We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast, lunch coffee”

Archipelago Cafe & Bar
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Astipalea
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

This place has an outstanding view of the Chora and castle as well as a tiny private bay/beach below. I ordered fresh baked bread with marmalade and it came out hot and the marmalade was delicious. The service was very attentive and friendly. It’s a super chill hang with good vibes.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank angelob713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 268 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Greek food isn't filled with many options when it comes to sweet so when you see an opportunity like the archipelago you should give it a try !
Great cakes and lovely waîtresses

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Julien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

I have decided to write to all of my reviews for Astypalaia restaurants (except for one) the following phrase (which is not necessarily fully applicable for all of them) : "in general, the food we tasted in the island was the worse experience throughout our journey and the worse we have ever tastes in a Greek island; the reason for this in our opinion is that the owners of the restaurants do not feel the need to offer more qualitative dishes since the majority of tourists are satisfied to a lower food quality and since the owners are not interested to establish long-term relationship with the customer given that there is constant renewal".

The review has arisen from four visits that we paid at the specific cafe.
The view is really spectacular, since you have an unobstructed view of the chora and the castle.
The sweets bare interesting, but nothing special, we tasted a ganoush chocolate pie with paper, ekmek, ekmek nougatina.
They were ok.
Nice tries.

The central point of disappointment arose when we visited archipelagos for breakfast.
One out of the two dishes we ordered was bread with butter and marmalade.
Though the available marmelades were two we could order just one ; it would be efficient to add both of them in smaller portions if the client wished so.
Nevertheless, this was not the main problem.
The bread was not fresh; it was hard even to chew it.
In my opinion if this is the case you must tell to the client that the specific dish is not available.
It is totally inappropriate to serve this kind of bread.

The other dish with olive-bread was ok.
Nothing special, but not so bad.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Ster Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Great location with a view of the castle. Cozy , stylish, unique. Chill mood and gentle and cool staff. Great variety of sweets and deserts. We visited this place every day for a coffee and a desert and it’s the place we enjoyed the most while on the island.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank tasost750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

If you fancy an afternoon pick me-up or prefer something home-made for dessert after your dinner, then this is your place! An extensive range of superb desserts to match the superb view of Chora. Also an oasis of tranquility, slightly away from the thump thump noise of the cocktail bars in Chora.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ChrisK154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archipelago Cafe & Bar also viewed

Astipalea, Dodecanese
Astipalea, Dodecanese
 
Astipalea, Dodecanese
Astipalea, Dodecanese
 
Astipalea, Dodecanese
Astipalea, Dodecanese
 

Been to Archipelago Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing