We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccommended :) excellent food!”
Review of Leonidas Tavern

Leonidas Tavern
Ranked #24 of 107 Restaurants in Sifnos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly reccommended :) excellent food!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we went there for dinner. to be honest, i have heard about it from someone and i wanted to try it myself. the service was great, the lovely guy suggest us what to order - traditional mousaka that was made in 20 minutes only, nicely made and delicious. everything was excellent, we liked the 2 main dished and all the starters and although we thought we could not eat them.. it was an easy task at the end!

nice atmosphere - great spot (only a bit windy at that time which makes sense at the island)

EXCELLENT FOOD!

they also treat us cholocalte pie at the end which was perfect :) so tasty!

and prices were great - 2 people that ate quite a lot around 45euros!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princess_Rena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    44
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food but very slow service”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The restaurant is located in the picturesque town of Kastro and it's actually the first main building on the main road, so very easy to find and parking is convenient in the next door car park. The menu had a range of Sifnos speciality dishes and classic Greek food. The dishes we had were very delicious and some of the meat dishes came in huge portions (spotted on the nearby tables!). Unfortunately the service was not up to scratch. Although there were just a few tables outside the waiters tended to disappear and generally were very slow even in bringing the bill! We had to ask several times for everything.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DespoinaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginevra, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“best restaurant in sifnos”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

the inside of the restaurant is very nicely decorated and protected from the wind. the choice of food is typical of the island but the quality of the food and the accuracy of the cooking are exceptionally good. For example, Fava is served warm with onions, cappari and small tomatoes; Dakos is served with delicious goat cheese and fresh tomatos. Last but not least, they serve spaghetti impeccably coocked with fantastic big shrimps and tomato. At the end a delicious dessert was offered by the house. The bill is reasonable and the waiter very kind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benedetto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average taverna food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Leonidas Tavern is located at the entrance of Kastro right at the street when you come down from Apollonia. You have a stunning view over the cliffs but only if you choose to sit indoors and there is a small outdoor patio with no special view. We went there for lunch and only ordered a couple of different starters and also the famous Sifnos chickpea soup. Apart from the fact that the cucumbers in Leonidas variety of a Greek salad were old and tasteless, everything was good but a bit bland. Same for the chickpea soup. For a small lunch if you are in Kastro its ok but its nothing special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munichbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best food in Sifons”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a wonderful experience in Leonidas tavern. The owner is very welcoming and the chef (her son) makes the best food we had in Sifnos (probably also among the best food we eat in the Islands during this vacation). The products are all locals, and we returned a second time because we loved the delicious lamb dishes (Mastelo and lamb chops); they were perfectly cooked, so tastefull and very well prepared. Also the rocket salad is fantastic as well as chickpeas balls.
Price are very reasonable and the quality of service very high (including a delicious dessert offered by the house). Also the location is perfect, with a nice terrace looking at Kastro old churches
Difinetely try it, you will love it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ermina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonidas Tavern also viewed

 
Sifnos, Cyclades
Apollonia, Sifnos
 
Sifnos, Cyclades
Kamares, Sifnos
 

Been to Leonidas Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing