We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgetable stay of remarkable hospitality and professional flair!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maltezana Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We visited Maltezana Beach Hotel from 28/08 to 6/09. Nine days of basking in the comfort of this family run hotel, where your sligthest whim is catered for. The standard of the hotel complex is high, the service is impeccable, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The cleanliness is immaculate. The breakfast buffet attractive and plentiful. The staff willing to please at any moment and hard working.
The hotel is looked after meticulously at all times. Pool is cleaned every day. The grounds, terraces, staircases, beach, beach beds, are all attended to on a daily basis. There is service at the bar/restsurant all day long and the reception is constantly manned, ready to provide service to the clients.
The location is ideal for those seeking peace and quiet, along the seaside (50 meters to the organised beach). The beach is sandy and is located within the very protected bay of Maltezana. There are showers close to the beach as also next to the besutiful swimming pool.
The breakfast setup area on the terrace in the shade of a bamboo trellis ptovides the perfect start of the day. Timing for breakfast is very considerate as iit extends until 11 am for late risers.
The view from the bedroom is very relaxing and pleasing, looking at the the sea through the landscape of the hotel's grounds. Opt for a room with view towards the sea!
The hotel offers possibility for conference organisation.
On arrival at the port or airport you are welcomed by a hotel family member who greets you with a broad smile and looks after you and your luggage.Same applies on departure.
The small community of Maltezana offers a few tavernas, two small grocers where amazingly you find almost everthing. A very renown pastry shop. A bus stop for the locsl bus which takes you to Hora, the capital of the island, as well as other villages.
Car or small jeeps can be rented to explore the many beautiful beaches and creeks of the island. We took a few long walks exploring locally and admired some great views.
The hotel also offers lunch or dinner. We were tempted twice by some fresh fish just brought in and ordered it for our dinner. Simply grilled with a fresh salad and good wine. Delicious!
The family in their various tasks are always there to provide assistance with a smile and get out of their way to make your stay worth it.
We left bringing with us very special warm memories of an unforgettable stay and in particular souvenirs of real warm hospitality. We recommend this hotel vividly without hesitation.

Lisa and Bob Davies

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 75 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

A perfect set up 20 meters away from the best beach of the island.
Very quiet clean and relaxing scenery.
A place you can stay and relax or to use as a base for your trips all over the island.
My next year vacations I think will be at the same place.
I loved the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkisNIcosia_Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel cannot only be proud of an excellent location but also the service is way better than everything else we've seen on the island. We must admit that we'll definitely miss the kindness of the whole staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here with our large family of seven. A really lovely place to stay with a wonderful family running the hotel. The rooms are nice and so clean, the food at the hotel is very good and the gardens are always being attended to. The pool and new bar are fabulous, and you are close to some great tavernas. There is even a small children's play area, showing they are thinking of families. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MO5Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We recently stayed several days at this hotel and loved the hotel and the family running it. The pool was excellent and the beach was wonderful as well. The rooms were spacious and clean and food was great. This is a wonderful quiet location outside of the main town with several nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed there with my family last week. Actually the hotel looks much better than what we where expecting. By watching the images on their homepage. Deciding to visit a non so popular island made us more skeptical on the hotel decision. We needed a hotel as close as possible to the beach, we wanted privacy, cleanliness and real good healthy food. We definitely knew we found all the above the first minute we met the owner at the small cute airport of Astypalaia. It was at the very first hour of our stay that we realized that the hotel was run by family members. The welcome drink was backed by hand made freshly baked traditional cheese pies. Our room was cleaned daily and we even got the custom sized pillows we asked ( this kind of service we get only at four seasons usually). The rooms are not typically designed as Greek and are classic style with smooth color combinations. The hotel offers lunch and/or dinner upon request and we even asked for fresh fish and they bought just for us from local fishermen. Overall, I would highly recommend a stay over there due to the location of the hotel and the great hospitality of the Lapatas family. Trully a five star experience. Vassilis SKLAVOUNOS, Athens-Greece

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Vassilis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank carlo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astipalea hotels
3 mi away
Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia
2.9 mi away
Studios Kilindra Boutique Hotel
3 mi away
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
#6 of 14 in Astipalea
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aphrodite Studios
Aphrodite Studios
#2 of 14 in Astipalea
173 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anatoli Luxury Studios & Suites
3.1 mi away
Kalderimi
Kalderimi
#4 of 14 in Astipalea
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maltezana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltezana Beach Hotel

Address: 85900, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Astipalea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Price Range: $55 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maltezana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maltezana Beach Hotel situated along the most picturesque, natural bay of Astypalea, Maltezana, offers the superb hospitality of the island to its guests. Our hotel, thank to its location on the most beautiful beach of the island, delivers the unique experience of the Aegean Sea to its visitors. The Maltezana Beach Hotel extends to an area of 10 acres and consists of 6 traditional building complexes, designed under the Cycladic and Dodecanese architectural style. Our beach resort's facilities include 42 rooms, our restaurant and pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maltezana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing