We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica
Ranked #28 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel did not match the impression given by Secret Escapes.
It is more of a mid 4 star.
Cleanliness:- Very clean and most of the staff very helpful and friendly. (one or two must have had a very long season).

Food:- Great salads and soup, the rest seemed very repetitive and never hot. Fish always dried out and any meat came in a sauce, nothing cooked to order.

Accommodation:- The junior suite was spacious and had a great view. No kettle which is still the usual when in Europe. Comfortable and quiet, only one English speaking channel on TV. Everything in fridge has to be paid for.

All Inclusive:- The word "All" is totally misunderstood. If you like a cocktail before dinner or a G & T after then go elsewhere. Ouzo and cooking Brandy are the only spirits and only one word could cover all the wine..... "Gopping". The beer is palatable but I suspect it to be very weak. The "all inclusive" made us feel a bit "ripped off"

No shortage of sunbeds (it was October) and with six pools to choose from there is something for everybody.

Nice clean beach area but sunbeds had to be paid for.

My tips would be:- Take a travel kettle or ask reception for one.(limited).
Do not go "All inclusive" (lovely little friendly taverna about 150yds from entrance).
Use the local busses, we had a lovely trip to Kalymnos on a ferry from the village with a bus trip round the Island.
Dump everything out of the fridge and buy your own.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the beach, there is also a pool bar very close.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pete50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 601 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a very nice hotel badly let down by the 5 star rating. Its not a 5 star hotel it is in my opinion a good 3 star or average 4 star, but you pay for 5 star and are let down by quality of food and choice of food.Its never very hot but if you like chips they are served at all mealtimes(including breakfast) all meals are buffet style and no fresh cooked stations like alot of hotels not even an omellete for breakfast. The orange juice and other juices are not juice just squash, i thought we would have fresh juice in a 5 star hotel.We should have got a junior suite with sea view and a list of extra stuff that comes with the suites, we got a larger than average room with a couple of sofas no tea or coffee not even a kettle a mini bar but had to pay for everything including water in it. The satalite tv has 1 english channel and that is world news, plenty of german channels. As for the dvd player cd player and other luxuries you get with a suite these were not to be found. The sea view if you looked between 2 other buildings you could see the sea but not what i would call a proper sea view. We did complain but staff do not respond well to complaints.Beware all inclusive package only includes wine, beer, ouzo and some horrible brandy and soft drinks, if you want anything else its extra and after 11pm you have to pay for all drinks including cofee ,its around 5-8 euros for spirits 3 euros for a beer or wine and no bottled water is free.There is a smell of sewerage most days around the pools, there is no pool service also unusual for a 5 star hotel.Staff were generaly helpful and friendly unless you complain then their english worsens and they cant understand you.There is a customer service desk but do not speak english.The pools and gardens are amazing, lots of sun beds to sum up if i had paid for a 3 star hotel with a delux room i would have been happy but i paid for a luxury!! 5 star hotel with junior suite and all inclusive and was very disapointed.I booked through Secret Escapes so beware its not as good as they make out and not the luxury bargain they sell it as.I rated it poor due to it being sold as 5 star and 5 star prices

Room Tip: If you pay for suite beware there definition is different to mine
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cazchrisMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having read some of the previous mixed reviews I was a bit worried about what I would find but was pleasantly surprised. Our Junior Suite was spacious and close to the main building. The balcony was a good size and overlooked the pool and had great views of the sea and surrounding countryside. However, the bathroom fittings could have done with some updating as there was rust around the plug holes and screws in the sink and the shower tended to spray the floor as the shower screen didn't fit properly.
The grounds were well kept and there were many beautiful flowers and trees. The water flowing from the various pools was very attractive.
The main restaurant had a good choice of food although the hot dishes were very often only warm. There was an excellent choice of salads. However, the desserts were either very creamy or coloured pink or blue! Some of the pastries offered for breakfast would have been good for the evening meal. Also, although there were plenty of apples and oranges on offer not a banana was to be seen. We ate most of our meals on the verandah and Flora and her staff were very helpful.
The reception staff were also very helpful. When we didn't have the expected kettle in the room we asked and one was delivered quickly.
There were people smoking in the verandah restaurant which was not very pleasant. The argument could be that it was technically outside but the smoke still blew in the air.
The areas around the pool were not cleaned or the litter removed. We sat in the same place every day and were able to remember it by the mosaic tile left on the table and some melted ice cream on the ground!
Also it would have been helpful to have toilets available for when wet, rather than have to go back to the room or walk into reception dripping.
The animation team worked very hard and often had no takers for their activities but did not pressurise people into doing things.
As it was October and the end of the season the hotel was very quiet and the British were definitely in the minority. I think they need to promote themselves a bit more over here.
However, despite these comments, we would think about returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crossstitchgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed from 6 Oct for 1 week. Was a bit worried after reading some reviews . The flight going on a first choice plane was cramped and you even had to pay for water . My heart sank thinking is the rest of the holiday going to be as bad but once we were there I loved it..The pools and gardens were beautiful and our Junior suite was clean and spacious with a lovely sea view. Had no kettle in room but mentioned this at reception and one was brought to our room within the hour. 6 pm late checkout was free. .
All the staff spoke perfect English and were helpful and friendly, The all inclusive beer wine lemonade tea coffee and water were fine . Didn't try others.Everyone took their water empty bottles to the pool bar were they were refilled free for you as part of all inclusive.
Breakfast was good . There were lovely salads at every meal with assorted cheeses. The evening meals weren't 5* but there was always plenty of choice. Even though I hate lamb ,minced beef and fish. I always found plenty to eat though the meals felt a bit repetitive.
Reception have bus time tables printed out for guests and buses were very cheap..
We had lovely weather and enjoyed it so much we didn't want to come home.!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dack840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our holiday was great - we got back this early this morning. We were also really worried about recent reviews having booked an excellent package through Secret Escapes, so much so that I emailed the hotel directly. Their response was fast, friendly, reassuring & polite.
On arrival we had a junior suite - room 6216. Great room, great view & balcony, good quality furnishings, a safe, lots of wardrobe space, lovely bathroom & shower, air con, clean, quiet, & the nearby pool was lovely too.
Only slight downside is that yes - the beds are very hard, but we slept OK.
The complex is very well planned, clean & excellently maintained, with loads of sun beds & little areas & separate pools. The main pool is huge & well used by families & groups; it has a pool bar & jaccuzi, whilst the other pool areas are quieter & better for couples.
There are tennis courts, basketball courts, a well equipped gym, table tennis table, & a 25metre laned swimming pool as well.
The staff without exception were great - friendly & helpful (& all were multi lingual).
The food was also good. There are 2 a'la carte restaurants - the Italian reached from the main reception, & the Greek Taverna down by the beach, as well as the main restaurant. We did not have a bad meal all week, we found plenty of variety, & the chefs cooked up some lovely tasty dishes, like zucchini roasted in garlic oil & topped with baked beef tomato & feta cheese - lovely!
The all inclusive red & white wines were also surprisingly drinkable, although the rose was a bit sweet for us. It would be good to have Greek coffee included on the all inclusive as well.
The hotel staff work very hard to keep their guests happy, & all respond well to friendly greetings & please & thank you's - somewhat lacking from some guests!
The beach was OK, but you do have to pay for the sun beds provided on the beach; we didn't see the point with all the pool beds available.
The only downside for us was the smell of sewage on several evenings near our room - but we are not sure where the smell was coming from.
Tam Tam bar/restaurant just along the beach is worth a visit, & we hired a car for a day looking around the island, from Kosmos (based in the hotel) - also all good.
Spa - we didn't use it as the weather was too nice, but we did have a nose around - it doesn't look as welcoming or exclusive as some I've seen - but I've also seen worse!
The receptionists were extremely helpful with anything they were asked, & the late check out we had in our package made things so very easy & stress free.
The hotel also sent a bottle of wine to our room as it was my birthday whilst we were there - a nice surprise.
Overall, a stress free, very pleasant & relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for rooms numbered 6000 or 7000, blocks 2000 are nearest to the main pool &...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducatibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Take away the irritation and disruption of being assigned lesser rooms, no kettle, empty mini bar, no DVD, no robes, smell of sewage, tasteless drinks, average food and heavily restricted "all inclusive" and you're left with .... well not very much at all. So just hope you meet some really enjoyable, excellent fellow guests and your holiday may just have a chance. Oh, and one other thing, take mosquito repellent / after bite.
Finally, have to mention the staff who on the whole were excellent. Special mention to the girl behind reception with the gorgeous smile that lent me her own personal phone charger every single day. Thank you - a credit to the hotel that doesn't really have much credit going for it at all in other shapes and forms.
Raj

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RajeevD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I would like to thank for Groupon for the offer, best ever hotel, it was my honeymoon, they have did a free upgrade, nice food, clean and friendly staff, i was scared reading all the old comments, PLEASE DO NOT TRUST THEM...
- Thomas Pathma

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room,
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomasvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos hotels
7.7 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
6.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mastichari Bay Hotel
Mastichari Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mastichari
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mastichari
583 reviews
10.4 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica

Address: 4km From Mastihari, 853 00, Greece (Formerly Magic Life Marmari Palace)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kos
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Kos
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kos
Price Range: $184 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI MAGIC LIFE Marmari Palace by Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marmari Palace
Marmari Palace kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing