We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NORMA,S VILLAGE”
Review of Normas Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalymnos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normas Village
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalymnos
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Just returned from Kalymnos,where we stayed at Norma,s Village,what a dream come true.Having just read some of the reports of people who have stayed at Norma,s I find it incredible that some reviews have been so scathing about the accommodation.We have travelled to Greece for holidays for the past 37yrs and Norma,s has been by far the cleanest,friendliest and picturesque setting we have encounted so far,by a long chalk.Not once did we have a requirement denied,in actual fact the smallest "foible"3 pieces of ice in my Ouzo,was not forgotten,the whole family,Norma ,Peter,Michelle were a lovely trio,and should be proud of themselves for being so amiable.If you get the chance,go to KALYMNOS and make sure you stay at NORMA,S VILLAGE.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank silverfoxnutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Normas Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 158 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at Normas village first 2 weeks of the season. Room was very basic but you expect that in Greece but you don't expect it to be dirty. Kettle and cooker faulty. My kettle plug socket actually came out of the wall. I also had an electric shock plugging my ipod in which later broke. Bed linen was thread bear and probably 20 years old.
The bathroom was filthy and shower didnt work properly. My parents bathroom had blood stains on the tiles. Think even the cockroaches had packed up and moved out.
The one day i dropped something on the floor and found all mould under the fridge. We stayed in the block furthest from the bar and pool. And whatever you do, do not bring a can of pop near the pool. We got chucked out our room early cus the cleaner turned up 10 to 9 in the morning and because we couldnt have a cuppa tea cus the electric was off all morning. We got a ticking off for that even tho we spent money in there everyday. But we never spent any more money in there after that.
We went to the quiz night they have every week and it was full of locals with the same questions all the time and we got told the locals always win so we never took part in the quiz after that. We got charged 10 Euros for fish and chips on quiz night which was overcooked. If it wasn't for the people in our block and one or 2 other lovely people we probably would of left after a week. The only people that rant and rave about normas are the ones that go back every year and are up her backside. Im not normally a fussy person as ive been coming to greece for years and know its basic but this has to be one of the worst i have ever stayed in.
Kalymnos was a lovely place tho and the beach was beautiful, ANd if you can pop into the bar rock and blue and see kosta as he is a right laugh. Just wish we spent the first week down there aswell as the 2nd. And don't miss out on the cake shop up the top of town. they was really nice and a really good price and the staff are lovely

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheekycharliechuck86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We have holidayed oh this island on and off for years but this was our first time in this accomodation. We decided to stay here because cosmetically it looked fabulous when we walked through last year. And there is no doubt of the love some holiday makers shower on this place. That affection however leads them to mislead the owners and perhaps themselves to the impact of poor maintenance and standoffish attitudes on the overall holiday maker experience.

Yes the apartment was large and the pool nice (it's what caught our eye and got us to book, but...

Frankly this is the first time that I dreaded returning to my accomodation. First and foremost there was no water for several days; Norma fained shock at the news of this yet we discovered that others in the same building had gone without for up to 9 days- Really not good enough! Why not announce the problem up front instead of leaving guests with the issue of raising a complaint. We discovered that the people next door had gone without water all week because they didn't want to cause any upset - please people wake up!!! A family with young children could have moved in after you with potentially health threatening consequences, really you do no one any favours with your silence,

We ended up spending more time than we wanted around the accomodation simply to ensure someone dealt with some of our complaints. We were self catering yet neither the kettle nor the cooker worked - again not an unusual occurence whilst we were at Norma's and again not initially believed by the owner. And a simple thing, it took a week to provide a can opener / bottle opener...even with the rep's intersession. Did I mention the cardboard unsuccessfully used as noise dampeners on the beds...

The cooker extractor was so filthy that we just could not touch it...as this was the second week of the season the flith was left over from last year. The wardrobe was inadequate because of the broken drawers and unlined and stained hardboard shelving.

The motion sensor for the exterior light was on the wrong side of the approach meaning you had to either walk back and forward downstairs to trigger the light or risk life and limb by climbing the uneven stairs and walking past the door in order to provide light enough to unlock the door.

After our fortnight the plumbing issue was still not fully resolved - we'd been unable to sleep in the bedroom because of the dreadful noise from the pump adjacent to our apartment. Instead we slept some nights in the living room / kitchen with an unwelcome guest for company...Others here talk about cockroaches - we had at least one, but got so saddended at having to constantly complain that we just bought chemicals to deal with the situation oursleves.

The pool and bar areas are quiet but not necessarily in a good way. The bar itself is daunting to approach...and the onwers don't emerge from behind it. Many return visitors rave about the welcome; that may be the case for returning guests and those spending significant money across the bar - if you do not fall into those categories you may find yourselves, as we did, largely ignored unless you literally force the owners to acknowldege you...and note to the owners some of your guests speak sufficient Greek to grasp what you talk about amongst yourselves whilst you overtly ignore them!

I accept there has been a family bereavement but the unapproachability we experiencecd is the complete antithesis of usual Greek and especially our normal Klymnian experience. Never before have we had to refer problems to our rep-...we did so on this occassion simply because we never trully believed anything would be resolved solely on our say so.., anpther first in all our years in Greece.

We will still return to our beloved Kalymnos but never to Norma's.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greccophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stayed at Normas Village for 2 weeks this May.
I found it to be an exceptionally friendly place with the family always willing to help.
The rooms were of a good size, well equiped, even had a kettle, and kept extremely clean by the maids.
I am disabled and had one of their adapted rooms which I requested directly with Norma after booking with Olympic. Norma actually took the trouble to reply to my emails.
The only downside was that the adapted rooms are 2 steps down from the pool area even though everywhere else is ramped. You could get round this by walking further up the lane and entering the complex from the back if you use a frame or wheelchair and can't manage the steps.

The pool area was clean and you could always get a sunbed round it.

The beaches have no sunbeds surprisingly, so you have to sit on the sand, which I always do anyway. Most days I spent on the beach, I was the only person there. There is lots of dried seaweed on them which could be cleared. They are not the best beaches I have seen in Greece but adequate.

Best food and value for food is at Marinos, a family run place, which is just off the roundabout, the enclosed fronted place with brown frames. Once I discovered them I never ate anywhere else. They have a good selection of daily deals. They don't charge for bread either unlike others.
If you want something simple ie Greek salad and large Mythos the price was 5.5 Euros, cheap at the side of others and the salad was large.

Normas Village is definately a place I would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Normas Village is a very friendly place, it is family run, I have been visiting Normas for years. It is a hotel where all the guests are made very welcome by the family.
The rooms are clean & tidy & it is set in one of the nicest locations on Kalymnos, about 10mins walk from the beach. The pool is very clean with sunbeds around it.
All in all I would recommend Normas Village as a perfect place to stay for both families & couples.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Our family (Myself, my husband and 4 children) have used Norma's since 1994. We returned frequently because Norma, Manoli, Kalotina, Maria, Pantelis and Mixalitsa always met all our needs and have become the most genuine friends over the years. The apartments are large, clean and comfortable with balconies overlooking the pool or the orchard. I always felt the children were safe as the pool and bar area are central and well planned. The children loved the pool and we where also a short walk to the beaches of Kantouni and Linaria. The pool bar provides everything you need (fabulous salads) and there are Taverna's within walking distance. The Quiz nights are great fun. Our children are grown up now but still come to Norma's with their partners as Norma's orchard really does cater for all. We now spend lots of time at Norma's swimming and relaxing and we are planning to bring our new grandchild next year.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynKalymnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Norms village has the fortune of being on one of the most beautiful islands in Greece. Her and her family will go above and beyond to help and make your stay as nice as possible. The atmosphere at norms is relaxed, peaceful and laid back, just what you need on holiday. Clean rooms with a well water pool so it's not salty like most on the island! A+++++++++

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karinml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalymnos hotels
0.4 mi away
Kantouni Beach Hotel
Kantouni Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Panormos
90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in Massouri
147 reviews
1.4 mi away
MasouriBlu Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#3 of 4 in Massouri
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
H Hotel Zephyros
H Hotel Zephyros
#2 of 2 in Myrties
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elies
Hotel Elies
#10 of 11 in Kalymnos
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normas Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normas Village

Address: Panormos Valley, 852 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kalymnos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalymnos
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norma's Village is a family run complex offering high standard accommodation with a warm and friendly welcome. Established in 1988, Norma's Village attracts couples, families with children of all ages or senior citizens who wish to experience the real Greek islands. Norma, Manoli, Kalotina, Maria, Pantelis and Michalitsa will go out of their way to offer you a relaxing holiday and a memorable experience. Norma's village is an oasis in Panormos Valley, off the main road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Normas Village kálimnos
Normas Village Hotel kálimnos
Normas Village Greece/Kalymnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing