We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grecotel Royal Park
Ranked #105 of 218 Hotels in Kos
Certificate of Excellence
Tilbury, Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2008

My fiance, my 1 year old little boy and myself visited the Grecotel in early june last year and we were very impressed. When we first arrived we were abit weary about where the hotel was, as it looks like it is in the middle of no where when you first arrive by coach!!

Staff
The staff were very friendly when we arrived and offered to take our luggage up to the room for us. And all spoke very good english, the barmen were very funny, and the restaurant staff are lovely. My little boy especially loved them as they brought him over a sweet everytime we left the restaurant!

Hotel
Very clean and beautifuly decorated throughout. There were three pools which were all very clean, the one which is closest to the beach had a slide and did tend to get abit packed ..... and noisy! We spent most of our time in the other pool as there was a shallow pool for the children next to it and it was also very quiet.

Food
In the actuall main restaurant there is so much to choose from and they even have a selection for children. Everynight was different and they had several themes during the week we were there. There was also some music being performed one day whilst you ate. We didnt eat in the other restaurant but were told that the food was very nice there also. If you are all inclusive you can help yourself to ice cream, popcorn, sandwiches and cakes between meals.

Entertainment
The entertainment was ok but could have been better, we booked this holiday with thompson and they didnt tell us that it wasnt in english! There is alot of German visitors to this hotel so all of the entertainment was in german, and although a majority of the reps were german there were a few that were willing to translate for us. There is a disco for the kids more or less everynight but if you venture out of the hotel you can hear the entertainment from magic life which is next door and it sounds alot better!!

Excursions
Please please please dont make the same mistake we did, whatever you do DO NOT book the excursion trips through your holiday maker. We did however and got ripped off big time! We went for two trips which were the waterpark ...(which isnt anything special so I wouldnt bother!) and the turkey trip which was quite good. After being on our excusions we spent a night in mamari and spoke to an english man who has his own buisness where you can book the trips through them......for half the price!!! We were abit gutted.

Other then what I have written the rest is up to you, the beach is lovely, and if you get a chance hire some bikes, even if you have young kids, its a great way to get around and it keeps the children occupied while you top up your tan!!! Hope this has been useful, enjoy your holiday :-)

  • Liked — The staff and the beach
  • Disliked — The entertainment
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cjay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    63
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
117
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Me and my girlfriend were in this hotel for 7 nights, end of Sep-begining of Oct. I could this hotel recommended to someone who doesnt need to be entertained by someone, but can find his own way. Because this hotel is full of German people (about 85-90%) so do not expect some good entartainment in english from hotel staff.
But the rest was amazing, staff exellent, food wonderful, hotel and room clean, nice atmosphere.
We used Thompson for our holiday. If you decided to go for trip do not used what is offered by Thompson, because it is really expensive. Just pop in to Marmari's town travel agent and you can get same trips for about 50% cheaper than from Thompson.
What i would sugest is use travel agent for trip to Turkey and do not forget go for Three Island trip, but if you are unlucky and see is rought, you can be sick, my girlfriend was :-) but i enjoyed it much, so be prepared, but it is worth. And for trips to island"s destination(Zia, Paradise Beach,....) just rent car or scooter.
My opinion is to rent scooter because you do enjoy it more, wind blowing yours hair away,...

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Waclav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Absolutely appalled that Thomson can get away with advertising windsurfing, kids clubs fitness when everything is conducted in German so the activities we had paid for we could not take part in. Apparantly there were 25 english out of 700 guests.There was 3 nights of entertainment which for 2 evenings was a bloke playing a keyboard, 1 night was a Greek night which was just 3 people on stage dancing. There was no atmosphere whatsoever We paid £3,800 for 4 adults 1 child so had expected more than just food and accomodation.

On the upside the scenery is stunning and the beaches fantastic. The Greek staff at the hotel are lovely.
Our idea of a family holiday was to have fun doing activities together and meet new friends. Thomson should have to advertise that the hotel is predominantly German so that customers can make informed decisions.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Nothing to do
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dixiepups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

We would recommend this Hotel. This is our third visit to a Grecotel Group Hotel and they have got it right.
The Hotel is in a rural setting on an all inclusive basis, no wristbands here you get a card instead. If you want a break out the nearest taverna is 15min walk away. The staff at this Hotel cannot do enough for you, everything you want you get.
The Hotel has two pools one which is quiet and the other where the animation team lay on activities. The beach is a lovely sandy beach with free bed and umbrellas. The food is first class with a fantastic choice. You can have breakfast/lunch and dinner is the main restaurant. Or you can have lunch at the beach bar and at no extra charge you can have a'la'carte dinner at the beach bar which we would recommend for a change. Not many Brits at this Hotel as only Thomson from the UK go there which is the way we like it. The only downside to this Hotel is very little evening entertainment but we were with good company and made so great friends. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Liked — service and food
  • Disliked — entertainment
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

Stayed at the Royal Park for 2 weeks. Hotel is of a good standard, we had up graded to a 'bungalow' and our room gave us a view to the sea, beach and pool...worth the extra money.

My only negative comment about the hotel is lack of entertaintment in the evening, any that did take place was in German. The general hotel population were Germans, not many English.

Kos town only a 15 mins bust trip (1.4 euro) and the bus stops outside the hotel every hour. Water Park about 10 mins away by taxi, dont pay your rep lots of money !

Kos is a very quite island, dont go if you are looking for lots of activities and days out as there arent many. Do go if you/your kids like swimming pools, good beach and the sea. Plenty of sun beds, parosols and SUN SUN SUN.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank hat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

We have just arrived back from our holiday at Grecotel Royal Park. I stayed here with my hubby for two weeks in the sun. The weather was excellent, nice and warm with a slight breeze.
You could not fault the food in the restaurant, there was plenty of choice for vegetarians.
We didn't have any problems with the hotel or our holiday except for there being little/ no entertainment in the evenings. The hotel have a very good entertainment team for adults and children in the day but this is only in german, so we were unable to participate.
We went to Grecotel Royal Park for a very relaxing holiday which we had. The hotel is approx 1 mile from Marmari, which has a few bars/ shops. The beach is also very nice.
The hotel have recently build a new swimming pool near the beach, which means that the main pool is nice and quiet (although it was closed due to repairs for a few days).

All in all and excellent holiday!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Snashall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel, UK
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2006

For one week, excellent.... would have been bored after 2 weeks.

Food was good, location in a quiet part of Kos was good.

But for a couple on a quiet wind-down week... it was full of kids!
As a German biased hotel, the entertainment was geared towards German children. We did not go for the in-house entertainment, but it was pretty poor. Can not fault the effort but the delivery was toe-curling.

Ask for bungalow accommodation in the garden as they are so much bigger and set in the gardens which are quieter and more relaxed.
Rooms were clean, and with large balconys.

for a week, a good 4 out of 5

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Mark-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos hotels
11.7 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites
1.4 mi away
Princess of Kos
Princess of Kos
#11 of 16 in Mastichari
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Marmari
483 reviews
4.5 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mastichari
746 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gaia Royal Hotel
Gaia Royal Hotel
#10 of 16 in Mastichari
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Royal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Royal Park

Property: Grecotel Royal Park
Address: Near Marmari, 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Kos
#58 Luxury Hotel in Kos
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecotel Royal Park 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grecotel Royal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Royal Park kós
Grecotel Royal Park Hotel kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing