We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defo going back!!!”
Review of Smaragdi Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smaragdi Studios
Ranked #84 of 218 Hotels in Kos
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Defo going back!!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have just returned from Smaragdi Stds & Apartments, Lambi. It was our first family holiday with our 4yr son and it was fantastic. Judy, Leo and Ria where very friendly and would do anything help. The apartment was very clean, no issues what so ever. The pool area was fantastic, good size baby pool/ main pool.

There's a local shop just across the road for bits and bobs and there is a restaurant about 100m up the road, but if your looking for something else there is a Super Market about 600m up the road.
If your looking for active holiday you can hire a road bike for €3 per day bargin!! Or be lazy and hire a Scooter for €12 per day.

It's about a 15-20 min walk into Kos town. Or you can be lazy and get a taxi or bus!!!( couple of €)
Kos town has lots and lots of shops where you could spend all night looking around. Along with all the shops there are lots of fantastic restaurants and pubs where you can enjoy some fantastic foods,wines,beers and even coffee.

I can't wait until our next trip to Smaragdi, and I would recomend this to anyone who is wishing to visit Kos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    82
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
69
98
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

there apartments made our holiday! they were not to far away from anywhere, a 10 min walk into town. and so many fab places pointed out to visit by the fabulous Judy & Leo nothing was too much trouble for them. the apartments were clean and well looked after with a maid cleaning every morning even the maids would do anything such as go away if you were sleeping and come back later on in the day. all the staff at the apartments were so friendly and recomented only the best things to do. Aria made fabulous food and always made every day a happy day to wake up too! the lacation of the apartments was definitely a plus with the quiet place with no loud noise at night and you could have a perfect night sleep. We would definitely go back and definitely stay at the Smaragdi apartments again and if we ever took a family who wanted a hotel to stay at we would definitely tell them to go to Smaragdi's sister hotel as we went here for the greek night and all the staff was lovely and welcoming! Smaragdi herself was a pleasure to be around and didnt mind doing anything for us. We loved our holiday in Kos and a plus to our holiday was going to the Apartments to such lovely people, thankyou for everything all the staff at Smaragdi and the sister hotel!
love the 'welshies' andy, maria and family xxxx

Room Tip: anywhere! we stayed in room 8 and it was a perfect room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

my girlfriend and i had another wonderful holiday at smaragdi,judy and aria we,re amazing and will do anything to help you. the maids and the poolman we,re polite,pleasant and very thorough with thier work. the rooms are basic but very clean and are cleaned daily as is the pool. you can always get a pool lounger no matter what time of day.kos town is 20-25min walk away or get the bus on the corner of smaragdi an tho kos is lively,busy and bustling,smaragdi is just far enough to be quiet and peaceful. the blue pheonix is a great place to eat with simon and nickos to entertain you with stories of why the different foods have thier name and only 5min walk away. for more lively nights if you want to avoid bar street would be jacksons bar/restaraunt,the staff and owner are amazing and the drinks flow as the fun and laughter increase through the evening. on the whole we think smaragdi the staff the attentiveness is worth a 3rd visit for us :)

Room Tip: hire the aircon for just 75 euros for 14 nights well worth the extra comfort as the kos nights can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just arrived back from a weeks stay in Smaragdi, Kos. We wanted a chilled time in the sun and to relax by the pool and this place ticked all the boxes. The rooms were clean and they had all the amenities we needed. Although there was only 2 of us we had a two room apartment with 4 beds so they was plenty of space. We stayed on the ground floor opposite the pool and there is a good size balcony to sit outside and have breakfast or a drink in the evening. You do have to pay extra for the air -conditioning, 5 euro's per day but I would definitely recommend it. The only downside for us about the apartment is the walls are extremely thin, you can literally hear people next door flushing the loo, closing the doors and having their TV on! This was slightly annoying when people came in later than we went to bed and then got woken from the noise,

We always managed to get a lounger around the pool. You can get basic snacks throughout the day - we would recommend the special omelet! We found all the the staff very friendly and although we didn't need much of their assistance they appeared to always be at hand if you needed anything.

The location is excellent. Only 5 mins walks from a choice of shops and restaurants, 5 minutes from the nearest beach in Lampi and a 15-20 minutes walk in to Kos town/ harbour. We rented a bike from the nearest store to the hotel to explore the Island and it costs only 3 euros per day. We enjoyed hiring a quad bike, which cost only 15 euros per day and visited some of the touristy spots including the small village of Zia.

Kos is a lovely Island and staying at Smaragdi in Lampi was a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowdyburns73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just returned from the most amazing time at Smaragdi.
It was perfect for us. We went, my friend, myself and my five year old daughter for a week.
The apartment was basic but perfectly adequate for our requirements. They are amazingly situated and we rented a bike to get around which was great, really good fun and we got a little trailer for my daughter. Five minutes to the beach, fifteen minutes to Kos Town. All the staff were incredible, Judy was attentive, helpful and generally just a joy to be around. They really couldn't have been nicer.
The best place we ate was on the main road, at the supermarket, turn right, go along a bit on the right hand side the restaurant is called Sunset, it has like big wooden wagon wheels outside the best food we experienced, really nice service too.
The rest of the food is outstandingly average but, you know, OK.
The only thing I would say is that DON'T do an organised trip. We went to paradise beach which was not so paradise!! No room for even sandcastles! Not so white sand and completely trades description on the bubbles!! I would say just stay at Lambi, completely nice people, little bit shingly but really much nicer than the so called paradise!!
In my opinion, I would hang out round the pool, always able to get loungers, brollies etc, go to the harbour in Kos town and book an independent trip if you fancy. Rent a bike and go to the local beaches they are totally fine. The Hippocrates hospital is interesting but very hot. Honestly really loved it absolutely perfect for families, safe, friendly and enjoyable all round. Totally recommend it. Take tea, extra extention leads as there is only one socket in each room and pay extra for the air conditioning. You get more than you pay for here. Enjoy.

Room Tip: No 9 is brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

As a family of 4 we were a bit apprehensive about KOS as we had never been before, but it turned out to be a nice holiday. The apartments albeit were very basic it was nice and clean, bedrooms were big enough but the kitchen area was tiny but this didnt really bother us as we didnt do any cooking. For the week that we stayed the rooms were cleaned everyday except 1 but even then the beds were made and the bins were emptied.
The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Era who works non stop to make everyone welcome.
The poolside bar was pretty much just that, if you are happy with something really simple to eat midday like chips or a toastie you would be OK, this was fine for the kids, but on an evening we liked to go to a place called the Blue Phoenix where you can average a meal for 4 with drinks for about €45, turn left out of apartments follow road straight down cross the main road and straight down again to the beach and Blue Phoenix is on your left, Simon & Nickos are wonderful.

We enjoyed going back to the apartments after our evening meal for drinks at the bar which is a good chance to meet other guests, we meet some really nice people here.

Also, if your into that sort of thing hiring a bike is a good way of getting about KOS only cost €3 for the day, not really my cup of tea but the kids and my husband enjoyed it and was a very quick way of getting into the town only took 5 mins as opposed to walking 20 mins.

A nice little place for a quiet and very hot holiday in July

Room Tip: If you are taking children who can swim, the groud floor is ideal as they just hop over the wall and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

These apartments are the perfect place if the sort of holiday your after is peace and quite and a great place to unwind and relax. The staff are helpful but leave you on your own and not to in your face trying to sell you other things etc.

The accommodation is good the room cleaning service is great almost too good they provide lots of fresh towels. We had one bedroom apartment which was tight even for the two of us, something to bare in mind for a family of larger group. the rooms are basic but this is the standard for this sort of accommodation the bathrooms are better than some previous types Iv stayed in for Greece. There is not a lot of plugs something we found during our stay but on the whole nice clean apartments. As usual there is air con and safes at cost.

Do not be put of by the locaton of this place it adds to its value as it is nice and quite during the day for relaxing with no traffic and not overlooked by other hotels like lots of others are in greece. (the pool area is also private unlike some which are on the front on the main road.

Bikes are sold a few doors down and are three euros per day these will take you into KOs town in a few minutes. By foot its ten to to fifteen minutes but there are lots of shops closers then this including a large supermarket at the end of the road to the hotel.

Also not advertised free wi fi in the reception area great!!

All in all a great place wold recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor lower numbered rooms to be in front of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos hotels
2.2 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 19 in Psalidi
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aegean Houses
Aegean Houses
#16 of 48 in Kos Town
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ampavris Family Apartments
Ampavris Family Apartments
#15 of 48 in Kos Town
209 reviews
5.7 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#7 of 23 in Tigaki
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leonidas Hotel & Studios
Leonidas Hotel & Studios
#37 of 48 in Kos Town
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Studios

Property: Smaragdi Studios
Address: | Lambi, 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 218 Hotels in Kos
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Smaragdi Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Studios kós
Smaragdi Studios Hotel kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing