We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandys Studios & Log Villas
Ranked #131 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We have just returned from a week in Kos at Sandy's and what a great week we had. The apartments are good by Greek standards, there were 4 of us and we were put in adjoining rooms with a connecting door, enough to give us privacy but great for eating breakfast together in the mornings. Having already been to Greece and knowing what their self catering standards are, I went prepared, took a bread knife, tin opener just in case, but as it turns out they were in the room. It is pretty much hit and miss with catering on a room by room basis and tends to be what others have left behind. The rooms were very comfortable and more than served their purpose. Maids came in daily and did a good job, clean sheets and towels were provided during our stay.
The complex itself is lovely - the pool was a reasonable size and we never had any problems with sunbeds - although someone did have Spanish standards and was out before 8 reserving their prime location. Plenty of umbrellas and shade if needed. The pool side bar served good snacks and drinks throughout the day and the prices weren't too bad, 1,5 euros for a soft fizzy drink and 3 euros for a pint of Mythos. The taverna did a nice range of evening meals and reasonable prices. I ordered a salad one evening as a side order and it was a whole meal in itself - perfect. The 2 teenagers with us had no problems with food even with their typical teenage fads.
I don't understand complaints about staff rudeness, George, Petros and Adam always greeted us with a smile and played practical jokes, I suppose using manners yourself has a huge impact on the service you receive back.
The apartments themselves are a little walk into town, but we took the route along the sea front and saw the harbour, marina and plenty of activity on the way down so we barely noticed the time or the distance. On the walk back, we would stop at a little greek taverna half way for a lovely cup of coffee, but when you are walking and talking about your evening you are back before you know it.
It was a 10 - 15 minute walk down to the beach and sunbeds were necessary due to the heat of the sand. 5 euros for 2 beds and a brolly was not bad. The thing I liked was the sandbags that go out into the sea so you don't have to worry about walking over rock and shingle to get in for a swim.
A visit into Kos town at night is a must! It is very cosmopolitan and loads happening, really buzzing. From the maze of little shops in the lanes, to the squares where people are just sitting pondering life. It suited both us older mums and dads and the two teenage girls in our party.
I wouldn't hesitate to go back and would choose here anyday over any 4star luxury in other parts of Europe. The friendliness of the Greeks on a whole is second to none.
On a final note, another plus point of Sandy's is the lovely Olympic rep there - Matt! A real credit to his employers, friendly, not pushy, and he gave you the same smile and service irrespective of whether or not you had bought any of his excursions. A great guy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rugs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

Sandy’s Apartments are clean and comfortable and that’s my main concern when booking. The pool is really nice and clean as well and so is the pool area, there are just enough sun beds but only just enough and the pool bar is really good fun.
The Olympic brochure says it’s about 20 minutes walk into Kos Town but it’s more like 35 at least, just turn left at the entrance and then left again, I had a few meals in Kos Town but found that the food at Sandy’s was so nice that I eat there most of the time (try the Stifado).
Kos Town itself is really nice and a walk around the castle is a must. Price’s for drinks in some of the bars were really expensive the cheapest that I paid was 3 euros a pint but it was more often than not 4.5 euros.
Would I stay at Sandy’s again? And the answer is yes, it may be out of the way a bit but the Olympic price is so low that its good value for money, the only downside of the holiday was the ridiculously timed flight out.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Ignore all previous reviews - there is nothing wrong with these apartments. Very cheap, cant believed how little we paid. It is a 15 min walk into town or get a taxi, but the walk is fine and welcome after a big meal. The food at the aprtment is lovely anyway. The owners and all staff are lovely. Room cleaned everyday. The good thing about being outside Kos Town was that there wasnt much noise and the backdrop from the pool is the mountains. On the walk into town you go past H20 bar - have a drink here! Overall, lovely two weeks :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssrj9th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

we have nothing but praise for our 2 weeks at sandys,the accomodation,amenities,staff,
and food were first class.We would highly recommend this holiday to anyone wanting to visit Kos. Michael and barbara Yorks

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank miketod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Our 3rd Time at Sandys, first went in 1996 , then 2008 and just got back today , the 4th July.
Yes, its a walk or cycle ride into Kos, yes its not 18-30`s and yes its a basic holiday location. However, it is very clean, the staff very helpful and the food at the pool side bar is very good and priced well against prices in town. If you want a safe and clean, quiet holiday then go here, especially if you have got a "good deal" ... it offers great value for money.

The only down side is the barking dogs, but that depends on which part of the complex you stay in, our last two visits we did not hear them, this time we did.

We will be going again because we know its good value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mancitymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Sandy's appartments is in the middle of nowhere. In the seering heat - there was a heatwave during our weeks stay - the "10 minute" walk to the beach was much longer, though no sand was apparent. The journey into Kos town took over 30minutes! The walk back from town at night was lovely along the sea front, but the final part up an unlit road was not so nice. - torch required!
The appartments were basic! 40 euros for air conditioning (which in the heat we were experiencing, should have come as standard). The cooking facilities were tiny - although to boil an egg it was adequate. All three beds in the two room appartments needed new matresses - the springs were totally shot!! We arrived wondering what we had booked for ourselves, by the end of the week we had a better appreciation for our accommodation, although would not return.
Kos itself was beautiful, it is unfortunate Sandy's was so far away from the centre.

We spent most of our days out of the appartment, although some people managed never to leave the very small complex. It is secluded, so if you are wishing to take a break away from everything and everyone, this is the place to stay.
It can be noisy at times - not from party goers returning after a night out, but from the chickens, cockerals, peacocks, peahens and dogs that reside next door!! They don't seem to care what time it is!

Our tip is to hire bikes and explore the area - also saves the long walk to and from the appartments. Even in the seering heat, the breeze generated from cycling was a blessing.

We had a good holiday, but that was mainly because we just laughed at what we had booked for ourselves!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Sandy's Apartments is exactly what is says on the tin! We got a really good deal and were expecting a lot less. However, this place is the same standard to some holidays we have been on for double the price.

When we read it was out of town our first reaction was of joy due to a 'room-above-club' experience in Ayia Napa and we weren't bothered at all about the walk into town. Mainly as transport is cheap (3E a day for a bike or 5E for 1 way taxi) and also beacuse there is really no reason to leave the complex. The food was good value as was the supermarket. And they have specials, music on a telly for the matches. We made the mistake of thinking we could find a cheaper supermarket and walked 15 mins to find things about 1E cheaper which didn't stack up with the walk in the searing heat! Being hardy self-caterers we'd took basics anyway.

The staff are lovely and happy to accomodate; calling taxi's etc. Try the homemade lemonade! p.s. The room was 25E until 6pm on day of check out as our transfer wasn't until 1.50a.m. but there is a shower by the pool and a room to keep your stuff if you decide to check out at 12.00.

There was never a rush for the sunbeds as they're are 1 per person based on the hotel being full and we only made the beach 1 day not due to the walk but cos we're pool people.

The facilites were basic but good and the rooms clean and spacious. We had a seperate lounge to bedroom which i believe was not the norm. spoke to a couple who had a bedsit type room that had the fridge whirring in the corner which may have annoyed us so email ahead and ask for room 35 if you want our room!

The trips we went on were also good but as with most places its best to book direct than thru the rep. We paid 24E each for the 3 Island boat trip which the rep was selling for 41E so just go down the harbour and haggle with the captains! The boat we had was a lot better too.

All in all it was a great holiday and we would go back. In fact we are in October so see you there!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tors56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos hotels
7.9 mi away
Mariliza Beach Bungalows
Mariliza Beach Bungalows
#6 of 15 in Marmari
91 reviews
10.7 mi away
Neptune Hotels - Resort, Convention Centre & Spa
3.7 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
15.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,485 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandys Studios & Log Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandys Studios & Log Villas

Address: Paradise, 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Price Range: $35 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandys Studios & Log Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Sandys Studios & Log Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandys Studios And Log Villas
Sandys Studios & Log Villas Hotel
Sandys Apartments kós
Sandys Apartments Hotel kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing