We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good typical Greek food”
Review of Old Time

Old Time
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Kastellorizo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good typical Greek food”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very typical Greek food, very tasty. This was a very pleasant experience, the owner was very friendly. We followed his recommendation and were very pleased. The Mezes are very good, as actually everything else. The prices are absolutely reasonable and the quality of the food excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katamete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    21
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer 2014”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Kastellorizio is a charming and wonderful place. We were very disappointed to be grossly over charged at this family restaurant where "Despina" comes every morning to cook for the owner Cominino. We were charged 380euros for a fish dinner for five persons without a first course,wine,salad nor dessert. Diners beware when they suggest fish for dinner.......... I would suggest one goes next door to Alexandra's" where La Mama cooks delicious wonderful food and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luziah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Kastellorizo”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We tried almost all the restaurants along the harbour, and Old Time was by far the best. The owner insisted that we try the dolmades (stuffed vine leaves) and they were exceptional.

Every dish we ordered was great, and the owner was always friendly. If you go to one restaurant on Kastellorizo, make it this one!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“For relaxed dinner - guzel bir aksam yemegi ”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We came here which is in the middle of harbor after we read the comments.
Really good good restaurant which i can say hidden beauty.
Very delicious food and no need to bother your self for the food choices. You might leave your order to Komninos suggestion and just enjoy the night with bottle (maybe two) Retzina...
Guzel ve huzurlu bir aksam yemegi icin siddetle tavsiye ederim. Kendinizi Komninos beyin tavsiyelerine birakin ve Retzina'nin muhtesem tadina varin.
Bu arada restoran limanin ortasinda havaalininda degil.

Helpful?
Thank Hasan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Classic Greek Food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We came to the island from Kas for the day, so I wanted to try some classically Greek food to contrast with the Turkish food we'd been eating. This place definitely did the trick.

Greek salad was excellent, with amazing tomatoes and cold cucumbers. Moussaka was also fantastic, freshly made, lots of bechamel and tender eggplant. Octopus stifado was also good, with tender octopus and an addictive sauce that we soaked up with bread. The only dish that was just OK was the gigantes (butter beans), which were a bit undersalted and nothing super special.

Had a bottle of retsina for 5 euros with all of this, and prices were very reasonable considering the amount of food. I've eaten Greek food all over Greece, as well as in Europe and USA, and this was a great representation.

Lots of other restaurants on the island mostly specializing in fish, so if that's what you're looking for, this might not be the place. But if you want classic Greek dishes, this is excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Time also viewed

Kastellorizo, Dodecanese
Kastellorizo, Dodecanese
 
Kastellorizo, Dodecanese
Kastellorizo, Dodecanese
 

Been to Old Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing