We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places in the world I ever stayed”
Review of Kalderimi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kalderimi
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Excellent location, amazing place, incredibly friendly staff...... I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evdokimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Kalderimi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

We spent four magical days in the Kalderimi and were sorry to leave!
Both my husband and myself are very demanding when on vacation and we could find NOTHING wanting.
The owners , Katerina and Michelis, were friendly and extremely helpful. We felt like guests in their very well run household. They kept recommending which beach to go to every day according to the weather and their restaurant suggestions were perfect.
We stayed in the Agnandi suite which commands wonderful views.
What could we say? Perfect!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank alexsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed at Kalderimi in September 2009 as part of a trip around the Dodecanese. We spent 5 days here, at the end of our 16 days.

Astipalia is a beautiful and rather "unspoiled" island, at least in September when we went, apparently it can get pretty busy and crazy during the peak season (July and August).. we therefore experienced a very laid back and relaxing stay, and Kalderimi was certainly a perfect place to stay.

The hotel/b&b is located half-way between the city centre and the main beach, giving excellent views of both. The place is family-owned and run and Katerina does bring that extra special touch to pretty much everything, from room decoration to that special breakfast served with the most breathtaking views.

Accommodation can be of 2 basic types, the traditional 1 bedroom with basic kitchenette + bathroom and the more luxurious studio which is split over 2 levels, has 2 bathrooms and a much bigger living space. Value is relatively good for luxury standard accommodation but certainly much more expensive than the average greek b&b.. which given the standard offered here is not that surprising. The rooms are very charming, cosy, clean and well equipped, with tv, nice bath linen and complementary toiletries.

Overall we loved the stay here, not wanting to sound cheesy the owners do really make the difference, with the excellent advice we received we were able to explore the different island beaches with our little scooter and find good places to eat..

On the basic stuff, there's a parking for your small car/scooter, takes credit/debit card, has wireless connection in the main breakfast area and Katerina will be super helpful to arrange transportation to and from the main harbor, we were picked up by her son on arrival for no extra charge.

Only drawbacks are a lack of swimming pool (but really.. with those beaches.. who cares) and the slight lack of seclusion from the road as it's all open spaces, but maybe that will be addressed in coming years as the recent project develops further.

Overall a fantastic place to stay and we wouldn't stay elsewhere on Astipalia even after having seen on site the other possibilities that we had considered.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise_Routard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Astypalea is dream of holiday, and especially Kalderimi. 
Staying at this particular hotel is a real treat. For those who seek beauty and poetry, this is the place to be chosen. The apartments are cozy, absolutely clean, spacious and fully equipped, similar to small cottages. Each apartment has its own character, and each is architectonically beautiful. The view of the Livadi bay is great and you really feel that you are in a peaceful and special place. But what makes it the most special is the feeling of welcome by Katerina and Michelis, the hosts, and Anna, their daughter, who serves breakfast with home made pastry, fresh squeezed orange juice and all you wish, on request. We are still thinking of them and really would like to meet them soon again! They are very friendly, just fantastic people. We would recommend this place to everyone who wants to go to Greece, enjoy a beautiful island, and stay in a wonderful place. After having visited various Greek islands and stayed in different hotels, we definitely think that Kalderimi is at the top of the list. Richard Kraemer and Sabina Gallati, Berne, Switzerland.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astypalea_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I spent 6 days at the Kalderimi Hotel as part of our honeymoon.
We have to say that it was the best choice we could have ever made. The apartment we had was very nice, cozy, and refined in every detail.
The view of the bay is great and you really feel that you are in a peaceful and special place.
But what makes it the most special is the feeling of welcome by Katerina and Michelis, who are very, very nice people……and also their daughter Anna, who serves breakfast (which is homemade and very good!), is very sweet!
We would recommend this place to everyone who wants to go to Greece, enjoy a beautiful island, and stay in a wonderful place!
We hope to go back there soon! Thank you for everything to Katerina and Michelis!
Caterina and Michael

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Staying at traditional Kalderimi is a treat. We stayed at Araxovoli and Girouli (2 of Kalderimi traditional houses) on July 2008 with our best friends Dimitris and Cosmo! for one week....wished we could stay more!!!!!!!
A great sea view and relaxing stay on an excellent,quiet location!!
The rooms are cozy, incredibly clean, spacious and fully equipped! They are like small weekend cottages!!!
The hospitality of Katerina,Michelis and their children is something special.
We are still thinking of them and really would like to meet them soon again!!
They are very friendly, warm,.....just fantastic people!!
The beautiful town of Astipalaia is at walking distance from Kalderimi.
The beach in front of the suites is a nice sandy beach but you can explore by car some other magnificent as well!!
Don't miss to visit that amazing place....it's a small paradise to relaaaax!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Convenient location to reach Livadi and Chora on foot. Fantastic view to the sea. Excellent breakfast. Each appartment has its own character. Architectonically excellent. But the best of all are Michelis and Katina, the owners. People with an orama for their work and island, always available for a caring and warm chat, always willing to help and learn from their visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astipalea hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Castillio
Hotel Castillio
#9 of 14 in Astipalea
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia
0.4 mi away
Aphrodite Studios
Aphrodite Studios
#1 of 14 in Astipalea
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
#6 of 14 in Astipalea
194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maltezana Beach Hotel
Maltezana Beach Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astipalea
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradissos Hotel
Paradissos Hotel
#13 of 14 in Astipalea
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalderimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalderimi

Address: Xora, 859 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Astipalea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Price Range: $62 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalderimi 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kalderimi, a picturesque place with individual houses,witch represents our love and respect for keeping alive the tradition of Astypalaia. Seeing the view towards the sea and the serenity of the landscape fills your heart with joy.The owners has given a lot of love and care for this special place so the customers will feel like being in their own house.Everything to the last detail is taking care of, and awaits you to live in a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Kalderimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalderimi Hotel Astipalaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing