We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Astipalaia
North Fremantle Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Well situated to the Chora and Livadi beach,this hotel has a modern styling and comfortable appointments .The rooms are delightfully furnished and the beds very comfortable.
The facilities include a swimming pool ,ladies fashion shop and spa.
The breakfast is particularly good and the restaurant dining experience is of a high standard,although a little pricey compared to options in the Chora district , given the excellent service and views, is reasonable.
The staff are very helpful.
Connections to and from the airport-and boat harbour organised by the hotel are reliable and courteous.
A word of caution to would be travellers is that the hotel has many steps that require a degree of agility.

Room Tip: Select a room to suit your ability with the many steps in the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captgeoff1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    38
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
112
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

A great hotel on a wonderful island! We are a family of five and we spend one week on the hotel. The location is great with a very nice view of the aegean sea and within walking distance of the Chora (the main town of the island). Each room is very tastefully decorated and the beds are really amazing. Astypalea is a very beautiful island with great beaches and food and spending our week on the island in this great hotel made oue whole vacation so much better. We fully recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very nice hotel overall, great staff, good value, probably the best hotel on the island.
Big room, well insulated.
Only real negative was the long walk to the closest beach, especially the return uphill.
But, rent a car, and you can visit all the other great beaches on this island.
The same family owns the AKTI restaurant in HORA. Try it for an unforgettable eating experience hanging from the rocks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddie-jumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were there for a late summer vacation. The hotel staff and the overall accommodation were excellent and the facilities were fabulous. Definitely going back to stay at this fabulous hotel again!!! We would stronlgy recommend it to all travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sfakianakis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komotini, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had unforgetable holidays with incredible people. The hotel staff and the overall accomodation were excellent. We felt like being at home. The landscape was breathtaking. We will definetely come back soon. We would stronlgy recommend it to all travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandraGemitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We were very mush looking forward to our stay at Pylaia having been totally taken in by the hotel's website and booked to stay in the Honeymoon Suite for 7 nights. I would not advise anyone to avoid this hotel however, expectations need to be managed. Here are the positives and negatives:

Positives
- our suite was spacious with good air conditioning, a huge bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The terrace was also nice (albeit small) with a great view across the hotel swimming pools to the Aegean Sea.
- the design is exactly as it looks on the hotel website. Lots of white with contemporary furniture and fittings.
- great location. The views are great and the short relatively flat walk into Chora was good.
- we had a good lunch in the hotel restaurant. We didn't eat there again (other than breakfast) but the food was very good and we would recommend you to try it out.
- the staff were friendly.

Negatives
- house keeping was not particularly great. On occasion they missed removing dirty glasses and didn't always refresh toiletries.
- the mini bar is terrible: one large bottle of water and single bottles of diet coke, sprite and fanta.
- great Nespresso machine however after the first four capsules you have to pay one euro per additional capsule which we had to ask for from reception.
- we didn't get hot water for 24 hours although to be fair we took 24 hours to mention it to reception at which point they sorted it out.
- the swimming pool area had only four sun loungers of which two had broken slats. There were only then chairs which was a shame as this means very few people could fully utilise the facility.
- the hotel owns a car hire company and will rent you one of these vehicles. It's absolutely necessary to have a rental car n Astypalaia. However, the cars that make up their fleet are in a terrible condition and without a doubt, all of the cars we saw driving around from other hire companies were better quality.
- when we arrived we asked for two beers from the bar. They did not have any beer! I imagine that this was because the hotel was very quiet but come on, beers is a basic!
- breakfast was fine but nothing special. The coffee is like water...
- the hard product is already looking quite weathered.

All in all we enjoyed our stay so I wouldn't say that you should avoid staying at Pylaia but manage your expectations. You will not get a boutique hotel experience but a 3/4 star comfortable and contemporary base from which to explore this beautiful island.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were there for a late summer vacation. The hotel is very well situated, facilities were fabulous, the view magnificent, the staff friendly and helpful. Definitely going back to stay at this hotel again. See you soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petroula10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astipalaia hotels
0.0 mi away
Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia
0.3 mi away
Aphrodite Studios
Aphrodite Studios
#1 of 14 in Astipalaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalderimi
Kalderimi
#4 of 14 in Astipalaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Maltezana Beach Hotel
Maltezana Beach Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astipalaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Studios Kilindra
Studios Kilindra
#5 of 14 in Astipalaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Castillio
Hotel Castillio
#10 of 14 in Astipalaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pylaia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pylaia Boutique Hotel

Property: Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Address: Chora Astypalaia, 859 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Astipalaia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Astipalaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pylaia Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minimal contemporary design luxurious hotel (small luxury hotel) with 25 rooms and suites equipped with air conditioning, mini bar, LCD satellite and cable TV, CD/DVD player, writing desk, internet access, direct phone line, coco-mat sleeping systems, hair dryer, luxurious branded cosmetics and comforting amenities.Design hotel with traditional Astypalean architectural elements. It consists of the central building with the basic hotel facilities and 5 small two-floor buildings with the rooms and the suites.Pylaia Boutique Hotel overlooks the bay of Livadi, one of the biggest and most well-known places in the island. Distance to the beach nearly 300m. Distance to Chora nearly 200m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pylaia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing