We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm welcome in a pituresque setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AFlowergi...
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A warm welcome in a pituresque setting”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are currently staying at one of Mesana's Traditional Stone Houses. These charming houses are situated just beneath the castle and the old town of Emporio. Each house is carefully restored and decorated, allowing the spirit of the original medival stone houses to shine through. It has been a breathtaking experience for us to be able to stay in these beautiful houses overlooking the Aegean and the village of Emporio. . Emporio itself is a jewel with its winding alleys and typical Santorini colours of white, blue and ever so often a glimpse of red, pink or green... Emporio is pleasantly far from the bigger tourist centers of Santorini yet close enough to reach Thira, Oia as well as the beaches of Perissa, Perivolo and Eros at anytime. The adorable Mesana staff are very helpful and have made our stay most enjoyable. Worth mentioning are also the excellent WIFI connection, the fact that we were able to rent a car directly from Mesana and most importantly the Jacuzzi which is built directly into the hill like a private grotto. It has been a wonderful experience! We hope to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lovely settings, the unique experience of living in a traditional stone house, the friendly staff, the view ...
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwell D
Boston
2 reviews
“Perfect Destination”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

It was great. The lack of reviews made it a risk to go there but after all it was just amazing! I enjoyed everything there. The people, the place the cleanness, EVERYTHING! Would recommend to everyone, and will defenitely revisit it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place and the staff
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Dear Mr Jones

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are looking forward welcoming you again in our house and on behalf of everyone we wish you all the best and hope to see you again!

Kindest regards
Kosmas Pentzas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
324 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Traditional Stay in Quit Town - Nice Stay but could be better”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Given there are relatively few reviews of this property on the internet it was hard to determine how the stay would turn out. We were quietly surprised by the accommodations (in a good way). It is what it is advertised as. A traditional Stone house in a quaint village. The unfortunate aspect of the property is that it HAS SO MUCH POTENTIAL and just falls short on so many levels. Think "Shabby Chic" without the Chic. The layout is nice and big and even has a bedroom in a different part of the house that fit nicely our eldest teenage son. However, It just really needs a decorators help to come in and finish the "touches" that it needs. The best way to put it is that is like walking into antique shop but nothing goes together. Not a fault of the owner per se, but it had to be one of the dusty places I have ever stayed at. This is part of the wind gusts by being next to the sea. However, they could make it better by adding an a/c or by sealing the stucco ceiling so it doesn't fall and leave everything with white "fairy dust" as we called it. The kitchen and bathroom are small but totally functional. It has a second bathroom and shower outside the main unit which was nice for serving the other bedroom which is off the main house. The house slept 4 easily and probably could do 5 but it would be cramped. The communications leading up to the rental were timely, easy to follow and cordial. I can not fault the owner or the reception as they were accommodating. We did ask for a second fan on the 2nd night and never did receive it throughout our stay which was inconvenient but not too big of a deal.

Areas of improvement for the property:
--Cleanliness
--Decor (keep the traditional feel but tie the decor together). It just looks like Grandmas Attic right now.
-- Outside sitting area, the pinic table is too big for the space and it would be more visually appelaing if they had matching patio furniture
--Bedding. A mattress pad or "pillow topper" would be nice for the extra beds as they were very firm.

Positive Points about the property:
--WIFI
-- Large space
--Traditional Stone house

Would I stay here again? Yes as the space was large and was generally pleasant and a true value for money

Are there better places literally next door? Yes and if you want to stay at one just go next door to Timedrops Inn. We stayed here 2 nights and while more expensive was generally a better stay--the pool and decor make the difference in Timedrops over Mesana.

One last note: Make sure you continue the tradition of feeding the Mesana Cat. Her name is Lila and she will herself known until you feed her and then she will go away until the next night at the same time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Traditional style and layout
Liked least: Decor and cleanliness
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junkmail2...
Somerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Get away from the rat race (if you want to) !”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The accommodation is a traditional Santorini "Cave" house suitably updated and modernised for holiday guests who embrace the restrictions that such a house implies.
It is located in a rural part of the town of Emporio and this only adds to its charms, as it seems like you have escaped the "tourist rat race" that is common elsewhere on the island.
There are, however, many facilities at hand in the town for shopping and eating - just a few minutes walk away - and the beaches of Perissa just a 10 minute drive.
The hosts are helpful, discrete, friendly and attended to our needs as required.
My wife and I fully recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The traditional feel and location
Liked least: Loosing the sun quite early in the evening
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing