We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent holiday”
Review of Smaragdi Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smaragdi Studios
Ranked #88 of 218 Hotels in Kos
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Very quiet location. Accomodation basic but very clean excellent maids! Supermarket directly across road with all you need, a larger supermarket is in the town as well. Brilliant taverna just 5 mins walk from the hotel opposite the firestation. Good bar showing football Delon pub walk up to the cross roads and go left a few hundred yards down on the left hand side by far the cheapest and best Strongbow in Lambi. Taxi to Kos Town 7 euros good value always able to get a taxi no problems with waiting. Green tour bus in Kos Town good fun for 5 euros. Overall a very good holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank possetdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    80
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
63
94
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

location was perfect walking distance to restaurants beach and supermarkets. maids looked after us well so did Tina and Maria. Apartments were basic but okay for our stay.
Went out mainly for our meals but when we did eat there Maria's cooking was very good.we got on with her very well.
the weather was fantastic Kos is a lovely island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

A friendly hotel. Short walk from the town. Bit basic but thats what we paid for. Lots to see and do lovely beaches stunning views. Locals very friendly. Mostly Scandanavian so no Brits to make you squirm with embarrassment. All in all a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve120s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had a very pleasant two weeks here, well looked after by Judy, Tina and Maria and Olympic rep Emma. The studio was clean and well equipped, a toaster and a kettle! (Not used to that in Greece.)
The best way to get about was to hire bikes (only 3 euros a day), and we went to Tingaki and Kos town by bike. The buses were good, especially if you bought the ticket in advance. We especially enjoyed eating at the Old River and Tsambalas (thanks Tina for the advice) but other places were good too. Kos has something for everyone, history, music, sun, beach etc and Smaragdi was a good base to experience it from. I think our only disappointment was that the bar was really quiet and we didn't meet many people there at all.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank creteloverSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Ok so where do we start?

We stayed at the Smaragdi apartments in Lambi just outside of Kos centre.
We could walk in to town in about 15 to 20 mins depending on the heat.

First impression – the outside looked nice and clean.
The reception area was quite large by Greek standards and plenty of seating.
The greeting we received from the lady on reception desk was warm and welcoming.
Not that it is particularly relevant but she was Australian/Greek and spoke very good English.

Now we can only comment specifically on our room which was number 6.

Again, first impressions was that it was clean and tidy with plenty of room.
You walked into the small but well equipped kitchen area and immediately to the right was the first bedroom/seating area.
Next room along to the right was the main bedroom with 2 single beds.
Straight ahead was the bathroom/toilet.

Okay now the nitty gritty.

Good points – clean, plenty of space, very well equipped kitchen area.
The staff were friendly and welcoming.
The main person, the one who was there most of the time and does the cooking and drink service and the one who, in our opinion is the face of the Smaragdi was Maria.

She worked really hard and a lot of hours (From 9am-5pm then from 8pm to whenever).
She always had a smile on her face and makes some rather nice cakes (ask to try some)

In the 2 weeks we were there we had no problem getting a sun bed.

Bad points –
Serious lack of power points/sockets – the kitchen area was well equipped, as mentioned, with toaster, kettle, mini oven, coffee maker BUT only ONE power point!
Main bedroom had ONE power point which we found we had to keep switching electrical items between kettle (which we had to boil in there whilst making breakfast in the kitchen), electric razor, camera charger, hair dryer, toothbrush, mobile phones.
The other room also only had ONE power point and that was in a daft place just underneath the light switch.

As is the case in many apartments and hotels you are supplied a key with a key fob and the fob has to go into a slot to switch on the power for the apartment. No problem except when you come in at night… when you step in, turn to close the door it becomes very dark indeed. You then have to try and find the key hole to lock the door and then try and find the slot to put the fob in the slot which is in the first room round the corner. And no it wasn’t possible to separate the two.
I fortunately brought a small torch just in case of a power cut. Came in really handy for locking door at night.

Storage/closet space was ridiculously limited. We had a half length built in cupboard/hanging space which was in the kitchen area.
NO hanging space/area in either of the bedrooms. So all three of us had to make do with this very small area to put 2 weeks worth of clothes.
The daft thing is there is plenty of room to put a full size double wardrobe in the main bedroom.

It’s a self catering apartment however there is no eating area or more specifically no table to eat anything on. There was a small very wobbly plastic table on the balcony. Barely big enough for 2 to eat at but the way it wobbled meant that wasn’t really possible anyway.

The walls are thin. Fortunately it was a relatively quite intake of holiday makers. That said, everytime someone flushed the toilet it sounded like it was in your own room.

Outside:- The area around the pool was a little tired and needed some TLC.
A few broken tiles close to the edge of the pool were in need of replacement as they were sharp and dangerous. The ladder which allowed entry and exit to/from pool was loose – very loose!

Last but by no means least – BEDS!
Horrendous! The worst mattresses we have ever slept, sorry attempted to sleep, on.
Just to give us a fighting chance of any sleep we had to use the thicker bed cover and put that on first then the sheet. It made little difference. One of the mattresses actually made so much spring noise when moving that alone would have been enough to wake the dead.

Just for reference:- We personally found a few really nice places to eat. Three of our favorite…
Turn left on to the road when leaving the hotel and walk up the road about 5-7mins and the very first taverna is on the left opposite the fire station. This is a place we ate at several times and found the food and service excellent.

Continue down the road to the supermarket and turn right. Continue down this road for about 15-17mins and you will be just outside of Kos town centre. Just before you get that far look down the side roads for a place called Boomerang. A fantastic place to eat!

Finally…get to the square in Kos town and look out for Jumbo Style.
REALLY BIG PORTIONS! Great guy/owner – Australian/Greek.

Check out my blog for some pictures.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnCSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just returned from a week at the smaragdi.
Typically Greek accomodation basic but very clean.
The rooms are comftable and have a kettle!
Air con was needed very reasonable 4 euros a night
Pool area was cleaned every day only complaint some of the sunbeds were broken.
As for the local ammenities supermarket over road not very well stocked but has what you need ,the one at the top of the road has everything and is cheap .
The walk into Kos town takes 25 mins out of apartments turn left to the top of road turn right and keep going we only did this early morning or at sunset so was not to uncomftable!
We ate most nights at Anjelicas house which is at the far end of the beach food was great and good value meal for 2 was 40 euros with alcohol and was the only place that did not pressure you to dine in lots of good retaurants in kos town
All in all great holiday stay here if you get it cheap enough there was even a bath to stand in to shower and a shower curtain most unlike greece!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crollav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Hi

Family of 4, kids aged 13 and 9. Stayed at the apartments for 2 weeks at the start of July and first impressions were that they were basic. We were put in a small room at the front of the building which had a really small balcony so I asked for a move and the manager Judy could not do enough to help.

We were moved to a downstairs apartment which was 10 feet from the pool area and even though still small the balcony was great and a small step over for the kids got them in the pool in seconds. The pool area is lovely and even though the apartments were full we all managed to get the same beds every day. The rooms are clean and tidy, cleaned 6 days out of 7 with clean sheets and towels every few days. The pool bar area did basic but nice food during the day and Maria looked after us really well. Judy's daughter worked the reception back shift and she was amazing and again really helpful. Cannot complain about any part of the complex and would highly recommend it. Thanks Judy, Tina and Maria x

Lambi is a quiet area and about a 20 min walk into Kos town (recommend a short taxi ride instead of walking only 6 euro and takes 2 min) The is a fantastic taverna just 5 min up the road from the complex Tsambala good food and a smashing wee guys that works really hard to please, another place is at the corner just at the beach (10 min walk) called the blue phoenix the guys in there were amazing. On average 4 meals, 2 kids and 2 adults and lots of wine was around 50-55 euros. Kos town is fantastic lovely tavernas and bars but be warned gentlemen there are loads of shops for the ladies to spend the money.

We loved the holiday, we booked with Olympic and flew with Jet2 and both were bril, was a bit nervous about Olympic as it was more a budget holiday but was every bit as good as previous holidays at a fraction of the cost.

If you want any info email davie.harvie@yahoo.co.uk and I will be happy to help

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos hotels
2.6 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aegean Houses
Aegean Houses
#13 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ampavris Family Apartments
Ampavris Family Apartments
#14 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olympia Apartments
Olympia Apartments
#47 of 49 in Kos Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diamond Apartments
Diamond Apartments
#35 of 49 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Studios

Property: Smaragdi Studios
Address: | Lambi, 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 218 Hotels in Kos
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Smaragdi Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Studios kós
Smaragdi Studios Hotel kós

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing