We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smaragdi Studios
Nearby Hotels
Leonidas Hotel & Studios(Kos Town)(Great Value!)
$31
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$269
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Triton Hotel(Kos Town)(Great Value!)
$53
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$318
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$692
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
113
91
24
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
91
24
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue phoenixgreek nightkos townthe crossroadsair consmall supermarket oppositebigger supermarketgood sizeturn left out of the hotelexcellent maid serviceminute walkper daytwo weeksself cateringhired bikespool areadolphin square
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 233 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2011

At Smaragdi you get what you pay for (maybe) it has gone down hill in the last few years but still ok value for money. Pool area needs some TLC, lots of the sunbeds are broken and need replacing but the pool itself is well maintained. Rooms are very basic with not much room for storage so if going for 2 weeks take some coat hangers with you. Bathrooms need general overhall as taps suffering from lime in water and need a good scrub! Location is lovley, set back on a beautifull tree lined road and just 10 mins from lambi beach and Kos town only 20 mins walk away. Very relaxing holiday but a pushbike is mandatory, we all go back to our childhood!! One last point, when arriving early hours of morning ask night man to put outside lights so you can find your room !

Room Tip: Ask for accomadation at back of complex, quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed at the Smaragdi for 1 week in mid September after getting an amazingly cheap deal through Olympic Holidays. Considering the price paid we were not expecting too much from the accommodation but we were pleasantly surprised to find our studio apartment to be clean, bright and well equipped. Nice bathroom with shower, bath & plenty of hot water, kitchen had all the usual utensils & pots including a toaster, we took our own mugs (we both prefer a mug of coffee in the morning rather than a little cup) they even had a hairdryer. The apartment was cleaned every day and the bedding and towels were changed regularly. The pool area & pool bar were very pleasant, plenty of shade if needed and no problem getting a sun bed, being late in the season the water in the pool was quite refreshing but very nice as long as you kept moving, There is a small supermarket opposite the apartments and a much larger one at the crossroads down the road.

You can take a slow stroll into Kos Town in 20 – 25 minutes, lots of guests hire bikes. Just down the road from the apartments (opposite the fire station) is a very nice taverna called the Tsambla , very handy if you want to eat nearby. There are lots of places to eat in Kos Town, the ones on the harbour are a little bit more expensive than those up the side streets, our favourite for quality of food & price was The Caravan (link attached) it’s up a side street and you might have to wait for a table but it’s well worth it.

http://www.tonyainsworth.co.uk/caravan.htm

We also went on a 3 islands boat trip, if you do this trip please go on the Katerina, we had a fantastic day, the price €21 included a lovely lunch. You can book up at the harbour in the evening as the boat goes out every day, George will show you round and only requires a small deposit, they limit the number of passengers so that it’s not too crowded, the day we went we were the only boat that saw dolphins.

http://www.tonyainsworth.co.uk/katerina.htm

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al+Lyn-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed in the Smaragdi september 2010, these apartments are in a good location, near enough to kos town to walk, about 20/25 mins or you can hire a bike and cycle to kos in a few mins, they have great cycle paths so its very easy to do. The beach in Lambi is very good the sunbeds cost about 6 euro for the day or if you go down a bit further near the taverna the old river they are free as long as you buy a drink from their bar, the drinks are a little expensive so either way it works out about the same.
There are plenty of places to eat, i can recommend the taverna near the hotel very good value, there are too many places in Kos town itself, but if you ask Judy or Constantina they will give you a few places to try.
The Smaragdi is a great place to stay, clean, nice pool, and above all great staff, we are going to book for next September. Yassas Judy, Constantina, Tellis.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Henleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed between 10th and 24th July and would reccomend Smaragdi for familys.couples and groups. The location is in a quiet area of Lambi and is really close to the beach and restuarants.
Please try Tsambla Taverna which is located 5 mins from the apartments as you head towards Lambi beach on the left hand side of the road and run by a really freindly family and good service. Meal for 3 inc wine/beer 40 euros.
All at Smaragdi was good although was a bit noisy at night but we were directly opposite the bar.
Pool area was generally busy but always able to get sun bed.
Cleaners came in 6 days a week and change towels every other day and sheets every 3-4 days.
Would probably go back to KOS and would def stay at Smaragdi Apts.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arewetheiryet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Smaragdi is a lovely hotel! it looks clean and fairly new as well from the outside and is the same on the inside. The rooms are fairly basic but they all are in greece. We were in room 14 and our cleaner was really good, she came everyday and swepped and mopped the floor. sheets were changed every 3 days and the bins everyday apart from their day off which was sunday. some reviews say the cleaners wernt good but each block had different cleaners so i suppose it depends which room your in. Ours was very good and nice as well.
The hotel is just down the road from Lambi centre where thers a supermarket and some tavernas. Id recommend hiring bikes which are cheapest at the place nearest the hotel and are very useful. we managed to get ones with baskets on the front and back which was great, and all the bikes have lock things on the wheels too, and front and back dynamos. Its a longer walk to Kos Town but not majorly far, and there you will find many many restaurant and shops. The chinese which is near dolphin roundabout (which is kind of the centre of the town) is very very good and also does takeaway and free delivery to the hotel! (which we discovered after cycling there :S) though i wouldnt go to the restaurant opposite the boats under a big tree as it was rubbish, very expensive and the service was horrendous! try searching out smaller tavernas further from the harbour where service is friendly and the food is traditional and very nice! If your not up to cycling or walking then taxis are around 7 euros or the bus is just 1 euro each and there is a bus stop in lambi or 2mins from the hotel (if you turn right after going out of it instead of left towards lambi). The bus comes around every 15mins. To get home get the number 2 bus and get off either in lambi or at the other bus stop. If your not sure just say smaragdi to the driver and they will point it out for you which stop.

The pool at the hotel is lovely too. I managed to get the same sun lounger for the entire 2 week holiday yaaaay! and as people leave their inflatable lilos there was plenty to use in the pool :) The pool snack bar is nice too. In particular id recommend the special pitta or ask for egg and chips :D Maria who works there is amazing and just so friendly and nice! and she makes the BEST cake ever!!

The hotel staff are all really friendly and happy to help with anything. they even ordered us a takeaway one night and were happy to ring people or call you a taxi or whatever.

This doesnt have anything to do with smaragdi but im a horserider and i feel i should mention theres a brilliant stables on the island, Saltlake Stables near Marmari, as nobody told me about it but i managed to get Leo who runs the hotel to sort it out for me. It was so much fun and we had a great gallop along the beach! :D

Overall the hotel was great and i would definatly recommend it to everyone!

oh p.s. for those who reviewed the hotel badly previously: you must be the SLOWEST walkers ever as its a 7 minute walk to lambi and 25 minsish to kos town, we timed it. also we only encountered one mosquito the entire 2 weeks which we managed to swat with a newspaper! also, the air con is very good value and worth getting and seen as though the hotel only gets 10euros per room per night and the rest goes to olympic or whichever goliday company it seems fair that they have to make some money somewhere! So to everyone who is put off by that review, just completely IGNORE it because its a load of rubbish anyway and very untrue!

p.p.s forgot to mention that channel 16 on the Tv is the one that has the most english stuff, with total wipeout and desperate housewives every weeknight when we were there. i also got addictde to greeks next top model hehe!

p.p.p.s dont wana be mean to olympic but all the trips they do you can find much cheaper in kos town, dont go the harbour though you will get harrased! the ones just down from macdonalds on the right are good and id recommend the island tour which was very good and the guide knew pretty much everything about the island!!

oh also, if your going soon then look out for 3 black and white kittens, theyre soooooo cute!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dingabell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews