We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday unusual island”
Review of Normas Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalymnos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normas Village
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalymnos
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great setting in the mountains and useful spot to use as a base to explore the island. We recommend hiring a moped at 10e a day for the whole week. We should have done more research into things to visit and see as there's not much info and if you're driving it's pot luck when you see a brown sign. beaches are fairly pebbly of grey sand and not much in the way of marine life if you like to snorkel. however the sea was lovely.
Hotel was lacking any evening music and only one quiz to entertain but pool area was very pleasant for a budget job and plenty of shade by the bar area. Rooms were a good size and our's had a lovely aspect over olive groves and hills.
Our main gripe on this island was the infestation of big hornets that scavenge your food. apparently a eco-nut reintroduced them to the island and they're out of control now! they're all over the island. A meal out about uk prices. Red wine v. cheap from smarket down road. beer 60p a small can. can't go wrong! take loads of insect repellent from wilko.

Altogether a great experience but would be boring without transport. Both had a ripping time throughout the week with fellow holiday pals pete and linda, roger and karen.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Normas Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just come back from a lovely week at Normas. Norma and her daughters are very helpful and made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. Rooms where kept very clean, with clean sheets and towels, with the most wonderful views of the mountains from our balcony.
It was an ideal base to see the island with a few Tavernas within a 5-10 minute stroll. Our favourite was Nikolas Taverna, just out of Normas onto main road then turn left, 5 mins walk. Nikos works very hard and trys to please all his customers with his home cooked food.
Myrties was about 45 minutes walk (where you can catch the boat taxi to Telendros), its quite a steep hill but the views are lovely. Zorbas Taverna on Telendros was lovely place to have lunch with great views and atmosphere.
We didn't hire a car on this holiday but we used a Taxi on 3 days to take us to Emborios(boats where cancelled as too rough), Vylchadia, lovely beach and Peronisisos , fantastic pebble beach with clear water and a couple of tavernas and few sunbeds.
We also had the lazy day cruise, went to Pserimos island, BBQ on boat at Platy and swim and then visited Vathy, It was a brill day and for 40 Euros each it was a great day.
We loved the island, so quite, and as usual all the people on the island were friendly.
Norma and her family made our holiday special and would not hesitate to recommend this place if you like traditional greek life.
(Thanks to Norma for making my Birthday special together with some lovely people staying here, Lisa and John, Karen and Roger.
FANTASTIC HOLIDAY!!!

Room Tip: If you email Norma and let her know what you like, she will do her best to provide if possible
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolphinwatchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at Norma's village for a week at the end of July 13. Fantastic. Good value, easy going and friendly. Beach bars and local tavernas all in walking distance. Make sure you grab a taxi one evening (4 euros over the hill to myrties) and take the ferry to telendos (4 euro return) for a meal. Rooms are clean, neat and tidy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maximoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at Normas in july 2013. The pool area is great but a few more parasolls are needed.
A bit quiet in the evening as no music is played. Norma and family very hospitable. The food is ok but you eat better in one of the nearby restaurants.
Rooms are small. (No 2) And very basic. Not really easy to cook anything so we didn't.
Kalymnos is quiet and it feels a bit like the island has given up. It is hard to rent a car despite the fact that there are not so many guests as usual. Small beaches that need a bit of a clean up...Very friendly people. Perhaps a bit over priced (it was a while ago we were in Greece) Well worth a visit but perhaps only once.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Got back from Norma's village 2 days ago and had the most wonderful, relaxing time. Following a rather traumatic start to the year it was just what we needed.

From the moment that we walked up the lane to Norma's and entered the gate we knew that we were going to love it. Norma greeted us, gave us our room key then a few minutes later she came to our room to explain all that we needed to know.

Our top floor room room (No 10) was large, basic (what we expected given the Olympic rating) and clean, with a large terrace with views of the mountains and Norma's small olive grove. The kitchen area had a normal sized fridge, 2 cooking rings and a small but perfectly adequate kettle and was equipped for 3 people ie 3 plates, bowls, small bowls, mugs, and cutlery. There was a frying pan and a couple of saucepans, all with lids, colander, chopping board, small cutting knife, bread knife, ladle and turner. Also a washing up bowl. The crockery matched and wasn't chipped, crazed or in any way disgusting and the pans were in good condition too. The sink had hot and cold water (sometimes we've only had cold). I took my own washing up liquid, washing up sponge/scourer, dishcloth and tea towel. Why should it be provided I say? (Apparently tea towels used to be provided until guests starting using them to polish their shoes). You could certainly whip up a simple meal with what was provided. I didn't - I was on holiday - but with the mini market behind Norma's and a very good, large supermarket a 5 minute walk away, it wouldn't be difficult.

The sleeping area was very spacious with 2 single beds each with a bedside cabinet, a large wardrobe with plenty of hangers, a mirror with a drawer underneath and a wall-mounted TV which only seemed to have Greek channels but that was fine by us as we don't go on holiday to watch TV.

The bathroom was small but ok. Large shower area, loo and basin. The hot water was always plentiful and the shower pressure was amazing. It did take a long time and a lot of fiddling to get the temperature right but I'm rather spoilt with the showers that we have at home so might be quite normal! My critisism of the shower would be that the hose came out of the wall really high up and the shower head had only one height which was so high I could barely reach it to hook the shower up. All fine if you just want the water pouring onto you but I like to unhook the shower or have it nearer my head to rinse it after washing my hair. But that was all a bit difficult with the position of the hose and the shower head being high. My husband found it all fine so it was probably just me!

The terrace, as mentioned before was lovely and big with a plastic table and 3 plastic chairs on it. The problem here was that the chairs had been painted (over the plastic) and the paint peeled off all over our backs! There was a double washing line along the front of the balcony with plenty of pegs and just great for swimsuits and towels.

The swimming pool was divine and never crowded, often feeling like our own private pool. There were lots of sunbeds and you could collect a padded mattress for them. The terrace around the pool was largely in the sun but there were a few umbrellas and we never had any difficulty in getting one.

Next to the pool is another large terrace all covered over and therefore shady, with chairs and tables and the bar where you could buy drinks and snacks. We didn't find the prices at all unreasonable and the food was very tasty. Also in this area is a bookcase with quite a selection of books that previous guests have left behind. Just off this area were toilets and 2 showers.

On Sunday Norma offers a Sunday roast which we decided to book. It was delicious. We had an enormous piece of lamb, roast potatoes and masses of peas, sweetcorn and carrots - easily enough for 4 people oh and lovely thick gravy. It cost 12 euros each and was worth every cent. It makes us sound very British ordering a roast in Greece and we do love Greek food but we just fancied it and would do it again.

On Monday there was a Quiz Night. For 10 euros per person you could pre-order food then pay 1 euro per person to do the quiz (you didn't have to have the food) and any surplus money went to charity. It was general knowledge and photos of famous people and was great fun.

Air conditioning, which we had, was 6 euros a day and there was a safe in the wardrobe that we didn't have so no idea of the cost of that.

The small beach was a 5 minute walk away but the sea was really rough. It was very picturesque though with the restaurants (of which there weren't many) around the sea wall.

There was a mini market directly behind the hotel and a large, clean and bright supermarket about 5 - 10 minutes away.

We went to Massouri and Myrties on the bus. Had to get a taxi back as the bus failed to turn up! We took a ferry from Myrties to Telendos and had lunch over there. Very nice. Also took the boat to Emborios. We were told it would be 15 euros each return but the journey was so scary as it was windy and rough (to us landlubbers) that we decided to get the bus back so he charged us 7.5 euros each for 1 way which surprised me as I thought he'd charge more (based on single fares in the UK!). And I think getting the bus back was the best thing to do because the scenery was spectacular and you just didn't see it on the boat, being lower down. Also took the bus to Pothia but were glad to escape the noise and return to the peace at Norma's.

The reason I didn't award 5 circles is probably petty but the bed linen and towels and the struggles I had with the shower didn't make it quite perfect. The bed linen was very tired and bobbly and even with my rhinoserous type skin wasn't very nice to sleep on. The towels were not brilliant either. Having said that, sheets and towels smelt lovely and clean. The good thing was that the mattress had a protector on it and the pillow had 2 pillow cases so at least a bit of a barrier between you and someone else's dribble! In all my many, many years of going to Greece that has never happened and this year I remembered to pack pillow cases.

Kalymnos is gorgeous and we really hope to go back in the not-too-distant future. We'd hire a car next time as there is still so much to see but this was always intended as a chill-out holiday.

I can't think of anywhere I'd rather stay than Norma's Village.

Don't go with ridiculous expectations and love it for what it is. If you want high thread count bed linen, big fluffy towels, microwave, proper cooker and a posh shower like I have at home, book a luxury villa and pay the appropriate price otherwise just be realistic. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. I didn't hear anyone complaining.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Normas is cheap and cheerful but clean and loved. Room 15 is probably the nicest in the place. Accommodation is basic and kitchen equipment is minimal BUT everything you need is provided. The beach is a 5 minute walk, there are plenty of tavernas, the view to the mountains is phenomenal...here you can find peace. There was a heatwave while we were there and the mosquitoes were out in force from dusk until dawn...they are vicious, be warned! The island is small and there is not a lot to see but plenty enough for a relaxing week. We hired a scooter so we could take it at our own pace. The people are kind, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with inland view. The balconies are more private and the morning sun is won...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blackdragonwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our visit to Kalymnos and Normas (Norma's) Village was a welcome and pleasant surprise. The large airy room (8) had wonderful views over orchards and to rugged hills nearby. The small hotel was wonderfully peaceful. Beaches and the attractive tourist village of Myrties and Massouri were all nearby. Norma and family were pleasant hosts. The lovely pool and grounds were clean.
The ferry over from Kos was enjoyable and part of the adventure. Hope that we can return again soon. Fun to see so many large Scarce Swallowtail butterflies.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bob t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalymnos
0.4 mi away
Kantouni Beach Hotel
Kantouni Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Panormos
90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in Massouri
148 reviews
1.4 mi away
MasouriBlu Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#3 of 4 in Massouri
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
H Hotel Zephyros
H Hotel Zephyros
#2 of 2 in Myrties
5 reviews
17.7 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#30 of 39 in Kardamena
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normas Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normas Village

Address: Panormos Valley, 852 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kalymnos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalymnos
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norma's Village is a family run complex offering high standard accommodation with a warm and friendly welcome. Established in 1988, Norma's Village attracts couples, families with children of all ages or senior citizens who wish to experience the real Greek islands. Norma, Manoli, Kalotina, Maria, Pantelis and Michalitsa will go out of their way to offer you a relaxing holiday and a memorable experience. Norma's village is an oasis in Panormos Valley, off the main road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Normas Village kálimnos
Normas Village Hotel kálimnos
Normas Village Greece/Kalymnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing