We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”
Review of Kalderimi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalderimi
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astipalaia
Certificate of Excellence
Blain, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Kaldeirimi is such a beautiful hotel! We stayed in Girouli in september and it was so relaxing. The accomodation is spacious and the decoration is beautiful and tasteful. The service is perfect, the breakfasts delicious with a great view. Katerina is very welcoming, with great advice about the island. We had a wonderful week in Astypalea. The island is peaceful in september, with beautiful empty sandy beaches (we loved Steno, with shade for us and the car) but there is a lively atmosphere in Chora around the windmills in the evening. Nice tavernas, picturesque harbours, dramatic rocky mountains full of goats, beauty everywhere! Arriving and living so early in the morning by ferry even made it a magical experience.We'd love to go back!

Room Tip: Girouli is perfect if you like peace and quiet and a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryvonne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
84
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is situated in an amazing place, and is structured in such a way that you feel you are staying in a small Aegean village. All rooms are very good decorated and so clean that it feels
like home. The breakfast is very good and the owners both Katerina and her husband are very kind persons always willing to help you.
There's no other place to stay in Astypalaia like Kalderimi...it's a an original
Boutique Hotel in actions and not words!!!!



  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLKarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamone, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

we have been in Kalderimi for one week in September 2012, and we have to say that the previous comments were absolutely true. The location is awesome, the rooms are like a luxury hotel transformed in a traditional house: sea view, terrace, aircon, kitchen, shower and bath ( we had a jacuzzi in the suite!!)..Katerina is like a mother for all the guests, she take care about everything, really everything, beautiful brakfasts, she provided the car, she suggested all the places where to go on the sea, to eat and so on...and!! she invited us for a real traditional lunch on the beach, fish soup made by her and his super nice husband Mickelis...and when we said "we like also octopus!", Mickelis wen in the sea and in five minutes he fished an octopus!! so, what to say more...Go in Kalderimi!! it is the best choice for your holiday in Astypalaia, believe me!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Giulio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Beautiful rooms with amazing views and friendly attentive hospitality. Not only is Astypalaia a a gorgeous Greek island, out of the way and very authentic, but the people are also kind and generous. I hope that will not change. The family running this hotel is honest and always thinking of ways to help their guests. The breakfast is fresh and very homemade. I have been travelling the Greek islands for over 20 years and this is one of the best experiences I have had. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms higher up behind the office as there is a view of the castle and the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank it w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been visiting many different Egean islands in the last 20 years and this hotel certainly ranks among the first in terms of location, style of the rooms, hearty and "truly homemade" breakfasts, kindness of the owner and quality/price. Let's hope that Astypalia, and its tourist industry,does not run into the same sad destiny of places like Mykonos and Folegandros ...

Max and Giu

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Kalderimi is a very special place, a gem on the unique, fantastic island of Astypalaia where guests can experience the warmth, kindness and generosity of the Greek hospitality in beautiful surroundings.

The hotel itself is comprised of beautifully done traditional houses and its website shows exactly how these houses are. It is really a great job done because guests can truly rely on the information and the photos of the website when choosing a house (www.kalderimi.gr). All houses are individually done by the family of Katerina and Micheli who together with their two children run this family business with the help of a lovely lady in the kitchen who cooks amazing breakfasts!!

What makes Kalderimi so extremely special are the genuine smiles and the love they all put in being there for their guests. One feels immediately at home, nothing is too much trouble, they are all so genuine, so friendly, so hospitable!! We felt wonderful at Kalderimi and it touched our soul to know that there are people with so much love in them and so much hospitality!
Of course the surrounding on this amazing island of Astypalaia is also unique. A quiet, not affected by mass-tourism island, with great beaches, fantastic food at very reasonable prices, a 'Chora' with its castle that takes your heart and mind away and genuine, friendly people all around.
Katerina and her family have many suggestions all of which are wonderful and guarantee the best experience of all that the island has to offer whether that is where to swim, where to eat, where to go for an ice-cream, what to see, which local products to buy or where to go for an excursion.
A big Thank You from the bottom of our heart to all the family for being the perfect hosts and making Kalderimi and Astypalaia our own home too, one that we look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: The website of the hotel is truly fantastic in choosing a house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandns310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Kalderimi is the perfect choise if you're looking for a real relaxing place, in a beatiful island, far away from crowded greek islands during summer time. Katerina and her staff will provide you all requested attention in a very discrete way .
Every morning a very good breakfast will wait for you on the common terrace facing the beautiful Livadi beach view.
A familiar place to return to feel the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astipalaia hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Castillio
Hotel Castillio
#8 of 14 in Astipalaia
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia
0.1 mi away
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
#5 of 14 in Astipalaia
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aphrodite Studios
Aphrodite Studios
#1 of 14 in Astipalaia
148 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maltezana Beach Hotel
Maltezana Beach Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astipalaia
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Studios Kilindra
Studios Kilindra
#6 of 14 in Astipalaia
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalderimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalderimi

Property: Kalderimi
Address: Xora, 859 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Astipalaia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astipalaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalderimi 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kalderimi, a picturesque place with individual houses,witch represents our love and respect for keeping alive the tradition of Astypalaia. Seeing the view towards the sea and the serenity of the landscape fills your heart with joy.The owners has given a lot of love and care for this special place so the customers will feel like being in their own house.Everything to the last detail is taking care of, and awaits you to live in a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kalderimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalderimi Hotel Astipalaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing