We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest staff ever encountered!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
International Hotel
Ranked #125 of 219 Hotels in Kos
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel International is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed throughout my travels to the US, Europe and Central America.
The staff is the friendliest and always available to accommodate your every request. The rooms are clean and furnished with fresh new towels and bed sheets and are virtually sound proof to any noises outside.
(I've slept very soundly after a night of partying many times!)
I highly recommend Hotel International to anyone seeking a place to stay while in Kos.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamakas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 142 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel international a lovely family fun bed and breakfast set across from the picturesque kos marina. I have annualy visited this hotel and every year i receive the warm welcome from thomas and his family from the moment i walk into the hotel to check in. They make all there guests like part of there family. The hotel is located just 5 minutes from the busy kos town centre with bars restaurants and shops. The hotel rooms are very bright and spacious all with balcony or terrace. Beds are very good and each room has satelitte television with various languages to cater for all nationalitys. Breakfast is very good with large selection of bread/cereals/ meats yoghurt fruits and pastries tea coffee milk and fruit juice also on offer. I keep returning to this hotel as it is a lovely hotel and great propietors.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank callum s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent ages looking for a reasonably priced 2 week Greek Island holiday this year. In many cases the price had doubled from 2011. Finally we ended up with a Ryanair flight and a bargain price at the International Hotel in Kos town which was only marginally above our usual budget. (Note - I found this last minute via 'Low Cost Holidays'. The price shown went down twice, but only briefly and when re-entering the website later it had actually increased in price. Evidently they actively monitor who is looking at the website - we obtained a £100 discount by booking when the discount re-appeared briefly online).
I can strongly recommend the International Hotel as an ideal base in Kos Town. It's not far from the bustling town centre whilst offering a number of very good restaurants and bars nearby and superb views of the marina seafront. We overlooked the berth of the super yacht Dynasty, but you have to be lucky to get the sea views - the other rooms are just as nice with views of the gardens next door. Cleaners came in every day and timed their visits to suit us - absolutely spotless room and bathroom with linen and towels changed frequently.
We booked bed and breakfast so no cooking facilities or kettle. Small fridge provided which was adequate for drinks and had ice making facility. Bathroom had hair dryer built in and the shower was excellent. Rooms have one of those magnetic keys which switches off the power (except the fridge) when you are out, 2 plugs in each room (one behind the balcony curtain if you can't find it), wardrobe with lots of coat hangers, bedside tables and individual lights for the twin beds. Each balcony has it's own table and chairs with light above and was completely private.
The breakfasts were excellent with help yourself selections of bread, cereals, fruits, yoghurt, cake, tomatoes, eggs, ham, cheese, salami, marmalade, jams, honey, tea, coffee, fruit juices - I've probably missed loads out.
We ate breakfast outside on the terrace at the front of hotel every day which was very pleasant.
TV in each room and aircon (5 euros per day) which was needed even in September. Free Wi-Fi in the hotel lounge and a PC available for guests if required at a nominal charge.
All the staff were great and Thomas the owner was exceptionally helpful.
Kos town has been adopted big time by the Dutch and Scandinavians - it's a bit like Amsterdam in that there are cycle tracks everywhere and lots of cycles for hire. The're all very friendly and we ended up in the nearby Yacht bar with a load of Norwegian women singing happy birthday to me in their own language, which was really nice. Our favourite eatery was "O Sakis" a small grill house close to the International. Run by Sakis and his wife - the food was wonderful. Sakis did the grill side, gorgeous gyros, village sausage etc. and his wife did the most delicious stifado and moussaka. Despoina their daughter was the waitress and was so welcoming- it was like going to a friend's place for a meal. On our last day she made us a special chocolate dessert as a treat. We also liked the Herodion restaurant near to the open air cinema. George the owner was also very welcoming and was responsible for some very unsteady journeys back to the hotel due to his generosity with the free ouzo,schnapps and metaxa!
The number of Brits was well down this year - presumably the recession is biting.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view book it in advance by e-mail.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PGTipsWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have had an amazing holiday at the International Hotel, which is a family run hotel. Breakfast was wonderful consisting of cereals, fresh fruit, toast, bread rolls, ham, cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, hard boiled eggs are all just a few to mention. Yoghurt and honey - delicious. Tea, coffee and fruit juice to finish with. Spotlessly clean hotel with very friendly staff, who cannot do enough for you. The location is not too far from Kos Town square,which is very pleasant to sit and have a drink.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the rear away from the main road.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fuschiaOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is 10 minutes walk to kos town but there are local restaurants and bars nearby . Near beaches with free sun beds if you eat at them . Hotel is clean and the breakfast is always lots to choose from. It is a bit dated but very clean and they make you welcome .

Room Tip: Kos town has lots to see you can get a boat to Turkey from the harbour ,The International are good v...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mbigaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Basic hotel in a good location. Lovely pool area. If you are looking for a cheap holiday to kos this hotel would be ok

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michhardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and myself along with our daughter and her boyfriend stayed here for a week in June. It is a small but very comfortable hotel, I found it to be spotlessly clean and I am quite fussy about cleanliness. The rooms are pretty basic with a tv and a fridge. The bathroom is very small with a shower you can just about turn around in but it was very clean. The cleaners come every day and left us towels twice in the week we were there. The bed linen was changed once mid-week. We had to pay 5 euros per day for the air con but believe me you need it!! It was really hot!! You can get a safety deposit box as well for 11 euros for the week. The only down fall of this is that they are downstairs in the reception area but our passports and money were safe in there.

Breakfast was in with the price of the hotel and it was very nice. The usual meat and cheese, cereal, toast, coffee, tea, orange juice etc and of course, it wouldn't be Greece without the gorgeous yoghurt and honey.

We found the staff to be friendly, they always smiled and said hello. There was one occasion though when the old man, Thomas I think and his son had a bit of a shouting match behind the reception desk. We couldn't understand what was getting said but the old man stormed off, we just sat there amazed. They do get annoyed though if you don't leave your key behind reception when you go out. It has a magnetic end which you have to place on a metal plate as you enter your room. This is what works the electricity, so of course when you go out and you have to take your key with you, you cannot leave anything on, including your air con. We found a shop that sold little round fridge magnets and my daughter used it to leave the air con on when we were out, but because they realised her key hadnt been left and they knew we had gone out they went into her room!!! They found the magnet and challenged her later about it. She just apologised and that was that. They said the maid had been in and discovered it but this was well after 6 o clock in the evening! Really they had no right to go in the room.

The pool is lovely and clean, it is not huge but it was big enough for us. There were about 22 sunbeds around it. There is a little snack bar that serves burgers and juice, beer etc. Katherina who works in there is lovely, very friendly (I apologise if I have spelled your name wrong).

The hotel is situated opposite a lovely marina and it is about 15 minute walk away from all the main bars and restaurants. Just one thing to be careful of is the bikes!!!! My god they are everywhere!! We didnt realise that there are cycling lanes on all the pavements until we heard bells dinging at us!!! It is easy to foget they are there for the first couple of days, we just kept drifting into them and next thing is - ring ring, you nearly have heart attack!!!!

Do the trip to Zia, it is amazing to see the sunset there. It is a little village not far from Kos Town. It has lovely little tavernas and souvenir shops. We went into the little nature reserve which is brilliant for the kids and the big kids :) It only cost 3 euros each and you get the most amazing view of the sunset. I will never forget it. We paid 25 euros each way in a cab from Kos Town.

Also, just up the road from the hotel, about a mile or so is this amazing Therma. It is a hot pool of water in the edge of the sea!! I think it is something to do with the volcano that it gets its heat and it is said to be good for ruematics etc. Give it a go - it was very different.

Im sure you will enjoy this hotel, it is certainly not 5 star but all I ever want is clean, comfortable, friendly staff, good location and you have all of them here.

Room Tip: rooms at the front over look the marina but most seem to be at the side where you can still get a li...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mo63Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yiorgos
Hotel Yiorgos
#27 of 48 in Kos Town
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kos Bay
Hotel Kos Bay
#45 of 48 in Kos Town
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olga Hotel
Olga Hotel
#206 of 219 in Kos
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zephyros Hotel
Zephyros Hotel
#187 of 219 in Kos
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#11 of 48 in Kos Town
293 reviews
21.4 mi away
Athinoula Hotel
Athinoula Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kefalos
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel

Address: 4 Leoforos Papandreou Georgiou | PO Box 52, 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kos
Price Range: $32 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — International Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing