We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't forget the camera & the swimming suits”

Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Sifnos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This majestic medieval monastery draws thousands of visitors a year.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Don't forget the camera & the swimming suits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely area on the south of Sifnos.
On a little peninsula is a small Monastery which is worth looking into. As well do a walk to the tip of the peninsula.
When there don't miss to walk back to the parking lot in front of the Monastery and turn left and follow a small path to a bay which offers a pebble beach and crystal clear water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank McCurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    28
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fishing Village on Sifnos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

When our taxi first came upon the fishing village it wasn't visible because it
sits along the bay which is just down from the higher main road. Our driver
hadn't been there so accompanied us down the natural stairway to introduce
himself to the owners of the restaurant there. The ride to the village was through
the mountains and we even encountered a farmer hearding his sheep across the
road. Once the driver knew we were in good hands he left and we viewed the
fresh catch of the day. We tried the Scorpion Fish which was so delicious. We
hung out at the village and the people there were so nice and told us of the history
of this beautiful place on the northern tip of Sifnos. Not to many people from the United
States visit Sifnos, they are missing a place that will revive their spirit and life.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tims315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Have your camera ready”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great scenic place with a lovely beach with tavernas nearby. Certainly worth a visit. Take your swimming suit with you!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CreteBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing experiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

It was very nice view especially in the sun set time , we walk down to chrosopigi beach and we discover a new dive center there , and people there are really friendly and wonderful , it was our best experiance under water . I ll back again :)

Helpful?
4 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Picturesque place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Crissopigi is the most famous place of Sifnos! The small white church built on the rocks shines under the aegean sun!The church is open some hours every day so if you are lucky visit it. Some people lay on the rocks and jump in the sea. Prefer the 2 nice beaches near Crisopigi. There is a bus from Apollonia that stops near.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank YANNIS-K66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panagia Chrissopigi also viewed

 

Been to Panagia Chrissopigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing