We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best places I have ever stayed”
Review of Castellano Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castellano Village
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have left this studios this morning, and get it out of my mind! I couldn't find a better place for my short vacation in the magical Astypalaia. It was unfortunately too short, but enough to enchant me. The view is absolutely unique from every single room, the staff friendly as I have never, and never seen before, but what has surprised me so much is the silence, and the clients who really enjoy it. There are 2 beaches nearby, one that is sandy and with umbrellas and another one under a cliff (the beach of Plakes), both at a short distance by foot, and a car is not strictly recommended to move around the island, as the bus stop to Chora and Livadi is really very near the hotel. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank italy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Castellano studios is a perfect choice for your vacations at a beautiful island.Great,well sized,full equipeed traditionally decorated rooms with a beautiful view,which combines the sea,the pool and the Chora. Very close to the most beautiful beaches of the island,Mple Limanaki and Plakes and 20 minutes from Chora and Livadi. Maltezana is an excellent choice for relaxing vacations and Astypalaia is a beautiful island with many places to see and enjoy.We stayed for 5 days and everything was perfect. The family who runs the Studios is very kind and always with a smile on theirs faces,ready to answer all of your requests. Don't forget to ask Maria to tell you where to eat,drink and swim on Astypalaia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterKaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Castellano studios is a really beautiful place for a vacation. There are many beaches around, one more beautiful than the other. I liked the view on the sea from our apartment which was always clean. The owners were really nice to us. We had a really great time.

Room Tip: i think every room has a balcony to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onlyKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited Castellano studios during our last trip to Astypalaia in July 2013 and we could not be more happy with our choice!
It is fantastic recently built village with many studios and a lovely communal space with a large pool. The studios were large and clean and the owners were always around and willing to share information and advice for visiting the island. It is very good located, close to the beach, making it an ideal place for relaxing holidays. I would definitely like to go back and would recommend it to everybody!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Konstantina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Castellano studios are exactly what the photos present. Well decorated rooms,well sized, with sea/pool view. We stayed there for a week, we had daily cleaning services and our stay there was absolutely a great value. Maria and her family,run a beautiful business which does not lack anything from a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to reception and parking.those rooms are close to the pool so if you are staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrysaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

After staying several nights at the Pylaia which was gorgeous, I looked for a less expensive option since I'm staying on the island for 11 nights. The Castellano Studios (which is really a hotel) are absolutely fantastic. The design and architecture of the hotel is beautiful and perfect, the rooms are very clean in traditional style, extremely comfortable with little balconies or terraces with a/c and tv, and very nice kitchenettes. There is a patio with an absolutely spectacular view of the bay and islands of the coast, a beautiful pool which has been empty for most of the time I've been here, very comfortable chairs. The owners, a family from Athens, are extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is very well run with a great internet connection as well (much better than at the Pylaia!)

The location is about a 10-minute walk from Maltezana, a very peaceful village with a few wonderful tavernas on the water, and in my opinion, one of the nicest places on the island. Some of the best beaches and views can be found here on this part of the island. Although the Castellano is a 10-minute drive from the Chora, most people rent cars anyhow here, but if you don't (as I haven't), it's nice to be able to walk to the beaches in Maltezana (although a bit hilly this part of the island is much flatter than the Chora) and there is a local bus which runs very regularly and connects all the towns on the island - so very convenient to get around. Also, people here are constantly offering rides and it is so safe here it's got to be one of the only places in the world where one could still hitchhike!! The landscape consists of golden brown rolling hills and mountains and there are sheep grazing here on the property behind the pool. It is a paradise.

There is also a boat from the small port at Maltezana which goes daily to visit the islands nearby. Literally just over the hill from the Castellano Studios is the now popular Plakas beach.

Astypalaia is a not very well-known island south of Santorini - not very easy to access but it's well worth the effort. I searched for an island which retains its local character and that is exactly what I found here. Mostly Greek tourists and some Italians and French.

Room Tip: all rooms are unique and special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The location is great the prices at the bar unreal also the owners let kids from the neigboorhood to come play in the pool and it becomes very crowded and noisy. When we complained they did not do anything about it! Pity it can be a great place....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yannis60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castellano Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Greetings Yannis,

thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are glad that you enjoyed the location of our property. As for the prices at the bar, taking into consideration many factors, prices have been reduced twice since 2012. We apologise for the incident with the kids in the swimming pool and our inability to solve the problem immediately to your satisfaction. Generally, keeping a calm enviroment at our property is a priority and we try to keep it like this as much as it is possible, especially at hours when people are relaxing or sleeping. Furthermore, we would like to add that this was an isolated incident that was poorly handled.
Certainly we are doing our best to keep this a great place.
We would be more than happy to have you again here and offer the relaxation that we failed to deliver the first time.

Best regards,
Nikos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astipalea hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castillio
Hotel Castillio
#9 of 14 in Astipalea
32 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aphrodite Studios
Aphrodite Studios
#1 of 14 in Astipalea
172 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maltezana Beach Hotel
Maltezana Beach Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astipalea
74 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
#6 of 14 in Astipalea
196 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kallichoron Art Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castellano Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellano Village

Address: Analipsis, 859 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Astipalea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Astipalea
Price Range: $75 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castellano Village 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castellano Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing