We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable”
Review of Olga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olga Hotel
Ranked #206 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Reviewed August 30, 2006

We had found some truly awful reviews concerning these apartments so were very apprehensive about the holiday. On the whole the apartment block is fairly modern but your comfort is not at the forefront of Olga's mind. They charge 10 Euros a day for air conditioning which gave out puffs of musty semi cooled air which was simply not adequate for the greek heat. The bedsheets were the roughest I have ever slept in, I am not exaggerating they felt like sandpaper and were not changed once during our 7 day stay. The self catering facilities were shocking, with a leaking fridge and a very small selection of dirty looking cutlery. Another guest who was sharing with four others asked for two more glasses for there room as they were only given two, Olga's response was "maybe tomorrow I give them to you". The bathroom window ledge was covered in cobwebs. I don't blame the poor maids for the lack of cleanliness either, according to a guest who begged for an extra bed sheet the terrified looking maid said don't tell Olga if I give you one. Luckily for us our return flights were during the day but many other guests had night flights where Olga charged them extra for the use of a room which had even less facilities than a normal one. One holidaymaker had to keep going to the bar to use their kettle as Olga refused to give her one. The pool area is quite clean but beware the floor is so slippy in 7 days i saw 4 people slip quite badly. And the sun loungers have to be the most uncomfortable EVER! No padding is given whatsoever so your bum tends to go numb within 5 minutes, or you have to use a lilo to provide the padding. All in all, Kos Town is lovely, the Old Town is very quaint and the sea water is so clean and warm, just don't stay at the Paradise Olga Apartments!

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank Ladypp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2006

Having read some awful reviews on other sites from last year we went expecting very little from the Olga Paradise. To be fair in real terms we had not paid an awful lot and you get what you pay for!

It is fair to say then that we had a nice surprise in many ways and the review and the markings are based upon the fact that this was not a 5 star holiday at a 5 star price to begin with.

The apartment was clean, a reasonable size for 4 people (2 adults and 2 children aged 13 & 8) and the beds provided were very comfortable. The apartment had two rooms, you walked in and there was a bed sofa and a z-bed but this was of a decent standard and my 13 year old slept quite happily upon it. Also in this area was the kitchen and a set of two drawers. The one thing that did let the apartment down was the kitchen, which was very basic (a sink, a drainer and electric two rings) but the biggest problem was the lack of work surfaces to prepare anything which were in fact non-existent. From there you moved into a little area which had ample cupboard and hanging rail space for all 4 and the part my girlfriend appreciated - a full length mirror. Off this was the bathroom which again was quite a surprise as we had a bath with a proper shower over it. This caused much consternation with the rep who did not even have a bath in his apartment :-) There was a decent sized sink with plenty of surface space around it, a toilet that did all it should, although took its time over filling once flushed and ther was a hairdryer. From there you went into the seperate bedroom which had two bedside cabinets, a very large dresing table (which housed the safe) with a large mirror over it and two single beds which were securely pushed together to form a king size. Then out onto a balcony which was a little cramped but had adecent sized table and four chairs so you could moved something if you really wanted.

The apartments had a nice pool which my kids enjoyed and it was cleaned every night. There were around 8 umbrellas and 20 or so sun loungers which was fine whilst we were there as it was early season and not very full but once summer comes it may get a little crowded. There is a bar which they keep open until at least 1am which also serves very reasonably priced snacks throughout the day. There is a pool table, and a table football game as well. The position of the apartments appealed to us and many of the other guests as it is well set back from the road and therefore provides complete privacy from the outside world. Turning right out of the complex you come to a nice restaurant called the BBQ Garden and then one of the two supermarkets nearby. Once you hit the main road which is no more than a 5 minute stroll there is the bus stop to Kos Town, we found buses tended to arrive about half past the hour although I am assured they are more regular! The bus fare into town is 95 cents for an adult and 45 cents for a child, a taxi will cost around 5 or 6 euros.

Now onto Olga. I have to say we found her to be very nice, I think if you treat her well she will do the same. We had a problem, as did the apartment underneath, with the air conditioning not working (you pay extra for this). We were provided with two big fans instead whilst she tried to get the matter fixed, unfortunately it was not fixed despite the engineer coming out but we got to keep the fans for the duration of the holiday. I think if you give Olga a really hard time and are not prepared to be reasonable then I am sure she could be hard nosed, her daughter Dina is around a lot and speaks excellent English.

This is a Thomas Cook UK exclusive place and the only other people in there are the Dutch from TC's Neckermann company. The rep there is a guy called Daley who I have to say could not have been more helpful.

Overall, despite our initial concerns we thoroughly enjoyed our weeks holiday.

23  Thank Avfclancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: adatto solo x pochi giorni
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claudio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze accanto alla piscina o alla hall hanno il wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uffila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Μην πάτε εκεί. Στον πρώτο όροφο μυρίζει κάτι μεταξύ χλωρίνης, φορμόλης και κατσαριδοκτόνου.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StamatisNikitaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos hotels
11.2 mi away
Neptune Hotels - Resort, Convention Centre & Spa
4.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,489 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
2.7 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olga Hotel

Address: Makrygianni 1, 3rd September Sq. | Near Psalidi, 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Price Range: $29 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Olga Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olga Hotel kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing