We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home! Extraordinary hosts!”
Review of Kalderimi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kalderimi
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home away from home! Extraordinary hosts!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was invited to join my best friend and her family in August 2013 for two weeks. I fell in love with the hotel..... I loved that each room was like a little home of it's own - spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The views every morning from the breakfast area was refreshing and inspiring..... And the breakfast was definitely prepared and served with love - still have beautiful memories of my many cappuccinos and yogurt with fruit or cheeries!

Katerina and her family are extraordinary hosts! I loved their passion for their hotel in providing excellent facilities and ensuring each guest was well taken care of.... A gem which must be experienced and enjoyed in one's lifetime! Recommend and commend highly! Hope to see you soon.

Lots of love
Roxanne
Xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triniroxie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a wonderful place we have found on Astypalaia! This was our first time there and have found this place through tripadvisor. We travelled with one child and friends. And I am sure we’ll go again on our next trip. It was just beautiful. The Hotel has very tastefully decorated, spacious and very clean apartments. A wonderful mixture of traditional and modern. The view is breathtaking, with the bay + beach on one side and the capital Hora on the other. Fantastic during the day and just as amazing sitting on the balcony with a glass of red wine looking at the endless starry sky at night.
On a more practical note: there is soap, shampoo, even a shaver and also a hair dryer provided. The towels are changed whenever you want to. There also is a sound system for the music lovers that want to bring some CD’s. There is a TV, but we never even had time to use it.
You might want to hire a car if you want to explore more beaches and places, but the walk down to the bay only takes about 7 minutes, a bit longer up, especially when you had some great Greek food and wine!
For most of the beaches I would recommend to bring some footwear to get into the water with. It really is a bit awkward to get over the stones, though a great laugh for people watching! There are also some sea urchins to look out for. But the water is absolutely crystal clear and refreshing.
Katerina was always there to help or just a friendly chat. Making us feel very welcome. The same with her family. Anna was going out of her way to make a great breakfast unforgettable! Anything you could want. Eggs in whichever way you want, breads, juice, cakes that were made fresh every day, coffees etc. Absolutely amazing! A wonderful way to start a day and if you have it a bit later you could even skip Lunch.
Thank you very much for everything, we had a fantastic time and I am sure we’ll be back, next time bringing our young adult children with us!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

i went last year with my wife for ten days. It was fantastic.
Every room is like a small house in the island with fantastic view from the balkony. The internal of the room is like it has been decorated very nicely. The rooms are big and very clean.
The breakfast is like a five star hotel and weverything you request is prepared instantly by an old lady with fresh eggs fruits every thing.
The owners are very very kind and they do what ever is required to make you feel like you best friend has lent you his house in an island for a week!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioannistrianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Kalderimi is the perfect place if you are looking for quiet, comfort and simplicity. Katerina and her family are friendly, helpful and customer oriented. Breakfast is delicious, home made. Our studio was very comfortable, and nicely decorated. The whole place is extremely clean and well taken care of. The terrace is overlooking the sea, which is well appreciated while eating breakfast or relaxing in the evening. A perfect place to rest and enjoy the beauties of Astypalaia. Kalderimi is at a walking distance from Chora, a nice and charming small city. Astypalaia is welcoming and remains typical, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pairelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kalderimi, responded to this review, May 30, 2015
Many thanks for your kind comment
It is always nice and interesting to hear positive feedback from our guests.
It is also very encouraging for all of us here at Kalderimi that gives us strength to continue our efforts for better holiday experiences to all visitors.
Warm Greetings from Kalderimi Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Kalderimi for a seven days,this was the best week and the best holiday ever!The owners make us feel like home with their kidness and hospitality.What a lovely hotel ,with a fantastic view.Everything is very styiish,the attention to detail is impressive.The breakfast is pretty good!Overal perfect!I promise to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia111144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We fount these great apartments threw trip advisor. Was trip advisors first choice and we booked it with out second thought. It was great choice. This family business will warranty your pleasurable stay to this magnificent island! Clean spacey rooms near the sea provide quiet sleep (you will listen only the waves of the sea). The breakfast is magnificent. All homemade goodies from the island and family's garden. The cakes and pies are delicious. Don't leave the island without tasting them. Your transport from the harbor or the airport is the last thing you should bother about, as they will arrange it for you at no cost! If you need to rent a car they will provide you with really low prices. We are sure that you will enjoy their hospitality and a worries free stay to this fantastic island!
Our stay was short but we are looking forward to visit again the beauties of Astipalaia and Kalderimi Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagelis_mKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Kalderimi for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it, especially the delicious breakfast with full view of the sea.
Each room is decorated in a unique and colourful style.
The hosts are very charming, helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataschaAndreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astipalea hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Castillio
Hotel Castillio
#9 of 14 in Astipalea
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia
0.4 mi away
Aphrodite Studios
Aphrodite Studios
#1 of 14 in Astipalea
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
#5 of 14 in Astipalea
190 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maltezana Beach Hotel
Maltezana Beach Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astipalea
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradissos Hotel
Paradissos Hotel
#12 of 14 in Astipalea
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalderimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalderimi

Property: Kalderimi
Address: Xora, 859 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Astipalea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalderimi 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kalderimi, a picturesque place with individual houses,witch represents our love and respect for keeping alive the tradition of Astypalaia. Seeing the view towards the sea and the serenity of the landscape fills your heart with joy.The owners has given a lot of love and care for this special place so the customers will feel like being in their own house.Everything to the last detail is taking care of, and awaits you to live in a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Kalderimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalderimi Hotel Astipalaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing