arrived home and check out with other one towel off different color only, we were 100% certain that old Italian guy (Flavio Briatore type) is really thief. This happened on MH b’day and of course, completely ruined whole day.
So, be aware! If you still in this hotel and “Flavio” is probably still there, hold you towels close to you.
That is my opinion and I think that human factor is that missing link in whole story about this hotel. If stuff understand guests like people similar to them and respect them and their money, you can always count * more in hotel category. I’m not sure this is case here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MishaBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Marmari palace is located outside Marmari, between Marmari and Mastichari. In the direct neighboorhoud, there is two other hotels, a rentalplace, a restaurant, a mini supermarket and a waterpark. The hotel is located directly at the sea.
The hotel has a beautifull poolside, with about 11 pools (including childrens pools with diverse depts). The garden is beautifull, you can walked the path downworths or take the stairs that lead you down. At the lowest swimmingpool you can leave the hotel and walk directly to the beach!
As we travelled in september, there was no reservation with the sunbeds at the swimmingpools!!!
The hotel has a main building and several bungalow-buildings at the hotel-ground. We stayed in a bungalow-room. The rooms are nice, bath-room also okay. Everyday supplied with shampoo, shower and bodylotion.
We didn't like the staff at the restaurant. There are many nationalities among the staff, they don't understand each other, they don't understand the guests. There were a few nice people, but overall they were not so friendly.
We didn't really like the food at the evenings, meals were cold and the quality to us was not very high. Desserts were lovely!
Breakfast is okay, with plenty of choice, but it stayed exactly the same for two weeks. But with the variety there was, you could choice something different every day.
During the day and in the evenings there is entertainment. During the day; sports and games, in the evenings shows. The shows performed by the staff of the hotel were poorly.

Overall, lovely hotel, very nicely constructed garden and pool areas.
Staff not all friendly (but that doesn't ruin your vacation, does it?), diners not all good, every day, but your tast might vary...

Kos is a very nice island.
We made a islandtour by scooter, by quad ánd by buggy. You can rent it all rental places witch are located at the other side of the road from the main entrance of the hotel.
There is also a busstop at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saskia-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

The worst all inclusive I have come accoss. Only wine, ouzo and beer, plus soft drinks. Ice-cream and cakes for one hour each afternoon - but as they are served near the main building, chances are you won't bother. Could'nt believe we had to pay for beech sun-loungers! The pools are really good, and lots of them. We stayed in the newest and the room was great and very clean. People in the older blocks were complaining how small they were.

While we were out by the pool one day the pool boiler (under one block of rooms) set on fire, this was a new block (some 3 months old), and the fire alarms were not yet connected. It made us not feel very secure after this. The bar man put the fire out, and after 30 minutes the fire brigade arrived in an antique fire truck! No management in the hotel - it was siesta time!

The food is plentiful and varied. Chips as an option with all meals! At lunch time lots of pasta dishes are served (and chips). Sometimes fresh fruit plates are dished out round the pools, which is a nice touch.

The kids club is a stitch up. Half the time it does'nt run and when we went they had only one pack of felt pens which had been in use since the start of the season. The staff in the club were great people, but the hotel gave them no resources. Evening entertainment was great.

If you go, then book half board, and stay in the new block.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phantom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews