We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Philoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Philoxenia
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kalymnos
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and our room wasn't ready so it didn't start off very well. We were given a room for the night and had to move the next evening. The hotel was clean and the pool looked nice, the bar had 24 hour service which was good. We felt that we were imposing on the family a bit as there was a public holiday going on. It would have been better if the room had a fridge. The breakfast was disappointing and we only found out that we could order a cooked breakfast after we'd been there a few days and found some lovely breakfast places in the town. For a hotel we felt that the service could be much better and the owners of the hotel could have got a lot more money out of us had we felt more comfortable in the hotel. If we went back we would definately do self catering.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnicle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
40
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

A nice small family run hotel on the outskirts of the village Massouri with a magnificent view of the island Telendos and the huge rock climbing mountains that rise behind the hotel make a stay here magical.
One-bedroom apartments are spacious and comfortable, but the kitchen has a very simple equipment. Nothing for those who have in mind to cook own dinner on the holiday, but perfect for to fix simple breakfast. Availability can be debated, there is no elevator, but the 3rd floor can be accessed via the road to the car park at the rear. The terraces is very big and nice, but no sun protection in the form of sun umbrellas, which would be needed when the sun is on all day until 20:00 when it goes down behind Telendos. The breakfast buffet is nothing to boast of, very simple continental breakfast. Additional cost if you want to have a boiled egg, etc.
Nice pool and plenty of sun beds.
Anyway, the owners are incredibly hospitable and very eager so that we have a good stay. Dad George sits and cuddles in the shadow in his new Baden Baden, while his son Nikolas has taken over the responsibility, mam Maria makes magic in the kitchen and cook special dishes like Moussaka and Stifado, sweet sister Frosini make sure that we get Frappé, cold beer and everything we "points to" in the daytime and Nikolas girlfriend Eirini has always a helping hand! My husband and I are very pleased with our stay here and we can highly recommend Philoxenia!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EagleHillKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having stayed at the philoxenia about ten years ago we had a rough idea what to expect it was good then .But ten years on and it is even better nikolas and his family run the place like true business people . Food was good and resonably priced views too die for and a nice pool to relax around . Seriously looking at two weeks here next year. Nikolas can't remember if you said you said you were getting married this year or next have a good one whenever it it she is a gem and a good addition to your family see you all next year...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stay in June in 2013 one week, the hotel is close to Massouri in Kalymnos island the hotel is nice clean is run from local family very nice Nikolas the front man is very friendly the room is large clean whit wonderful view, I recommend for nice trip to the Island. I would recommend this to budget travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meddu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the moment that we stepped across the threshold of this hotel, we were impressed by the sheer warmth and hospitality of Nicolas, George, Maria and the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We dined at the hotel on number of occasions and found the food to be first class at a very reasonable price. Maria will cook anything to order, from traditional Greek cuisine through to English egg and chips! Our room overlooked the pool with a fantastic view across to Telendos and was clean and comfortable. Nicolas has an English degree from Oxford and speaks better English than I do! There is a large car park behind the hotel. The pool is clean and just the right size. Breakfasts are basic but quite adequate and set us up for a days climbing. For climbers, the position is absolutely ideal, just below the Grotta although it may be a little quiet for the younger climber! We are already looking forward to next year - one of our party is planning to stay fro a month later in the year. Superb!

Room Tip: We had rooms 324 and 326, which were quiet, air conditioned and very comfortable, at the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandad6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The hotel feels like home from the genuinely friendly welcome from Nikolas and his family to the clean and spacious rooms. We are so impressed we now use this hotel for all our climbing courses that we run in Kalymnos. The hotel is also ideally located for all the main climbing sectors.

Room Tip: Top floor have studio apartment's which are nice if you want some extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vertigo-Outdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We only stayed here two nights while searching for a long term apartment but we were pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel. The room had a massive patio with a stunning view and the bathroom had a full shower and tub with good water pressure. Nicolas, the owner, was welcoming and helpful. If you want to climb, it is in a spectacular location below the Grand Grotta. Overall, I would recommend this to budget travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quantum744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalymnos hotels
0.6 mi away
MasouriBlu Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Massouri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#4 of 5 in Massouri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kantouni Beach Hotel
Kantouni Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Panormos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Afroditi Hotel Studios
Afroditi Hotel Studios
#1 of 5 in Massouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
H hotel Ambiance
H hotel Ambiance
#2 of 5 in Massouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Philoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philoxenia

Property: Hotel Philoxenia
Address: Armeos | Armeos, 852 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kalymnos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kalymnos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philoxenia 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Philoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Philoxenia Greece/Kalymnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing