We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irene Apartments”
Review of Irene Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irene Apartments
Ranked #2 of 54 Kos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bramham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Irene Apartments”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have recently returned from our second visit to the Irene Apartments in Psalidi. My friend and I have been going away from a week in the sun (without husbands) for 15 years, this is the first time we have every gone back anywhere and we're really glad we did.

The apartments are fairly standard Greek accommodation - although you do get a proper wall-mounted shower, with a shower tray and curtain not a hole in the bathroom floor! and they are kept spotlessly clean.

What makes this place really special is the family that owns it - Ilias, Nick and Jack are excellent hosts who can't do enough to make your holiday go well. They have a superb knack of making you feel like you are staying with friends while at the same time providing excellent service.

Breakfast at the snack bar was so good and reasonably priced that we didn't bother to cook anything in the apartment and usually kept us going until we went out for dinner at night.

Don't worry that they don't currently have a contract with a tour operator (although they hopefully should have one by next season). We booked flight, accommodation and transfers separately and got a really good deal (transfer tip - make sure they know you are going to the Irene in Psalidi because there is another one in Tigakik, which is miles away!) Let's face it you don't really need a tour rep - all they want to do is sell you overpriced excursions! Nick, Jack and Ilias are more than happy to help out with anything else - they booked a taxi for us to get to out boat trip, reconfirmed our return transfers and sorted out transport for us to get to Zia for sunset.

Out and about - the apartments are a short level stroll to the beach where there is a good selection of tavernas - we had good meals at Mavroumatis, Akrogiali, Blue Ocean and Nestoras. Beyond that it is a further 20 minutes into Kos Town where there are endless options for eating, shopping, boat trips and even culture. We ate at Zorbas on our first visit two years ago and went back again this time - the Lamb Zorba is to die for!!

Don't listen to anybody who says don't go to Greece because of the economic problems. Give Kos and the Irene Apartments a go - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank valbramham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    24
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
64
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Had the best holiday ever suprised our family by being there already Thanks to Nic,Jack and Elias ,For the Fantastic birthday barbacue for my Aunt .
Nothing was to much trouble,Great food Great company ,Great weather ,Lots of laughter and lots to drink,cant wait to go back in July with all the family,Looking forward to pool partys and bar BQ,And Happy hour that lasts all day with the Family and my Friends in irenes give Rex big cuddles from us and love and kisses to you all,See you soonxxxx

Room Tip: All Rooms have great facillities ,but you will not sit in your room as Kos is so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yassibaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

another lovely holiday at the irene apartments june 2nd just for one week ,what can l say been there at least four times before if not more l am losing count now, going back in august for more fun in the sun with Elias, Nick ,Jack and not forgetting Rex the doggy are always pleased to see you and bend over backwards to make your stay the best ever. The guys are funny and always entertaining ,with Elias cooking the bbq and leading the dancing on greek night ,(nick does a mean spag bol as well the best ever) ,with freshly prepared food and all the drink you could ask for ,a lovely clean pool to cool off in ,what more could you ask for,kos town within walking distance or take the bus from across the road, shops down the road for groceries and anything you may need ,if you are young or just young at heart there cant be many people who dont enjoy their holiday at irene,s we just celebrated our good friend junes 70th birthday there because thats where she wanted to be ,like l said young at heart so, forget greeces problems and book yourselves a holiday to remember ,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST HAM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have just returned from a week in the Irene Apartments and what a week it was......fantastic fun and hospitality.....nothing is too much trouble for these guys.......waiter service is not advertised but believe me I was waited on hand and foot.....these guys have a way of making everyone feel welcome......they know your name after 10 minutes and can remember every one's drink even if there is a crowd of you......It's small, very friendly and perfect for family's and couples.....everyone is welcomed......loved it so much I'm going back in 6 weeks.......if you want a good time then book here......value for money and guaranteed fun XXX

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and well kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We found this place on the Internet and we decided that being self-catering, it suited us.
The complex is essentually a quadrangle, with the apartments on two sides and the bar with seating along with a snooker and football tables occupying the other two sides - and the irregular shaped swimming pool in the middle, and close by, a circular children's pool next to the Reception building.
Our apartment was clean and well kept with twin beds and a TV, a seperate washroom with shower, there is also a balcony at the rear with a table for two, accessable through the main patio door.
During the day the hotel was quiet, with people swimming and sunbathing, but at night it can be rather rowdy, with guests at the outdoor bar, the sound of their voices amplified by the enclosed space of the quadrangle, as all the doors and side windows of the apartments faced inwards. The noise tend to go on until about midnight, although the bar itself stays open until two in the morning. Sunday night was the exception, when the bar closed early.
A good place to stay if you are a late riser and your holiday is centered around evenings.
Irene is located about 400 metres from the beach (and there is a busy road to cross) and it takes roughly 35-40 minutes to walk to the town of Kos (i.e. to the castle).
Good snacks were also served at the bar, we enjoyed one of their omeletes with French fries and salad. Overall, a very good holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sauna-Nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST HAM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

we have stayed at the Irene's for the past 3 years now, this is one great family who go to any lengths to ensure you have a great time I have been a guest here 5 times over 3 years.....I dont wanna go anywhere else !! we love it

Room Tip: they're all the same......clean and cosy !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We was recomended by family to go to the irene apartments as we had such a bad holiday in kos town at one of the hotels,And what a holiday we had they must be the greatist family in greece nothing is to much trouble at ant time day or night ,clean room clean bedding and towels, even coffee at 7.00 in the morning with our friend elias,they even let me weed the garden when i wanted.the local resturants are cheap and great food,the two boys nic and jack are freindly and so respectful to everyone.the whole family and friends made us so welcome i did not want to leave and going back in september.
cant wait... yammas look after my family xxxxx

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yassibaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos hotels
0.3 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#17 of 19 in Psalidi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irene Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irene Apartments

Property: Irene Apartments
Address: Odissoy Street | Iraklis Place, 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irene Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Irene Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irene Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing