We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“untrustworthy owners”
Review of Ilias Studios

Ilias Studios
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilias Studios
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay there as we had researched exactly what we were looking for. Very reasonable and central location... BUT...booked through Travel Republic but were told they had not been paid and had to settle in cash...
the woman is an outright crook... this dispute remains unsettled 3 months later

Room Tip: some rooms on main road might be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Stayed for 2 weeks at the Ilias in late August/early September.

The property is located on Elies Square, a busy roundabout in Panormos/Elies, not a bad location with beaches 10-15 min walk away, and a bus stop and unofficial taxi rank on the roundabout. The rest of the immediate area consists of a good taverna/bar right on the Square called Il Posto, the prices are reasonable and the staff charming. The food is also good, with both Greek and other types of food on offer. There is a mini market, gift shop and take-away pizza place underneath the Ilias accomodation. Opposite, next to the bus stop, is a small kiosk selling similar things to the mini-market. Down the road that leads to the beaches there is a cake/ice cream place and another small supermarket (next to the garage), as well as some more gift shops.

The studios themselves are very basic, however we've never been to Greece. Another couple said they were of a good standard compared to other Greek studios they've stayed at. We were in room 3, overlooking the roundabout with a balcony. We had 2 single beds, a desk with TV (only Greek channels though), a wardrobe and some drawers. The kitchen area consisted of a small fridge, kettle and 2 hot plates. The bathroom had a toilet, sink and shower. Our shower was very disappointing however, the pressure of the water was far too low so we ended up having to crouch underneath the tap in order to shower. The room was generally clean and the sheets and towels were changed twice weekly. Air conditioning is extra, at €5 per day - this is essential! The rooms get so hot and stuffy that you won't be able to sleep without the a/c, and it is heavenly to come into a cool room after a day in the sun. We were also offered a late check-out for €15, which meant we could stay in the room until 1700 rather than 1200.

There is a now-defunct snack bar by the pool, but the fact that it is no longer open means that the owners are more than happy for you to take your own food and drink to the pool area. There is a small shaded area near the pool with a few tables and chairs, a good place to relax and chat with a few cans of Mythos!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_EFC_1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We booked a last minute through Olympic holidays. The studios were quite poor. Some apartments weren't cleaned. A.C. wasn't working properly, took a couple of days to get it fixed. The agent told us we would be beside a lively square but it turned out to be a busy round about on a main road. Wasn't close to good beaches or restaurants. The bus was always packed so we had to take taxis all the time.
Also, we thought the hotel would be in Pothea but it wasn't, it was in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrelandSushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: si possible,eviter les studios coté rue ( un peu bruyante)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalymnos hotels
0.0 mi away
Maria's Apartments
Maria's Apartments
#1 of 1 in Skalia
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
H Hotel Pserimos Villas
H Hotel Pserimos Villas
#1 of 3 in Pserimos
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Studios Aeolos
Studios Aeolos
#1 of 1 in Kamari
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Climbing House
Climbing House
#1 of 1 in Panormos
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Melina Hotel
Villa Melina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kalimnos
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in Massouri
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilias Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilias Studios

Address: Elies Square, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kalymnos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Kalymnos
Price Range: $28 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ilias Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilias Studios Greece/Kalymnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing