We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Astipalaia
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were there for a late summer vacation. The hotel is very well situated, facilities were fabulous, the view magnificent, the staff friendly and helpful. Definitely going back to stay at this hotel again. See you soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petroula10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    38
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
112
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile


Great Hotel on a special Island. super Location a short walk from the Chora, the view over Livadi Bay so beautiful and relaxing, the morning sunrise on your terrace - enchanting!
I have no doubts that the service, the restaurant and all the rest are also great... when the personnel is there....

We were the last guests of the season and we were basically on our own. We booked well in advance the most expensive suite and we did that in a hurry because it was "THE LAST AVAILABLE..." and also because a number of people had been "BOOKING AND ENQUIRING MINUTES BEFORE US...."
In reality we were basically on our own and we strongly believe TA should take some initiative against this despicable practice of the booking agencies!

We were there the second week in October. two days after our arrival the last 3 guests checked out leaving us completely on our own for one or two days, then a lonely couple joined the party.
How can a "luxurious hotel" leave guests without the Manager, Chef, Concierge and all the rest of the staff.
NO Restaurant, NO Room service (not even the bed was remade in two separate days), NO drinks from the Bar, NO pool service and maintenance, LIMITED service for breakfast (we had to find cups an cutlery inside a cabinet) and all the rest?
The unattended pools (two small ones) were getting filthier by the day, left over empty bottles of beer were left in the pool bar all week. Did we pay the full fare to be treated like that?
A young nice helpful guy named Tassos was left to do everything, he made an effort but obviously he couldn't be there 24/7 and he couldn't even match the kind of service you can get in a cheap family owned B&B.
Having said all this we enjoyed our stay, it was "different" and actually at times even funny. We could walk in and out the hotel day and night pretending we were the owners, doors open, lights on, nobody around. We could keep our TV on a very high volume in the middle of the night and relax on our lonely sun baked terrace.
The hotel has a car renting business, first day we rented a car and soon we were stuck on a beach with no battery. Guess who came to the rescue within 15 minutes? Tassos!
We were given as a replacement a little rattling old jeep with no air con, we complained about the air con, the answer was: "Oh! That's ok..." We had a choice: to strangle the guy or have a laugh! We had a laugh.
The thing is that the overwhelming positive aspect of our experience cancels all the negative ones. Our suite was really great, huge, nicely furnished, the best shower ever, a large terrace over the pools area with a fantastic view, the breakfast area (the restaurant when it works.,,) is above everything else and the morning view is really something special but above all this island is unique, barren but beautiful and relatively unspoiled.
A very good experience all in all, we might even come back when the full staff is at work !!

BEWARE! Double check that the staff will still be there during your stay or you will end up in a FANTASTIC EXPENSIVE B&B WITH POOR SERVICE forgetting everything that is said in the hotel site or brochure!

One last comment: on October 3 we received a mail answering a couple of questions we had, the final paragraph was, I quote: "Looking forward welcoming you at Pylaia Boutique Hotel ,we remain at your disposal for any further inquiry you may have.
Warm Regards ,
Rossella Rubini"
We were quite keen to meet Rossella the manager....but we were told that she and the whole staff had gone by the middle of September!! Nice isn't it?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I came for 8 days, and i stayed 12 days.
After a few days, i knew it would be too short. Hotel is really great, view from my room was wonderful.
Everyone was friendly, Rossela is lovely, and Tassos, always ready to assist you. Breakfast buffet really great with as much fresh squeeze orange juice i could dream of :-)
And the Island is a really great place to escape from crowd, for cool, and calm vacations.
i rate 10/10.
harold de nanteuil - France

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haroldfromfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dona Di Piave, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were at Pylaia during the first September week. The hotel is not too big and offered us a personal and warm service, the staff was very attentive to our needs and let us feel like at home.
Our room was spacious and had a private terrace with beautiful sea view; room furnishing, decor and amenities were at a high level. Breakfast is very good, although it's quite funny that you have to pay extra for a coffee when you a have a nespresso machine in your room. We'd like to thank especially Tassos and Rossella for the caring attention during the whole stay.

Room Tip: We tried suite 43 (spectacular view) and room 35 (less luxurious but very quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaesar_and_Topo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned from our vacations in Pylaia and it was amazing. The hotel is beautiful and the service is excellent. Nice rooms, friendly staff. Try Akti, their restaurant in the harbour.
Will be happy to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura30_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have spent 5 days at Pylaia end beginning of August. The hotel is great only a short walk from chora. The people running the place are amazing (especially Tasos and Rochella), increatably helpful always with a smile. You should try the fish restaurant that is owned by the hotel owners. We had dinner there more that once and food is great and the view is amazing. We would definitely go back to Astypalaia and Pylaia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is surely the best place to stay in astypalaia but it depends on the price you pay as it is not fixed!if there is occupancy and you make a good deal it is fine.if you don't have problem how much to spend then it's the only choice you have in astypalaia.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryklairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astipalaia hotels
0.0 mi away
Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia
0.3 mi away
Aphrodite Studios
Aphrodite Studios
#1 of 14 in Astipalaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalderimi
Kalderimi
#4 of 14 in Astipalaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Maltezana Beach Hotel
Maltezana Beach Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astipalaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Studios Kilindra
Studios Kilindra
#5 of 14 in Astipalaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Castillio
Hotel Castillio
#10 of 14 in Astipalaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pylaia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pylaia Boutique Hotel

Property: Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Address: Chora Astypalaia, 859 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Astipalaia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Astipalaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pylaia Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minimal contemporary design luxurious hotel (small luxury hotel) with 25 rooms and suites equipped with air conditioning, mini bar, LCD satellite and cable TV, CD/DVD player, writing desk, internet access, direct phone line, coco-mat sleeping systems, hair dryer, luxurious branded cosmetics and comforting amenities.Design hotel with traditional Astypalean architectural elements. It consists of the central building with the basic hotel facilities and 5 small two-floor buildings with the rooms and the suites.Pylaia Boutique Hotel overlooks the bay of Livadi, one of the biggest and most well-known places in the island. Distance to the beach nearly 300m. Distance to Chora nearly 200m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pylaia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing