We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Normas Village
Nearby Hotels
Plaza Hotel(Massouri)
$43
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Elies(Kalymnos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
85
40
16
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
40
16
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiz nighther daughterair congood sizeplenty of sunbedsnext yearpool arealaid backmini marketsunday roastgreat holidayolympic repapartment was cleantwo weekssecond weekthree course mealil posto
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 162 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had a lovely time, not a island i would return to as there are plenty more greek islands to see, and yes Norma and her family are very nice, but the rooms are in need of a make over, i would never complain about towels and linen but this has to be mentioned they are awful, the towels and linen where clean but very shabbey!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaviesWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed for a relaxing week at Norma's Village, friendly family run complex.
As a first time guest I found that there was no bias towards me in favour of repeat visitors like other reviewers have suggested. and was made to feel very welcome.

The only problem with the olympic holiday was flying with TOR AIR everything else was perfect.

Would return some day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daz2397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Accomodation - Very basic but clean. Having read some of the reviews on here about Norma we was a little apprehensive as to what to expect when we arrived. On arrival we had a friendly welcome from Norma. Norma and her family work hard and are happy to help with anything. Norma's Village has many repeat visitors each year and they are very popular with Norma as they seem to spend most of the time around the pool every day spending money at the bar and for food. We prefer to explore the island and eat at different places each time so didn't spend much time at the bar and didn't try any of the food. Must admit seeing Mash potatoes and Pukka Pie on the menu was a little off putting, to make everything "English" in another country is a personal pet hate of ours when on holiday as we prefer to appreciate the country's culture, food and live how they live so to speak. Norma did offer other options and there was a couple of Greek dishes available but in the main most dishes was typical English food. Not a great Vegetarian selection either :( Despite not spending much money there Norma was still friendly to us. Our room was basic but clean, bedding was a little tired but changed twice whilst we was there, beds were terrible! didn't get a decent nights sleep due to them being so hard. Would recommend new mattresses. We bought supplies from the supermarket and ate breakfast on the balcony every morning which was lovely looking out on the amazing views. (if your a cat lover please please please buy them some cat food or take some with you like we did, there are a few cats around the olive groves that would really appreciate the extra food as they are all quite thin). There are 3 supermarkets in Panormas, the bigger/main one is the cheapest, if you come out of Normas and head to the bus stop, opposite the bus stop is an alley way, follow that and it brings you out the the supermarket (approx 10 mins walk)

Local area - Panormas is a good place to be based, two beaches really close by which are Linaria and Kantouni. The area has some lovely places to eat and our favourites were the two sea food restaurants at Linaria which are always full of locals which is a good sign. Both served fresh fish and are right of the sea front with beautiful views out n the bay with amazing sunsets, Il Posto in Panormas square (which is actually a circle) serves a lovely mussel souvlaki. There is another place which I cant remember the name of but the owner is called Mihalis and its a real family affair, its only small and is on one of the small back roads in Panormas (I think it may be next to a place called Nicholas?) I had an amazing octopus stifado there and the hospitality was second to none, we was even invited to share the birthday celebrations of a family member as was given some birthday cake too!

Scuba Diving - If you Scuba Dive highly recommend the dive centre at Hotel Elies (Kalymnos Diving Center), Tiia Porri is a brilliant dive master and we thoroughly enjoyed our dive with her and Eric. Also recommed Kalymnos Diving Club at Therma (just up from Pothia) Mihalis and Dimitris are lovely, Mihalis is a brilliant dive master too.

The island - Would recommend hiring a moped from the little yellow place opposite Hotel Elies, very reasonable and good bikes, the bus service is every two hours! If you do hire a bike or car, the island is a lovely place to explore. Rina is a lovely bay with really good places to eat in the square. Pothia is worth seeing and is Emporios. There are lots of little villages so stop off at along the way. Telendos is an absolute must for both charm, local life and food. Would recommend eating there on an evening and watching the sunset, looking back on to Kalymnos is lovely too as it goes dark and all the lights start to come on. Massouri is a nice place too, bit more busier than anywhere else I have mentioned but has a nice vibe to it.

Would recommend finding a lovely taverna anywhere on the island where you can either people watch or take in the amazing views Kalymnos has to offer, order yourself a bottle of Retsina and some Octopus balls....perfect! Yamos!

We loved Kalymnos but would not return simply because we have done it all there now and the world is a big place with lot to see and do. We had a great week and didnt have anything bad to report from either our stay with Norma or Kalymnos itself.

Room Tip: Recommend the rooms overlooking the olive groves instead of the ones overlooking the pool if you want a more peaceful stay
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flipperDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We returned from 2 wks at Norma's this week and there is so much right with the place but just a few little improvements could take this to being a 4* venue.

I'll get the tiny negatives out of the way
As seen on previous reviews the bedding and towels need to be replaced. When they were replaced they were obviously clean but had stains on that were clearly old and was quite off putting. there was also a spare pillow without a cover in one of the cupboard and it was horrible!
If I was going to cook I don't think the portable 2 ring supplied was good enough - having said that we never cooked once as we either had salads or ate out.
the shower was cold on the first day but got better the bottom of the shower curtain was filthy. I think the towels should get changed every other day.
The area around the bar and pool needs to have some safety lighting for those returning later on a night.
They are just littlepoints that if addressed would make this the perfect place.

Positives (and there are many)
I had e-mailed Norma and asked if it was possible to have a cake for my wife's birthday and she provided a beautiful one wish was lovely of her.
On arrival Norma was very welcoming and every time we saw her she lovely and always asking if we were alright.
The rooms we had were very spacious and had lovely views. The small complex has a great swimming pool and plenty of sunbeds. The beach is less than 5 minutes walk away and there are some lovely places to eat nearby.
There is a great feeling of people all being on holiday together around the pool and bar area and it is a truely lovely place to be on holiday.

Room Tip: You can e-mail and ask for room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

just got back from another great holiday on beautiful kalymnos and cant wait to return to normas next year.when we read any bad reviews on here we really struggle to believe how anyone can find anything to complain about as normas village is beautiful and all the family are friendly and cant do enough for you....we will be returning again next year and cant wait....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna080176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews