We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding tour - Unique in every way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Your Greek Friend

Your Greek Friend
Ranked #55 of 159 Tours in Santorini
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your Greek Friend is a "rent a friend service" that offers private tours carefully tailored to suit your interests and desires. Make your own schedule or choose from our enchanting interludes infused with exquisite moments and the charm and elegance of the simple pleasures of island life. As your Greek Friend we will suggest a personalised itinerary based on unique, cool and charming places to visit, designed to fit your personal interests. In the same friendly caring and relaxed manner, as your friends do, when you go to visit them, offering a more intimate experience, filled with great fun and entertainment. Spending your holiday with a local friend is about living the places and their true essence, while enjoying the spirit and warmth of the people and their culture. With Your Greek Friend you will find the safety and comfort of a private tour together with the freedom to make your own schedule. Your Greek Friend offers the reassuring knowledge, confidence and essential insight that will guide you on a memorable journey, allowing you to relax and free your senses to truly enjoy each moment to the fullest. Our Rent a Friend service is currently available in the island of Santorini in English, French, Portuguese and Spanish as well as Greek. At the end Your Greek Friend will be pleased to offer you a digital album of our time together so you can share with your family and friends back home.
Shandong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding tour - Unique in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked at the last minute, boy were we lucky!!! Ruth & Dimitiris tailored the tour to our tastes and interests. So be sure to give them an idea of your likes, interests etc and plan on a full day, but shorter trips can be arranged - but once you start exploring and discovering Santorini this way, you will want more so give yourself adequate time.

Dimitris drove the car (he is a very safe and good driver) and he took candid shots of our trip which he sent to us!!!, Meanwhile, Ruth told us about the Island, its history, the people and their lifestyle & traditions. Dimitris pitched in on the local information and made sure we tasted the most delicious, fresh off the tree figs. We stopped at a local fishing harbor, a farm where we could taste the variety of locally produced foods (include this on your tour), had a wine tasting - I must say I am huge fan of the Santorini wines (especially the white wines and dessert wines), we swam in a beautiful beach, dined at a delicious beachside restaurant, visited a beautiful village we never would have found on our own and topped it off with a sunset. This takes you off the beaten tourist path and into real life, real beauty, real food OUTSTANDING COMPANY!!!! They are your Greek Friends, kind, funny, pleasant, interesting, good people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Greek Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

A friendly and relaxed day, visiting some very curious spots that I would never have found on my own. The opportunity to try some homemade raki by the sea and talk to the locals about their island. A different insight that made my visit to Santorini so much more than a few days in a beautiful sunny place. I recommend it to anyone who wants more than a postcard experience of Santorini.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“amazing people can make your visit to Santorini so special!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The team of Your Greek Friend can really make the difference during your stay in Santorini. If you wish to visit amazing places and areas, that is not possible to find as a visitor, if you wish to meet local persons, to taste real life of the island, then rust the team of YGF.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elpiniki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A remarkable day with Our Greek Friend in Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The day we spent with Dimitris and Ruth was the most memorable time we had in Santorini. We had a unique experience in Santorini touring the island with our greek friends. We met with Ruth the day before to discuss our interests and what we would like to do. It truly made a difference, we had a brilliant day, we would never have been able to find all the places we went if we had just hired a car and driven ourselves. also without them we would have been unable to communicate and experience the local lifestyle which is something we enjoy. We recommend a day out with this charming couple, it feels like you are being shown around by friends. The plans was to spend a 4 hour tour but we end up with 9 hour tour it realy was amazing and friendly tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebtehal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in Santorini for 3 days and even though the views from our hotel were breath taking and we felt we could have stayed at the pool the whole time, my wife and I decided to spend one day experiencing the local lifestyle. We choose "Your Greek friend" as their rent-a-friend private tours seemed to offer the kind of relaxed and personal setting we were looking for. We are glad choose them.
We met with Ruth and Dimitris the day before to discuss our interests and what we would like to do. It truly made a difference, we had a brilliant day, we would never have been able to find all the places we went if we had just hired a car and driven ourselves. also without them we would have been unable to communicate and experience the local lifestyle which is something we enjoy.
We joined the locals for ouzo in the afternoon and tried the local delicacies where ever we went. We learn't a lot of local history and there were no language barriers.
We would very much recommend a day out with this charming couple, it feels like you are being shown around by friends.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 914leew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Your Greek Friend also viewed

 

Been to Your Greek Friend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing