We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveler rating
328
219
89
38
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
219
89
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagic lifeentertainment teammain poolmain restaurantpool bartapas styleaqua fitnessgreek tavernaa la carte restaurantsexercise classessporting activitiesenglish kidskos towngerman guestsfree safeteens clubevening shows
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 695 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Take away the irritation and disruption of being assigned lesser rooms, no kettle, empty mini bar, no DVD, no robes, smell of sewage, tasteless drinks, average food and heavily restricted "all inclusive" and you're left with .... well not very much at all. So just hope you meet some really enjoyable, excellent fellow guests and your holiday may just have a chance. Oh, and one other thing, take mosquito repellent / after bite.
Finally, have to mention the staff who on the whole were excellent. Special mention to the girl behind reception with the gorgeous smile that lent me her own personal phone charger every single day. Thank you - a credit to the hotel that doesn't really have much credit going for it at all in other shapes and forms.
Raj

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RajeevD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I would like to thank for Groupon for the offer, best ever hotel, it was my honeymoon, they have did a free upgrade, nice food, clean and friendly staff, i was scared reading all the old comments, PLEASE DO NOT TRUST THEM...
- Thomas Pathma

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room,
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomasvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Welcomed on arrival and shown to our suites vis golf cart. Introduced to the suite. Very roomy and comfortable. All inclusive food covered all tastes, beer was cold, wine fine, no gin and tonics. However, with all the facilities and friendly staff we had a great holiday and would reccomend it to friends and family

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool bar and was close to everything
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We holidayed at Marmari Palace September 2012. We booked through Secret Escapes/Broadway Travel expecting a Junior Suite at a five star establishment.
The first room given to us on arrival was room 7103, a standard double room not a Junior suite. A long and upsetting "discussion" with a very unfriendly receptionist ensued, who insisted that our room was a suite. We eventually had to pay to log on the hotel public computer to show her the Junior Suite asnadvertised on the Marmari Palace Hotel website. Even then she still tried to say we had a different suite, how she thinks a small double with one arm chair can pass as a suite is beyond me. Finally after standing our ground she agreed to move us the next day when a junior suite became available. We finally got moved after 2pm, thereby wasting most of the first day of the holiday. The suite we got moved to was on the top floor of block 3 and was just as shown on the hotel website. The bathroom and bedroom furniture and fittings are old and tired but fully functional. Air Con in both the lounge and bedroom worked adequately though the bedroom AC unit was noisy. We had a fridge but it wasn't stocked as a minibar. There was not a kettle, or tea or coffee provided. If it is windy the wooden pagoda structure on the balcony creaks and groans which can make for some disturbed nights sleep. The room was very clean though, a maid cleaned it every day throughout our stay and put fresh sheets on the bed and towels in the bathroom.
The pools around the hotel are very clean, and there were plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. Pool towels are collected from the pool bar after 10am and can be swopped for clean ones as often as you wish. The tiles on the bottom of the pool are a bit sharp in places and my husband scrapped his toes on them when playing water polo, so it may be worth investing in some pool shoes to wear.
The food in the main buffet restaurant was always plentiful, though never exciting and often it wasn't labelled so you wouldn't know if it contained meat - a problem if you are a vegetarian. Also the food wasn't very hot so there is no chance of having a leisurley meal. The Secret Escapes website talks about "show cooking" - we didn't see any examples of this, I am also not sure where the Gourmet Restaurant with A la Carte dining was - the Italian restaurant serving pizza and pasta surely can't be classed as A la carte? The drinnks included in the All Inclusive were very limited, the wine was okay but there wasn't a wine list to choose from just house wines, red, white or rose. We couldn't get booked into the Italian restaurant but tried the greek taverna and was very disappointed - it has to be the worst example of Greek Cuisine on the whole of Kos. The Bar staff and Restaurant staff were all very attentive and friendly to us.
It is worth taking a bus into Mastichari or Kos Town to get some decent food. The bus service is very reliable and cheap. It is also worth braving the mosquitos at Tam Tam beach cafe (a short stroll along the beach from the hotel) food there was very good and not too expensive. Get there before sunset to watch the sun go down.
We wouldn't go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have booked a junior suite make sure you know what you should be getting and be prepared to argue to get what you've booked.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigmommasally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My Wife and I went on a 7 day all inclusive to this resort advertised in the Daily Telegraph as a "Five Star handpicked resort".

Good points :
Clean and neat, great pools, nice beach, magic weather and the beer was cold.

Not so good points:
Rooms are dated.
The food is mass produced and poor,it was pretty much like being back at boarding school.
Majority of staff seemed untrained and treated guests as an inconvinence.
Wine and the "free" brandy and ouzo on the A/I was low quality ... pretty much undrinkable.
We ended up going to local Taverna's to eat and have a few drinks... they were great.
Would I ever go back ? .... not a chance !

Room Tip: Get one with a Sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LozzoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews